We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orozco's finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Instituto Cultural Cabanas

Instituto Cultural Cabanas
Hospicio 8 | Colonia Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
52 33 36176734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 137 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once an orphanage, this building now serves as a gallery of the famous murals of Jose Clemente Orozco.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Orozco's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This one thing in Guadalajara you CANT miss. A guide (from the Instituto) will show you more than 10 books.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    200
    23
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE "MUST SEE" IN GUADALAJARA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Largest colonial building in Iberoamerica. Really well kept. Part of seeing downtown. It is really Majestic. Of course you will not see this only, you also need to see the theater, the market next to it, ans of course the Cathedral. You really should see it! and take some time to have a coffee or lunch/dinner on this part of town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“If you love art, museums & architecture - you will like this... otherwise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I found the murals to be interesting, very large and full of meaning (if only I knew what the meanings were behind each of them; I didn't take the time to read the pamphlet), however this site wouldn't be at the top of my 'most interesting things to do list'. It was nice to walk around the site and see the building's architecture as well. For those who like this type of thing, I suspect you won't be disappointed, for those thinking it's more than just a group of nice buildings with some cool murals in one of them... you may be disappointed; I'd still visit, as you can be in and out within 20 minuts or so, and as said, it is interesting. *I am not much for museums overall, so please take this into account when assessing my review :-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge expectations, disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you are an Orozo fan, this could be your paradise. However, as Guadlajara's only World Heritage Site, I expected more. It is a huge building with very interesting history. But now, what you are entering to look at are the Orozco's in the first hall and whatever exhibition is happening in the auxilary hall. You can walk around the whole place but the rest is just....a building. I was lucky that the auxilary had a great exhibit by a local artist, Rodo Padilla. Of course, you have to go see it but don't get your expectations up.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing murals of Jose Clemente Orozco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Amazing murals of Jose Clemente Orozco, one of the most important artists in Mexico decorates the ceilings and walls impressively. Very pleased to visit this museum, the biggest one in town

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Instituto Cultural Cabanas also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Instituto Cultural Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Instituto Cultural Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.