We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House Cafe + Lounge

House Cafe + Lounge
Fray Bartolome De Las Casas 110. | At Las Casas B+B Hotel, Cuernavaca 62000, Mexico
+52 777 318 3782
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
House Cafe + Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 168 Restaurants in Cuernavaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Californian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: HOUSE CAFE + LOUNGE is a modern, relaxed and casual space. A great place to come HANG OUT with your partner, family + friends. A simple and relaxed menu inspired in the RUSTIC-MODERN CALIFORNIA KITCHEN. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch al fresco or simply join us for cocktails or an espresso. We are always happy to see you! ESPRESSO BAR | SMOOTHIE BAR | SPIRITS, BEER + WINE BAR. CASUAL DINING IN CUERNAVACA!
West Hollywood, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love this restaurant.. it has beautiful atmosphere, great music, tasty food and friendly/service oriented staff.. The margaritas are great! if you are lucky to stop by make sure you have at least one.
I really recommend the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica G, Guest Relations Manager at House Cafe + Lounge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are delighted to hear you had a great time at House. Indeed, we have received quite a few compliments on our friendly service, and yes, on our margaritas, too! Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    62
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent decoration, staff is quite friendly and the food was delicious. The best part was that I went with a friend on Monday and the bill was 50% off :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica G, Guest Relations Manager at House Cafe + Lounge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
So glad to hear you really enjoyed a memorable experience while visiting at House. Looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

While exploring the perimeter of the Zocolo, my husband and happened upon a small white table with cloth and place setting. It was the unobtrusive entrance to House Cafe and Grill. This beautiful restaurant, with its white milk paint and inviting couches was a special find. Mellow ambience and excellent food. And if you like mescal, definitely try the smoky and rich La Penca.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica G, Guest Relations Manager at House Cafe + Lounge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your beautiful comments. We love having had the opportunity to host you and your husband while visiting Cuernavaca. Please come back and see us soon. Nex time, mezcal is on the House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Way overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It's a nice, classy place with pretty good service, but it's simply overpriced for its standards. For these prices, you simply have to be exquisite, which this place was not. The water in the swimming pool looked dirty, for one, and the food selections were limited and did not taste as delectable as it was presented (except for that yummy guacamole dip)!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica G, Guest Relations Manager at House Cafe + Lounge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and level of service. Indeed, our menu is simple and edited, inspired in the rustic California kitchen. Certainly, your comments help us to focus on very specific areas of improvement. We can assure you we are working hard everyday to improve the quality of our service and our dishes. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!
With kind regards,

Angelica G.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Quality offset by exaggerated prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The food was well prepared and tasty, but you're paying inflated prices for what are essentially a mixture of starters. They call them tapas, but that's just an image, please don't go here expecting to find a "proper" tapas bar because it that's not what it is. It's not really a restaurant either, as the conventional two or three courses aren't really on offer. It's more of a fancy botanas and drinks vibe. Fine if that's what you're after I suppose but just don't go expecting to find something different.

Sadly they lost a whole point for the valet parking, which came in at 65 pesos. What a joke. For the prices they charge inside, it should really be a courtesy, and the regular rate elsewhere would be 20 pesos. Park in Sanborns as an alternative.

I might go back one day if I was in the mode for the specific vibe this place offers. They're used to be a few places like this in Cuernavaca, then they closed down after Cuernavaca became less popular because of the violence, and now this place has opened up and captured that market again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House Cafe + Lounge also viewed

Cuernavaca, Morelos
 
Cuernavaca, Morelos
Cuernavaca, Morelos
 

Been to House Cafe + Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Cafe + Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.