We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great - still quite good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Real Guadalajara

Save Saved
You added Quinta Real Guadalajara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Real Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Mexico 2727 Col Vallarta Norte, Guadalajara 44690, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almost great - still quite good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Good:

1. Excellent staff
2, Beautiful grounds
3. Amazing breakfasts
4. Large rooms
5. Charm
6. Reasonable prices with the specials.


The issues:

1. Pool access is through the restaurant or through the room service alleyway
2. The Jacuzzi is not functioning.
3. The bed is too far from the TV to change channels.
4. The bathrooms are a bit out of date.
5. Av Mexico is far from charming nor easy to cross on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    23
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
10
19
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This Hotel does not have a real focus on any type of guest. It is not intended for families, couples and specially not for business travelers. The rooms are big and not functional. They want to make us feel as if we were at an old hacienda in Mexico, but this only makes the room dark, with uncomfortable furniture, very little amount of outlets and even a few steps that could make you fall if you walk at night with no lights.

The bed is not very comfortable, the desk is not ergonomically good, and the chair intended to work at the desk is very uncomfortable.

The gym has very few machines and the pool is just for fun, its like a big bath tub.

The restaurant has very few options, all of them very expensive. If possible avoid it and go eat somewhere else.

During breakfast there is no buffet and the service is very, very slow. If you need separate accounts at the restaurant expect long delays.

My room had a view to the service area, not the type of view you expect on thi category of hotel.

The shower is terrible, the courtains are made of cloth instead of plastic and you end with a pool of water in the bath room floor.

However, a good thing that happened to me was that when I complained about the size of the pool, they were kind enough to take me to the Camino Real (another hotel) to use their pool and then picked me up without any cost.

In general, I do not recommend this hotel on a price/benefit scope.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with a view away from the main garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel and grounds were lovely. We won a wonderful 4 night vacation from Don Julio Tequila and our first 2 nights were in Guadalajara. We saw very little of the city so can't comment on the location of this hotel. The room was nicely appointed and very clean. There was NO nightly turn down service which surprised us. The bathroom had hairdrier and shoe polisher!

The courtyard and lobby areas had beautiful art, and furniture. It felt as if we were in someone's beautiful hacienda. The small pool is a quiet oasis, not sunny and no hot tub.

We had a fun dinner for the group in the courtyard and small conference room. It was a Mexican Buffet and very good. Breakfast service was slow the morning that did not have buffet but service is very friendly and the wait staff wants to please their guests.

I would not recommend this property for small children who need to be entertained.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor in the main building across the courtyard from the restaurant. We c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

as a frequent traveller, i usually compare between hotels i'm visiting and sometimes even search for faults or 'hick ups' in hotel facilities and services, this is one of the hotels i DID NOT find one single hitch/fault ! the hotel has fantastic facilities, each corner of the hotel is very clean and neat, the staff are very welcoming and helpfull beyond expectation, the vallet parking can not be more efficient, the food is delicious, fresh and nicely presented.
the hotel interior deco and gardens are very pleasant and fun to go around.
the hotel prices are quite reasonable for the return and the rooms are super comfortable, if you are visiting #Guadalajara , THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY , NO DOUBT !

Room Tip: all rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Quinta Real Guadalajara is one of the most beautiful hotels in Mexico. Like all the other hotels in the Quinta Real chain, they have great service by all the staff. The property is is just beautiful, with colonial style ambiance all over. The rooms are confortable and of great size.
The only thing that is not "great" about this hotel is the variety of the menu in their restaurant. The breakfast menu is pretty good, but for lunch and dinner they lack of options.

I recommend this hotel, if you dont mind the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I live in Mexico but when the head hochos come down we tend to put them up here and do our meetings in one of its conference rooms. As such I have stayed here many times, most recently in January. It is housed in an old hacienda-type property, with various different buildings. Suites are all very attractive, with nice furniture and tasteful decoration that fits with the olden-days charm of the architecture. Super executive suites are available but I have not stayed in them. The staff all speaks english well and the service and attention is exelent. The restaurant is maybe its weak point but that depends on your opinion. For someone used to eating good Mexican food, it is a little bland, but for the foreign executives this hotel tends to cater to, it is good in that they are not serving Taco Bell style Mexican food, but foreigner-friendly legitimate cooking. Even so I prefer the real stuff, but that is a matter of opinion. I would recomend this place for business travelers. For tourists, better to stay closer to the center of town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

When you walk into this property you know you have entered somewhere special. The hotel feels like an antique colonial presidential residence and with all modern elements. Elegant hotel- rooms, gardens, and common areas. The rooms were very large and decorated well with a very large beautiful bath. Funny- the hotel products in the bath were labeled 'Salvatore Ferragomo,' not Hermes as noted by other reviewers- but either name is a bit suspicious for shampoos and soaps in a hotel- but who knows?. Similar accommodations in the USA or Europe would easily cost over $500/night. Was only at the hotel for a total of 10 hours over night for a business conference; but wished I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Real Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Guadalajara

Address: Av Mexico 2727 Col Vallarta Norte, Guadalajara 44690, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#19 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Guadalajara 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Quinta Real Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Real Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Quinta Real Hotel Guadalajara
Guadalajara Quinta Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Real Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.