We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orozco's finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Instituto Cultural Cabanas

Instituto Cultural Cabanas
Hospicio 8 | Colonia Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
52 33 36176734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 111 Attractions in Guadalajara
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Once an orphanage, this building now serves as a gallery of the famous murals of Jose Clemente Orozco.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Orozco's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This one thing in Guadalajara you CANT miss. A guide (from the Instituto) will show you more than 10 books.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    114
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE "MUST SEE" IN GUADALAJARA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Largest colonial building in Iberoamerica. Really well kept. Part of seeing downtown. It is really Majestic. Of course you will not see this only, you also need to see the theater, the market next to it, ans of course the Cathedral. You really should see it! and take some time to have a coffee or lunch/dinner on this part of town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“If you love art, museums & architecture - you will like this... otherwise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I found the murals to be interesting, very large and full of meaning (if only I knew what the meanings were behind each of them; I didn't take the time to read the pamphlet), however this site wouldn't be at the top of my 'most interesting things to do list'. It was nice to walk around the site and see the building's architecture as well. For those who like this type of thing, I suspect you won't be disappointed, for those thinking it's more than just a group of nice buildings with some cool murals in one of them... you may be disappointed; I'd still visit, as you can be in and out within 20 minuts or so, and as said, it is interesting. *I am not much for museums overall, so please take this into account when assessing my review :-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Huge expectations, disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you are an Orozo fan, this could be your paradise. However, as Guadlajara's only World Heritage Site, I expected more. It is a huge building with very interesting history. But now, what you are entering to look at are the Orozco's in the first hall and whatever exhibition is happening in the auxilary hall. You can walk around the whole place but the rest is just....a building. I was lucky that the auxilary had a great exhibit by a local artist, Rodo Padilla. Of course, you have to go see it but don't get your expectations up.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing murals of Jose Clemente Orozco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Amazing murals of Jose Clemente Orozco, one of the most important artists in Mexico decorates the ceilings and walls impressively. Very pleased to visit this museum, the biggest one in town

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Instituto Cultural Cabanas also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Instituto Cultural Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Instituto Cultural Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.