We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Mariano Otero 2397 | Col. Residencial Victoria, Guadalajara 44550, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 113 hotels in Guadalajara
Leon, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed there for business. It was very comfortable, I loved the fact that they have a soft pillow and a hard one, so you can choose which one to use. The first day I had two water bottles but the following days only one, that was strange. The breakfast is good enough, nothing spectacular but all right. Crowded around 8 am. If you bring your own car the parking entrance can be a bit difficult to handle. I did not try the valet service. A good place for rest while on business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGDLEXPO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words towards our guest rooms and our customer service.

We at the Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo take pride in the service that we deliver to every guest. I hope to see you on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Isidro Venegas
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
9
4
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Me and my girlfriend decide to take a weekend get-away to Guadalajara, spending 2 nights there for leisure and relax.

In such a big city as Guadalajara is, there is certainly a lot of options when deciding for a Hotel. Therefore, I started looking tripadvisor reviews (as always do) to find a suitable option for my weekend. After a quick search, I decided to give a try to this hotel basically for 3 main points:

1. Location
2. Rate
3. Infraestructure

Location: It is located just behind "PLaza del Sol" which is one of the first big shopping centers in Guadalajara. For its age, it is not the most moder (compare to Andares Plaza which is fabulous!) but the area is nice and very safe.
Rate: We got a 2 x 1 coupon in our last stayed at a Holiday Inn, so it was a BARGAIN!. We endded up paying roughly $115 USD (tax Incl.) for a two night stay.
Infraestructure: Hotel is brand new, I believe not more than 2 years or so, so all forniture, desgin, social space, lobby, gym, restaurat are, etc is very well preserved and looks modern. Pool are is very relaxing and you may also have your free buffet breakfast there.

One of the things I liked the most was that just in front of the Hotel (at the corner) you may stop the hop-on/ hop-off bus, which I tell you is a great way to sightseeing entire city with several routes at a very good price. When coming back to the hotel just make sure to ask for the "plaza del sol stop" and just cross entire mall to get to the hotel, a nice walk.

A breakfast buffet is included in the price with hot & cold dishes, fruit, cereals, bread, juices, sausages, scrambled eggs, "chilaquiles" etc. It is not just the tipycal continental breakfast for sure!. just be patience because when the hotel is full, you will have to "chase" a table to be sitted.

There is free wifi in rooms, free underground parking (with or without valet), rooms are very comfortable and all forniture is nice and modern. Try to book a room that faces into the pool, because street view may be noisy.

I will take this option FOR SURE when I get back to this BEAUTIFUL city as Guadalajara is.

Bon Voyage!!!.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing to main street!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGDLEXPO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para compartir sus comentarios de Hotel Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Estoy muy contento de leer su valoración de nuestro equipo y sé que mis colegas estarán igualmente encantados de saber de sus amables palabras y el reconocimiento de sus esfuerzos para cumplir con sus necesidades.

Sin duda esperamos poder darle la bienvenida de nuevo en un futuro muy próximo.

Cordialmente,


Isidro Venegas
Gerente General
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel. We found the hotel to be centrally located and a decent price. The staff was friendly and we had no problems with checking in. although not a five star hotel, we found it very clean and comfortable. There was a warm balanced breakfast every morning. Unlike many hotels in Mexico, the beds were very plush, warm and comfortable. I would stay at this hotel in the future and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our hotel a leader in excellence.

Isidro Venegas
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It is not exactly walking distance to the Expo, but it has the advantage of being next to a McDonald's and across from a supermarket if you need to grab a quick bite. The rooms are ok, kept clean and good enough for 1-2 nights business stay. Internet works fine which is probably the most important. There is also a small gym and pool. Breakfast is standard Holiday Express Inn fair of scrambled eggs, toast and coffee.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our hotel a leader in excellence.

Isidro Venegas
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Mex
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've stayed here two separate dates; in both stays hotel occupation was very high, rooms are very big and fancy decorated, flat screen, free wireless, isolation was good from the street to the room and from the hallways to the room but not with the other rooms, so if your neighbor is watching tv or speaking in the phone or yelling... you will hear that clearly, also the breakfast is very good but despite being served in a big area it gets very crowded and that can make it a bad experience. Otherwise hotel is very well located and comparing it with other 2 hotels I've stayed in the area, it has best cost-value, but your rest will depend on the behave of your neighbors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our hotel a leader in excellence.

Isidro Venegas
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
576 helpful votes 576 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

you will notice n google street view that the 2009 images show a building in construction, it has since been finished and is a concrete marvel, that offers a decent buffet breakfast and very respectable room with all the usual business class stuff, free parking, good wifi etc. location is
useful for expo and Zapopan business travelers, nit much for tourists, the Plaza del Sol area is crap, so you check in and check out and off you go.

Room Tip: all rooms are air con, so forget about breathing the real thing. windows do not open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding our service.

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

Isidro Venegas
General manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The location is amazing since you are beside the expo in Guadalajara. The hotel is small but it has great services.
The breakfast is delicious and is good for starting your business day.
Also they have a small gym with a great pool for exercising after a hard day.
Price is reasonable and the service is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding our service. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

Isidro Venegas
General manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo

Address: Av. Mariano Otero 2397 | Col. Residencial Victoria, Guadalajara 44550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#17 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo is the right place for business in the heart of the Convention Center Expo. Enjoy the comfort and service that makes your business visit a real pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo Hotel Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.