We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Mendoza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Mendoza to your Saves list
Hotel de Mendoza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Venustiano Carranza 16 | Centro Histórico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
White Salmon, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent service and location, the food is great and the rooms are big and comfy. The only drawback is no mini-fridge and microware in the room but otherwise is great!! I will recommend to anyone!! Prompt service, friendly, polite, and comfortable location.

Room Tip: choose a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    112
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
46
52
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Really nice hotel with a perfect location for tourism. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Restaurant is worth checking out - breakfast is great but so is the rest of the menu. Short cheap cab ride to places outside the central district. Rooms show its age a bit and the pool is nothing, but it beats the soul-less high rise chains. Only downside is no bar - beer in the restuarant though.

Room Tip: Choose the two larger of the four rooms - still cheap and plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the service of the Hotel.
I thank your preference and I expect to see you again in your next visit to this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our 5-day stay at Mendoza was very pleasant. The big plus was the early morning check in. We arrived at the hotel around 6:30 am due to our over night flight. But the hotel staff told us not too worry and provided a room right away, allowing us to have a good place to rest and get recovery from the red-eye flight. The location of the hotel is right at the city center and very close to many historical attractions, such as Teatro Degollado, Palacio Municipal, Catedral De Guadalajara, Palacio De Gobierno and Instituto Cultural Cabanas. It was also a short walking distance to the Tapatio tour bus station. The hotel facility was not new, but the room was very clean and comfortable. Our bathroom sink was not working properly when we got in, but the hotel staff fixed the problem immediately. There were two complimentary bottles of water everyday. It was a real nice experience in this hotel and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Four star quality at Super 8 prices. Wonderful location; in the heart of downtown, though a bit far from the airport. Exceptional service and most of staff is fluent in English.The restaurant is very nice and the food is great. Try the Mexicano breakfast! Here is where I am staying during my next trip to Guadalajara.

Room Tip: Pop for the few bucks extra and get the Superior room. You will be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in February for five days and enjoyed the location, the simple rooms, the lovely breakfast buffet and the friendly, helpful staff. We enjoyed a bottle of wine on the rooftop patio which overlooked the church next door. The pool is tiny and cool, but a bit of a gem.
Step outside the door and be in the heart of beautiful historic Guadalajara, where the many plazas offer adventure and entertainment every day. The hotel has a simple clear map for the historic centro and can offer lots of useful advice. While not luxurious, it s a splendid little hotel with a five star location.

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks into the interior-quieter. Some on the second floor had a small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

During my first trip ever to Guadalajara Mexico in 1990, I stayed at Hotel de Mendoza. It is a very nice hotel and situated near many restaurants, stores, etc in downtown. Very comfortable which has great views. Recommended hotel if your visiting Guadalajara

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been visiting this venerable hotel for many years and continue to be impressed by the convenience of being so close to just about everything in the El Centro area of town.Whereas the hotel is not fancy by any means, it is a solid, reliable clean property, staffed by attentive and helpful personnel and the big bonus - exceptional value for the price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.3 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#34 of 115 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#19 of 115 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frances
Hotel Frances
#50 of 115 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#14 of 115 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Mendoza

Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza 16 | Centro Histórico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Mendoza 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel de Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Mendoza Hotel
De Mendoza Guadalajara
Hotel Mendoza Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Mendoza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.