We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a business lunch - quiet and well-prepared seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CASA TOMAS

CASA TOMAS
CALDERON DE LA BARCA #95, Guadalajara 44130, Mexico
36155652
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
CASA TOMAS is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 607 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Av. Lopez Cotilla & Av. Vallarta
Canada
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Great place for a business lunch - quiet and well-prepared seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a wonderful meal prepared by Chef Tomas on our first visit to the restaurant. Lovely baby calamari, marlin flautas, and seabass prepared two ways. Excellent service, the seafood was cooked perfectly (probably the best marlin dish I've had in Mexico so far as it can be dry at times, and the flautas were moist on the inside with two lovely sauces) and the fish was perfectly cooked. All the staff, included Tomas, were very welcoming. I will definately go back, and now have it on my list of places perfect for a business lunch - ambiance is such that you can hear your table companion speak easily, which is not always the case in popular restaurants in Guadalajara.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food/excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I live in Guadalajara and this is one of our favorite restaurants. Chef is very creative.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in GDL - a true gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Casa Tomas is unpretentious. The focus is the food and not the ambience. And it shows in spades.
It is the only restaurant in GDL that offers fresh baja oysters ( as well as mussels and clams) . I understand they are flown in daily from Ensenada. They taste mostly like the PEIs full of seafood aroma.
Other seaplates are also very, very good. We've been there about a dozen times and never disappointed at all. On the contrary, Tomas always surprises me with their Chef special seafood plates.
Highly recommended for those who savor food & excellent service over ambiance

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tlaquepaque
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I tried this once with my gf. The food was tasty but the portion was small as is the style in fine restaurants. The service was good and price-wise the place wasn't too bad.

I could visit the restaurant again. My girlfriend wasn't too impressed and said she wouldn't.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalajara
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish with tomatillo and green apple!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had a wonderful lunch today at Casa Tomas. The seafood ceviche was outstanding, not to mention the day's special, a fabulous fish with tomatillo and green apple, cooked to perfection. We suggest this dish to be part of the everyday menu! We will definitely go back many times! Our congratulations to chef and owner Tomas Fernandez! It is open on Sundays, which is a great because we can rarely get away on weekdays!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CASA TOMAS also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to CASA TOMAS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CASA TOMAS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.