We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Real Inn Guadalajara Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Real Inn Guadalajara Centro to your Saves list
Real Inn Guadalajara Centro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Juarez 123 Col. Centro, Guadalajara 44510, Mexico (Formerly Best Western Plaza Genova)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Port Hope
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Pretty decent hotel. Somewhat dated. The rooms were clean, and the staff friendly.There wasn't much that I can say "exceeded our expectations" but not a bad place to rest your head. The restaurant offered a fair breakfast buffet, and the servers were very attentive. All in all not a bad place to rest your head. If you expect a five star, you might want to consider elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
8
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Modest but clean and a good location in old part of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is an older hotel, but it's very clean and the staff has been accomodating and friendly. There are definitely nicer places to stay, but if you're looking for a good price and an excellent location, this would be hard to beat for the area around Centro...

In my case, I am able to see the Cathedral towers from my room...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

While planning a weekend vacation in Guadalajara, Mexico, I booked the Best Western Hotel Plaza Genova. I then looked up the Tripadivsor 2010 reviews for this hotel.

The poor reviews gave me some concerns about the quality and service of the hotel. However, we did stay at the Best Western Hotel Plaza Genova and here are the results.

When we arrived we were met immediately by a porter to handle our luggage whilst checking in. Our checking in process at 10:30 AM was very courteous and efficient. We were then escorted to our very clean and modern room on the 2nd floor. We found that the location of the hotel was perfect for walking around and exploring the historical El Centro of Guadalajara. We had access to the markets and restaurants without the need for a car or taxis to get around. We were very pleased with this totally non smoking hotel as it offered very good value.

We feel that the negative 2010 Tripadvisor opinions, although maybe appropriate at that time are no longer valid.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We are Mexican, and even us, got treated the worst. No Spa, No sauna...as stated. Over CHARGED me. I got it for one night at $82, and when we got there, they did not honor it. The girl took my reservation and threw it away. I went to speak with the manager the next day because I had stapled my bus tix.....HE NEVER showed up to talk. Another girl told us to wait 20 minutes for him. We waited 45....he never showed us. Our bedroom had roaches. We asked for another room. NADA.........nothing. Our AC didn't work.......they sent someone to fix it at 1:30am........stayed until 3am.....didn't fix it. Said sorry.

Go to Hotel San Francisco. Save your money. Best Western only has its location. Save your money and use it on a taxi to the mall. Don't come here. I expected more......especially being Mexican, I felt treated like I was lower class. They didn't know I am a doctor. Chucks.....I guess it is too late for them to say sorry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed here for the last week of the year. Location can't be beat for tourism- you don't stay in the touristy section which is some 15-20 minutes away and are within walking distance of all the historic sites. Taxi cab rides all end up being low priced because of the centralized location. There are several good places to eat and strolle within two blocks of the building. We had a 6th floor suite and found the place clean, the a/c working perfectly (almost too good!), the restaurant was delicious (enjoy the breakfast!). The staff working there are all top notch - I was quite impressed. Great linens, beds are a bit firm for western tastes - but this isn't a 5 star hotel, so who can complain? If you want a great value and exceptional service (without paying 5 star prices) - I have to say this is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale ca.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

I stayed at the best western twice. The resaon people complain about it because they are spoiled. The service was excellent. The staff was always polite.Once though early in the morning the water was cold for some reason,they appologized and the problem was corrected.I lived in guadalajara for six month's. I am a american citizen no hispanic blood and i would choose to retire their over 90 percent of the world. This is a growing country give it time it will surpas alot of others. Many students take pride in their education as well as dress atire.Those who say that they had a bad experience on this sight are just that. BAD EXPERIENCE> Not to themselves to others.They would find something wrong in all parts of the world.Please remember we have streets in los angeles and others parts of the U.S that are far worse.Look at the mess after Katrina,years later and still sits as the day it happened.So in closing enjoy what good you see and that should surpase the bad.Their are alot of things to see and do their and you could never get tired.I worked and toured 6 months and never got enough there is alot to see./Paul

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Inn Guadalajara Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Inn Guadalajara Centro

Address: Ave Juarez 123 Col. Centro, Guadalajara 44510, Mexico (Formerly Best Western Plaza Genova)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Real Inn Guadalajara Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the heart of Guadalajara, this product is designed for the business traveler who looks for a property which provides comfort and added values ​such as the breakfast from 6:00 AM until 9:00 AM at complementary basis as well as the internet access. The traditional Mercado San Juan de Dios and the Jewelry Center are 5 minutes away and only 15 minutes from the Expo Guadalajara grounds. The hotel is surrounded by many cultural attractions such as the Teatro Degollado building, Wax Museum, Cabanas Cultural Institute and the Metropolitan Cathedral of Guadalajara just to mention a few of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Real Inn Guadalajara Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Genova Hotel Guadalajara
Best Western Guadalajara
Guadalajara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Inn Guadalajara Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.