We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Instituto Cultural Cabanas

Instituto Cultural Cabanas
Hospicio 8 | Colonia Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
52 33 36176734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 107 Attractions in Guadalajara
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once an orphanage, this building now serves as a gallery of the famous murals of Jose Clemente Orozco.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been all over Mexico since we return every year ( or more) for research. Guadalajara is not my favorite city, but seeing the paintings by Orozco is amazing in person. Truly amazing. Breath taking. Worth the visit and then head to the Palacio to see more of his work.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    130
    20
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Bit of a Letdown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I may sound like a stupid gringo for giving this a "3 star" review, however, this place just didn't do it for me. Obviously the Orozco mural is the highlight here -- absolutely incredible and beautiful. There were 2 other exhibits going at this time -- one was a Cirque de Soleil exhibit and the other was contemporary art (which, is an acquired taste!).

The Cirque de Soleil exhibit was kindof cool but, I didn't travel to Mexico looking for something like that.

After looking at the Cirque de Soleil exhibit, I headed towards the contemporary art exhibits -- which took about 2 minutes to look at....and then, I was like...is that it?? And yes, that WAS it. It's just that there isn't much to this place....

The building is beautiful and does have history but i left wanting more.

Entrance fee is roughly 80 MXN. DIscounts for seniors are available.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a must when you visit guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

also good to to take a look, the cathedral and the teatro degollado

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Murals and paintings, cultural enrichment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I like the way they take care of this places very clean and well maintained. I recomend visiting this place if you ever travel to guadalajara.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for a walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's a great building to walk around. The architectural site is beautiful. If you want to take pictures, you have to pay extra if you are a tourist.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Instituto Cultural Cabanas also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Instituto Cultural Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Instituto Cultural Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.