We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you can stand the noise!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Frances

Save Saved
You added Hotel Frances to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Frances
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maestranza No. 35, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 110 hotels in Guadalajara
Guadalajara
1 review
“Good location if you can stand the noise!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I booked online but when I arrived at the hotel at 9pm there were 2 people on the desk - one was playing with his cell phone and the other looked at me as if I was mad when I told him I had a reservation. Took a long while to check and didn't say anything - I had to ask 'Is there a reservation or not? It turned out there was. Room was basic and noisy. situated above a disco bar which we couldn't hear until the mariachi band playing in the salon area stopped playing after 11pm. Great location but again noisy as there was some sort of event going on in the square from early the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    46
    27
    9
    26
See reviews for
21
33
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We love the Hotel Frances -- the hotel is now over 400 years old, and reminds me of hotels in Europe.
The room rate is about $60.00/night.
We have stayed at the Frances several times over the past 10-15 years. This past winter, we took 7 other people with us, and all said they would definitely return to the Frances. The hotel also has valet parking.
There is a disco in the hotel on the weekend, but I'm not sure if it is one, or two nights.
There is usually evening music in the lounge area.
At each end of Maestranza, the street that the hotel is located on, there are small restaurants, with breakfasts, lunches, etc. -- both are good.
The hotel is located adjacent to the Governor's Palace and the main square.
Located near the main square is the Tapatia Tour Bus company.
Doreen and Dennis
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This hotel rocks! Its half a block from the cathedral and dates from 1610. Its been totally refurbished so its clean and modern yet has an incredible sense of history with tall ceilings, art, and craftmanship details. Plus its a great value at ~$70/night. Very clean and safe.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Other than its location, anyone giving this hotel a good review is completely out of their mind.
Sure, at first the entrance and the fountain make this hotel charming... But once you see your room, you want to run!
If you intend to rest during your stay, you can forget about that at the Hotel Frances. Any room overlooking the street is as noisy as it gets with buses and trucks roaring under your balcony ALL night long.
The main squares are a short walk from this hotel... that's great, but not worth all the bad things this hotel offers. I would recommend Hotel Morales and have a short cab ride to the places you want to visit around the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

A Charming, quaint anf historic ( first hotel in the Americas) place, Steps away from the historic core including the cathedral. Rooms are Ok, good value for the price, drawback is climbing the stairs, or optional, sometimes out of service and outdated elevator. The Hotel's restaurant is not the best, better trying some the plenty to choose from venues closeby. The Recepcion staff are cordial and helpful, though congested during high traffic volume. Best feature is the central location and historic ambience. A treat for history buffs.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

A most beautiful colonial style hotel which was extremely badly renovated in 2000. We asked to see 6 rooms before deciding to stay in the room - on the roof - which had originally been allocated to us. The hotel is outdoubtedly used as a knocking shop. The staff were aloof and unhelpful and when we had a flood in the bathroom I had to dress and go down to reception before my calls for help were heeded. We had two telephones in our room neither of which worked. No internet access. We were booked to stay for 5 nights but left after one. I would not even recommend this hotel to my worst enemy! To add insult to injury the discoteque in the basement kept us awake all night with very loud music that went on until 3 am. On a positive note the manager tried to be helpful and indeed allowed us to use his office and his computer to try and alter our schedule at no charge. He also offered us a complimentary night but I wanted out of there VERY badly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

A much-hyped renovation in about 2000 undermines the historical aesthetics of Hotel Frances, with plastic drop ceilings inside the bathrooms that now sport mold and cheesy tile throughout. The hotel is conveniently located, but there are better choices nearby. Everyone warns you to ask for a room away from the disco that abuts the hotel, but no one tells you about the live bands in the courtyard, onto which most rooms face. We could not carry on a normal conversation in our room. The hotel staff answers complaints about the music by saying they will stop in "five minutes." This goes on for hours. Our room had not been thoroughly cleaned -- used soap and opened toiletries of the prior guests remained -- and the bed coverlet was stained.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Frances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frances

Address: Maestranza No. 35, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 110 hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Frances 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in the long history of Guadalajara, the Francés, was founded in 1610 as “El Mesón de San José” to provide shelter for short to traveling merchants.El más antiguo hotel en la larga historia de Guadalajara, el Francés, fue fundado en 1610 como “El Mesón de San José” para dar albergue por temporadas cortas a comerciantes viajeros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Frances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frances Hotel Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Frances, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.