We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for Guadalajara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calle Independencia

Calle Independencia
Guadalajara, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 111 Attractions in Guadalajara
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Arts and crafts, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A popular shopping strip in Tlaquepaque, a tiny suburb on the outskirts of Guadalajara.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for Guadalajara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a great place to visit, but the shopping is not the best. The stores are very astheticslly appealing, but the wares leave a lot to be desired. If you are buying big pieces of art, textiles, or furniture for a house then it is a good place. Tlaquepaque is a town of ceramic artisans, but there is not a well curated selection in the shops. I always stay at Casa de las Flores and they have an AMAZING collection of ceramics. I was told they are opening a shop and I would reccomendthat you go there. They will be more expensive, but the quality is amazing and they do the work of finding the best pieces for you. They have a shop for guests and I always buy something because he has the best stuff, he is true collector. ( just like Zocalo in Patzcuro, but he is closed now :()

The street is a nice reprieve from the streets of Guadalajara. Very pleasant to stroll down. Other than Sergio Bustamonte's shop on Independencia, I like the shops a few streets over.And there is an ice cream shop with the best ice cream in Mexico off the beaten path. I forget the name, but there are always long lines, so you will know it when you see it. Get the nutella ice cream!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must in Tlaquepaque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It is the hart and soul of Tlaquepaque, a nice walk and do go inside different shops...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halethorpe, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go as far as you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

to spot the truly unique works of art that wait for you at the end. You'll know what I mean when you get there - large, touchable and mind-blowing!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“NOT in Guadalajara in tlaquepaque! And not called Calle Idependencia; Plaza Parian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Once we got the suburb correct which took us awhile because the taxi did not recognize Calle Independencia nor the hotel staff, because it's not known by the street, apparently there are several streets named this in all suburbs. This is Plaza Parian in Tlaquepaque. The city name needs to be changed to Tlaquepaque.
Amazing !!!! All reviews are correct! A MUST VISIT! We visited twice during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“If you visit ONE predestrian street in Mexico, this is it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

A gorgeous pedestrian street that has everything: small traditional shops, beautiful upscale shops that sell jewellery, antiques and fabulous household items, a nice pottery museums, cafes and restaurants, and ends up in the center of town. The beauty of Tlaquepaque is that it is no Disneyland ... people live and work in this beautiful town. Favourite stops are: Adobe (a shop that sells quality mexican crafts and a good restaurant under one roof), Galeria Sergio Bustamante (fantastic jewels and sculpture), Real San Pedro (new restaurant, good quality food, good environment), Rodo Padilla shop (the famous "chubby guys" ceramics). Can´t miss this street! We locals go for a nice stroll , nice meal and a hand made ice cream sold by a guy impecably dressed in ranch clothes and a hat.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle Independencia also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Calle Independencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calle Independencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.