We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Degollado

Teatro Degollado
Av. Hidalgo y Morelos | Zona Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
52-3-6131115
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$49*
and up
Guadalajara and Tlaquepaque City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #3 of 107 Attractions in Guadalajara
Type: Architectural Buildings, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1886, this large neo-Classical building is home to the city's opera and orchestra.
Culiacan, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a beautiful place to come and enjoy a concert! bring your camera to take some shots of the inside before/after. if you can't get a tour, go for some tickets to hear the symphony (not on par with NY Phil, but an enjoyable concert none the less). Bring those student IDs for 1/2 price tickets! we sat in the 3 tier balcony (cheapest seats) and enjoyed it very much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    90
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We caught a ballet performance and enjoyed it quite a bit. It was visually quite impressive (both the space and the production). The music was canned (unfortunately) but this may have nothing to do with the facility, per se. The cheap seats (very high) are priced right, but you do get what you pay for in this case, so I'd recommend a splurge in this space.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Chapala Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful concert in an exquisite setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Degollado Theater has undergone various bouts of remodeling over the 40 years I've known it, and each time it emmerges even more lovely. It is the perfect place to enjoy ballet folklorico, but most especially the Orquesta Filharmonica de Jalisco. The orchestra's dynamic young conductor, Alondra de la Parra, seems to pulls the music from the instruments with the tips of her fingers. I enjoy sitting in the little cafe, attached to the theatre, with a glass of white wine and a light snack before the concert, watching the evening scene and anticipating the evening before me. Then I attend the pre-concert lecture presented by Felipe, one of the cellists. Thanks to him I have learned to listen and appreciate music in a fresh new way. I look forward to many more concerts in this jewel of a theatre.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“oh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It is so beautiful inside!
Go there for life musci and after (or before) take a walk in the city center

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Degollado, a Bit of Culture in the Middle of Guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Degollado is the name of the municipality where the theater is. It is also a last name. It means "beheaded." Teatro Degollado is a neoclassical Mexican theater known for its diverse performances and artistic design. It is located on a downtown plaza of Guadalajara, Jalisco. It has been recently refurbished and is very well known and the pride of the people of Guadalajara. It was smaller than we expected but some how reminiscent of La Scala de Milan. A must visit for sure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Degollado also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Teatro Degollado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Degollado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.