We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine flat Italian pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Funicula

Funicula
Lopez Cotilla, Guadalajara, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 520 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Genuine flat Italian pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Best value of traditional Italian food, they have a handmade oven and prepare pizza at moment no frozen as most others

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good pizza not so friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Funicula serves amazing pizzas and italian food, really great food, but service is not friendly, takes forever to be seated in a table near the restrooms

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just another regular pizza restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the service to the taste and quality of the food, it's more than fair to say this is a regular italian restaurant.
We went to La Funicula because we like to eat on the area it is located. We asked for some salad and calzones and they took their time, 35 mins for a salad? They are called entrees for a reason.
Nothing extraordinary to drink in that place, but the big dissapointment was the taste of the calzone. At least it was well cooked... after all the time it took. The taste was of a dish made in the microwave. Maybe the chef had a rough day, who knows.
I scratched this place out of my list of places to eat out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quadalajara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have been multiple times and every time the food was delicious but the service was awful. I have stopped going because the service has been so bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town, excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've been there dozens of times and it's still one of my favorite restaurants in Guadalajara. Their pizza and pasta is excellent as well as the prices they offer. The service is good and diligent and it surprises me how I still see mostly the same staff since they opened around 8-9 years ago which is a good indicator of the environment they have managed to create. The location is also good, surrounded by bars, pubs, and other restaurants that you can visit during your stay. Their wine list is simple, affordable and well chosen.

By the way, carry cash with you since they don't take credit or debit cards.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funicula also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Funicula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funicula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.