We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the city's main attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Mendoza

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Mendoza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Mendoza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Venustiano Carranza 16 | Centro Histórico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 110 hotels in Guadalajara
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location for the city's main attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel may be more rustic than chic but it was definitely a great location for experiencing the city centre of Guadalajara. The pool isn't much, the gym was pretty basic, the rooftop pretty standard but there was something charming about this old colonial hotel in an amazingly beautiful old city. Word of warning, avoid taking pictures of the official army buildings - they were not impressed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    81
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
31
36
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

What a wonderful experience to stay at this hotel in the historic part of Guadalajara!
The hotel and rooms are spotless, the small pool is an oasis on a hot afternoon and perfect for cooling off. The staff are friendly, helpful and eager to share information about the city.
The location is perfect; on a quiet street away from traffic noise right within walking distance to all the sights, restaurants and shopping.
The only thingI didnt like was the lack of water pressure in the shower.
Overall a great stay at a historic hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

From 2005 to now, my wife and I have stayed at the Mendoza 5 or 6 times. The rooms are of medium size, well-furnished, and comfortable. The hotel is a little worn--carpets etc and it could use a major reno, but everything is clean and tidy. U/G secure parking is free, and there is secure storage for large shopping treasures you don't want to take to your room. Front desk staff and concierges speak English and are very helpful. The concierges will do ANYTHING for you, from tourist advice to restaurant recommendations to cabs to sending someone to pick up liquor or groceries for you! Tip them when you check out. Breakfasts are very good, but we eat elsewhere for main meals. Wi-fi is sporadic and unsure, but the hotel has a small business centre
as well.

The Mendoza building is over 300 years old and blends seamlessly with the central plaza half a block away. Around the huge plaza are the presidential palace and other heritage government buildings, some replete with the murals of Diego and other revolutionary artists. If you're into museums and history, you can spend two days in the plaza alone. For two or three blocks in every direction from the hotel, significant swaths of the history of Mexico await you.

Rates at the Mendoza vary, of course, depending on the season. Today, 23 June 2011, the lowest rate is $63CAD; during the high season about $100 would be normal. You can find cheaper hotels fairly close by, but you will not find one as clean and inviting and replete with the feeling of history as the Mendoza.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed here the week before Easter for 8 nights, and the weather was so nice.
My wife is from Sonora and I'm from Norway with a background in the hotel business.

This is more of a old business hotel, located in the old area of Guadalajara. A block from the theater, 2 from the Cathedral and the Governour palace. The hotel is located in a nice and calm side street just off a nice big placa.
The hotel might be a bit out of date, but at the same time it is in the historical area of downtown Guadalajara. Picky people would say that this need an upgrade, and yes it does, but it is very clean and nice kept anyway. The upgrade is minor if you ask me....

The service from all of the hotel staff was excellent. And the food was delisiouses too. We tried during our stay lunch, dinner as well as breakfast every now and then.... The pool is small and not heated, but so refreshing after a long warm day. We loved it. the pool area :-)

Our room was on the first floor up and had a balcony viewing the pool area. Maybe not the biggest, but has a nice hight of the roof, all the stuff you need, small but nice bathroom, and the balcony... great :-)
We will be back next time we are in town, and we hope to get a simlar room again...

We also took the bus trip to Tequila that the hotel recomended. And from what we read about the different options.... this is what we would recomend. Blanca, our tour guide for the day; funny, smart, including, caring a big 10+ to her for the job she did :-)

One or two downside was it at this place; the wireless was VERY unstable... droped the connection every 3 minutes.... and there was a wall mounted fan nearby our room that was anoying from time to time in the late evening.... A little paint here and there, change the carpets and the look would change to a great 4 star place....
Thumbs up :-)

Room Tip: Take the bus trip recomend by the hotel, great $
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We are staying here now. Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice restaurant. Quite a small pool but great for relaxing and reading your book. Little gym too for anyone interested. Short distance to restaurants, bars, plazas.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Perfect location to all downtown sights and museums. English speaking staff gave great recommendations. Clean rooms. Ours had no carpet which was nice. Beautiful historic building on quiet street just steps from the main square. Don't take the Tequila train...take the bus tour that the hotel recommends. Much better value...only 30 USD. Don't be afraid to try the street cart food. These were some of our best meals! Tacos (steak, shrimp, chorizo), even veggies! Try the elote (sweet corn). Don't miss out on the Orozco murals at museums within walking distance. Taxi ride from airport 26.00 USD. Taxi from hotel back to airport 20.00 USD. Amazingly clean bathrooms all over town. Keep a few pesos in your pocket to tip the restroom attendant. (I'd gladly pay a dime to use a public restroom in the states if it meant the bathroom was clean!) Macro bus was only 6 pesos. We took it to the Agua Azul park (visit on a Sunday afternoon when all the families come out. Great for people watching.) but it also goes to the zoo. It is also within walking distance to the hotel. It kind of works like a subway or like a tram at the airport. It's not a crazy scary bus route like a regular city bus. It even has pictures of each stop so you know when to get off. Liberty Market is not for the faint at heart. Very croweded, narrow passageways, everyone trying to sell you something and homeless beggars in dark corners. We did this our first day in town and almost regreted coming. Visit Lake Chapala and Ajijic. Gorgeous! We took the Tapatio tour to Tlaquepaque and Tonala. We wished we had spent more time in Tonala even though it's a bit more gritty than Tlaq. It had blocks of handycraft shops with excellent prices. Tlaq is high end, but has some good art galleries. Don't miss the Rodo Padilla gallery or the museum where you can watch the old man weave on a traditional loom. I don't recommend taking Am/Ex travelers cheques. We had trouble finding a "casa de cambio" that would exchange them. We did finally find one but then it took 6 tellers to get it done. I'm not sure what the issue was but after about 30 minutes we finally got our pesos. Next time I'll use my debit card at the ATM. All in all we felt as safe in Mexico as in any big city in the USA. A few words in Spanish go a long way. Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stayed in this hotel two nights and changed rooms twice. The first room looked out at a wall at a metre distance, the second room was under the airco installation, which produced a loud and extremely irritati,g noise and made even the bed vibrate (!). The third room was fine though. Location is perfect, staff is very friendly and speaks ok english. I had breakfast one by room,service and that was not good at all. Have breakfast at chai, its very nearby, pleasant and they have great coffee

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Mendoza

Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza 16 | Centro Histórico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#24 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Mendoza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel de Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Mendoza Hotel
De Mendoza Guadalajara
Hotel Mendoza Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Mendoza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.