We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, not worth it, outdated rooms!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Sumiya

Save Saved
You added Camino Real Sumiya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Real Sumiya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Int Fraccionamiento Sumiya S/N | Jiutepec, Morelos, Cuernavaca 62550, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 61 hotels in Cuernavaca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, not worth it, outdated rooms!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am Mexican and I know and had experienced the great reputation of Camino Real Chain, and Sumiya 20 years ago was no exception, I repeat 20 years ago Sumiya was a great hotel... 2012/2013 speaking.. NOT ANYMORE...
Facilities such as the gardens, the pools, restaurants, tennis courts are amazing, but the most important part in a hotel.. the rooms are completely outdated/old. You could feel the springs in the mattress, the bathroom was with mildew and damaged furniture, when we asked for another room, they told us all the rooms were the same and that they were remodeling the hotel.
Today, 3 months later, I called them in order to book for the next weekend and they told me that they just remodeled the "Club suites" not the standard ones, and that they were not planning on remodeling the standard ones...no comments! Of course the rates were expensive and by no means NOT WORTH it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Club suites since the standard ones are OLD!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    28
    9
    11
See reviews for
31
39
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice hotel, but not worth what you pay for. The grounds are very nice, lots of green areas, two swimming pools, tennis courts. The rooms are quite outdated and for a star hotel, need urgent renovation. The extras (internet, room coffee, minibar, etc) are outrageously expensive, on top of the already outrageous room fee. The hotel is very secluded from outside restaurants so if you want to experience other options you have to have a car or pay for a taxi, for at least a 15 - 20 minute ride. I would not go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Definitely the oddest experience I had on my trip in Mexico - as others mentioned, staying here is definitely like being transported somewhere else, but not a place I wanted to go. Not only is it far from the city center, it's like in its own little world - embedded deep inside a gated community, filled with luxury homes hiding behind steep walls and razor wire, and lots and lots of silence. You are clearly meant to stay within the hotel grounds as much as possible. Some may find the location peaceful or comforting, to me it was disquieting and felt like being trapped.

The grounds are downright huge, but definitely tranquil and beautifully landscaped. As I understand, the original owner of the estate was obsessed with the far East and that's the theme you'll see everywhere. You stay in one of several large buildings, with restaurants, swimming pools, etc. scattered around the property. The room I stayed in was nice, but definitely showed its age. Not as in "wow, this is historic!", more like "wow, this desperately needs renovation!" Given the prices they're charging, it's a bit surprising. Food is no cheaper (although the breakfast buffet _is_ good) and small things like internet access is charged PER DAY - no other hotel on my trip did this, and I stayed in nice hotels.

Overall, it seems like what the idea of luxury was in the 1970's or '80's - bigger than life, a bit cold and austere, and strangely cut off from the rest of the world. My advice to the owners: don't just renovate the rooms, knock several of those units down. That will expand and accentuate your greatest asset - the park-like setting, while also allowing you to put greater focus on less rooms (making them more exclusive), which you can also make even more luxurious, thereby justifying the steep prices. You're welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Camino Real Sumiya hotel has beautiful and well maintained grounds. the hotel has excellent quality food and outstanding service.

Food is way overpriced and on Sundays, only the $30 brunch is available no a la carte service until 3 pm and no alternative eatery is around for miles.

Rooms are way dated and not in keeping with the overall Japanese theme. Beds are way to hard and bathroom was average, though housekeeping was tops.

Swimming pool is also just average and it will be completely on the shade by 14:00 (2pm).

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was delighted to hear we were staying at the Camino Real Sumiya for a weekend. I`vé been there before to try the delicious sunday brunch so I expected nothing but the best at my stay. And almost that´s what i got. The rooms are nice and comfy with bath and body works amenities, tiny water bottles (which could be larger), slippers and a robe (yes, just one robe). The terrace is the size of a small bathtub so it could be unexisting but the view from the rooms is amazing. Beacuse it is on a downhilll you have almost like a small forest in front of your eyes. The AC works wondesr for the humid and hot climate and also to scare away the wandering mosquitos that surround the property.

The architecture is amazing. Its seems as if you were in Japan with pagoda rooftops on the lobby and restaurants. It is very well accomplished with small zen gardens and tiny rivers crossing all around the hotel. The pools are ok and well mantained and the only thing I would change frankly would be the food and beverage prices. Not at the fancy restaurant which is totally justified (the price) because its not a tourist trap but a truly good place to dine but on the snacks, club sandwiches and stuff you end up paying a lot of money considering the night rate is at a high price. They could compensate by dropping food prices a bit.

Staff´s attitude exceeded my expectations and they really make you feel like a VIP guest all the time.

Beautiful. Realaxing.

Room Tip: I dont´really know other rooms but mine was the standars one and was really nice. oh! and the hair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The facilities have always been an added value of this property, so keeping it in point of excellence should be a every day requirement. The common areas are very nice, the service good and the food very good, but experience in the rooms is lagging a bit far. The bathrooms are not 100% clean, the beds are not as good as in other Camino Real hotels, the furniture/TV are very old, the air conditioning has its details and the internet is lousy! Good place for couples, as a wedding scale while attending a party in Cuernavaca, but definitely not optimal for business trips or working groups.

Room Tip: Get a room in a higher floor.... if not say hello to spider, snalis, ants, etc, etc....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel grounds are really amazing, green everywhere and Japanese-design theme are beautiful.
I would expect more for the buck, since they charge you for WiFi and the breakfast buffet is super expensive!
Service is really good! Taxi service is cheap and good, too.

Room Tip: Stay 3 nights and save... its a good deal for a weekend escape, or even for going to a wedding in Cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camino Real Sumiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Sumiya

Address: Int Fraccionamiento Sumiya S/N | Jiutepec, Morelos, Cuernavaca 62550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 hotels in Cuernavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Sumiya 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real Sumiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Sumiya Cuernavaca
Cuernavaca Hotel Camino Real Sumiya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Sumiya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.