We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Inn Guadalajara Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Real Inn Guadalajara Centro to your Saves list
Real Inn Guadalajara Centro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Juarez 123 Col. Centro, Guadalajara 44510, Mexico (Formerly Best Western Plaza Genova)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 113 Hotels in Guadalajara
Poway, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A gem of a location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed here for the last week of the year. Location can't be beat for tourism- you don't stay in the touristy section which is some 15-20 minutes away and are within walking distance of all the historic sites. Taxi cab rides all end up being low priced because of the centralized location. There are several good places to eat and strolle within two blocks of the building. We had a 6th floor suite and found the place clean, the a/c working perfectly (almost too good!), the restaurant was delicious (enjoy the breakfast!). The staff working there are all top notch - I was quite impressed. Great linens, beds are a bit firm for western tastes - but this isn't a 5 star hotel, so who can complain? If you want a great value and exceptional service (without paying 5 star prices) - I have to say this is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
7
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glendale ca.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

I stayed at the best western twice. The resaon people complain about it because they are spoiled. The service was excellent. The staff was always polite.Once though early in the morning the water was cold for some reason,they appologized and the problem was corrected.I lived in guadalajara for six month's. I am a american citizen no hispanic blood and i would choose to retire their over 90 percent of the world. This is a growing country give it time it will surpas alot of others. Many students take pride in their education as well as dress atire.Those who say that they had a bad experience on this sight are just that. BAD EXPERIENCE> Not to themselves to others.They would find something wrong in all parts of the world.Please remember we have streets in los angeles and others parts of the U.S that are far worse.Look at the mess after Katrina,years later and still sits as the day it happened.So in closing enjoy what good you see and that should surpase the bad.Their are alot of things to see and do their and you could never get tired.I worked and toured 6 months and never got enough there is alot to see./Paul

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City San Fernando, State California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

Ladies at service counter were not polite. We felt like they were doing us a favor. We made our reservations at best western site and when we got to hotel they had no record of it. Even when we showed the reservation email the manager said we don;t have that service. I showed the best western site to the manager and he said he would look into it. Rooms are dated but clean, carpet is old and bathroom is dated but clean. You would think that becuase it is a best western we should expect more from their hotel. Bell boy was helpful. Hotel is wrieless and free. Close to everything Centro Historic. Probably would not stay here again due to how we were treated by service counter.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service counter people
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

I thought the fact this was a Best Western guaranteed a certain level of quality. But not in this case. The lobby gives you the impression that everything will be in good shape. But when you get in the room you realize these people have not remodeled in decades. And Im not just talking about furniture! The bathroom felt like stepping into the 60's.

But that isn't even the worst part. The place was not even clean! The carpet was SO DIRTY that my white socks turned grey instantly from walking across it. That was pretty gross to witness. It makes one wonder how long they leave these rooms dirty! Evidently years!

And it keeps getting worse! The hotel is right on a busy avenue, with traffic at all hours. That would not be a problem in a modern hotel. The windows are very thin and even when closed it sounds as if they are open.

And lastly but even worse, the windows in the bathroom run along the ceiling. They are made like the old windows in elementary school where they push open. But their windows would NOT CLOSE!!! Meaning even at night we had to sleep with the direct noise from the street. And we were on one of the top floors and it was still terribly noisy.

In the morning we frantically called other hotels looking for a room.. We found a nicer place that cost less. The only drawback was it being an extra 10 blocks from the center. Since we took taxis everywhere, it didnt matter.

Unless you like roughing it for top dollar, I would avoid this hotel! I don't know what Best Western was thinking, but they ruined out impression of the quality of their hotels! Good Luck All!

  • Liked — Quick Check-In
  • Disliked — Noisy, Dirty, Old Furnishings, Slow Room Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2005

Really bad experience!
Very expensive rate for the bad service!
I called a Toll free number and they charged me 1.60 USD per minute, "connection rate". They didn't mentioned this rate at any time. Who charges to call a toll free number???
The phone lines were blocked for internet use, so it's impossible to work here (No internet whatsoever provided by the hotel)
It's very unsafe area to be around at night.
The people at reception treat the guests rudely.
The rooms seem furnished since a decade ago.
Avoid if you want to enjoy real Mexican hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2005

This hotel not was not only located just a few blocks from the center of Guadalajara but the service was excellent. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The facility and rooms were clean and up to date. A great hotel for a great price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2004

Very nice, modern, well equipped hotel. We booked a double room on Travelocity for about $80. They could not find the reservation, so be sure to take your confirmation. Location is very good, just a short walk from the main plazas. The hotel sits on Juarez Street so there is some traffic noise. Don't forget to pack some earplugs.

We were very impressed with Guadalajara.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Inn Guadalajara Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Inn Guadalajara Centro

Address: Ave Juarez 123 Col. Centro, Guadalajara 44510, Mexico (Formerly Best Western Plaza Genova)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 113 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Real Inn Guadalajara Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the heart of Guadalajara, this product is designed for the business traveler who looks for a property which provides comfort and added values ​such as the breakfast from 6:00 AM until 9:00 AM at complementary basis as well as the internet access. The traditional Mercado San Juan de Dios and the Jewelry Center are 5 minutes away and only 15 minutes from the Expo Guadalajara grounds. The hotel is surrounded by many cultural attractions such as the Teatro Degollado building, Wax Museum, Cabanas Cultural Institute and the Metropolitan Cathedral of Guadalajara just to mention a few of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Real Inn Guadalajara Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Genova Hotel Guadalajara
Best Western Guadalajara
Guadalajara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Inn Guadalajara Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;