We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of Old Cuernavaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boutique Casa Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Boutique Casa Colonial to your Saves list
Hotel Boutique Casa Colonial
Netzahualcoyotl 37 | Centro Histórico, Cuernavaca 62000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Excelsior, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Heart of Old Cuernavaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

During the 17th and 18th Centuries this botique was a structure in the cathedral complex across the street, then a private dwelling. The rooms have modern baths and furnishing but mine lacked lamps for reading. That is a trade-off one makes when staying in a centuries old building with thick walls and few windows. The location could not be better for exploring this beautiful "land of eternal spring". The garden couryard is beatifully landscaped. An adjoining house was being readied for occupancy at the end of the garden. Morning breakfast attracted business people from outside enjoying delicious Mexican breakfast specialties served poolside. There is a poolside bar and indoor restaurant. There were few guests so evening diners were being directed to other places. Cuernavaca has some of the finest restaurants anywhere - Las Mananitas or El Madrigal being superb spots (take a taxi). Casa Colonial is a great base for exploring this city which has been a favorite since Hernan Cortez, following Moctezuma's lead, built his winter palace down the street and his hacienda on the south side in the early 1500s. Emperor Maximillian used the nearby Borda Gardens as a country retreat and kept his India Bonita not far away. Use caution at night as the city has its problems. Be prudent but venture forth.

Room Tip: I chose an upstairs room on the south side facing Abasolo street to get better daylight. The Pullma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
52
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. Very thoughtful design everywhere, the rooms, the garden and pool, the restaurant.

Service at check in and out was good and the staff speak English. We reserved the room using hotels.com but had to pay the hotel directly.

The room was comfortable, clean, spacious and beautiful. Wifi included as well as a safe in the room. . Flat screen TV with a few channels in English.

The garden is beautiful by day and magical by night with great lighting. Very relaxing to sit by the pool.

The hotel is near the Zocolo, and the Cathedral with cute restaurants on Hildalgo. Pullman bus station across the street but for Pullman direct bus to the airport is a 5 minute taxi ride to the Casino de la Selva station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We got married in Canada in October and had a second reception here on Dec1st. The place is beautiful and very colonial style. The location is perfect. Right in the heart of downtown Cuernavaca. When you are sitting by the pool the gardens make you feel like you are on a secluded island. The palms trees look a 100 years old. We ate breakfeast here everyday and they had a great selection of traditional mexican dishes. The reception was beautiful and the staff did an excellent job making sure the 100+ guests were well taken care of. We stayed in the suite and it was amazing. Great view of the courtyard and pool area. Deffinitly will be back!!!!

Room Tip: stayed in the suite...its about 1000sq feet with great views of the courtyard pool. Has a spa and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed there in a triple Jr. suite (room 15) to attend wedding. The room was OK in general but it had a serious flaw. The main window in the room faced a busy street with a view of a parking garage and it had no curtains of any kind. When my wife and daughter started to change we had to close the heavy wooden shutters on the window and that left the room in almost total darkness in the middle of the day, the light from a small chandelier on the ceiling provided insufficient light. The chice was daylight and total lack of privacy or privacy with almost total darkness. Spoke to the lady at the reception desk who offered to move us to another room but we were running late and could not afford a delay. Also, the safe deposit box in the room was not functioning properly and a maintenance man had to come every time we wanted it open. The lady at the reception desk offered apologies and a free breakfast the following morning. On the positive side: The gardens, and pool area are very nice and the employees make an effort to please.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 15, faces busy street and parking grage, no curtains, no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My friends and I just stayed one night but we spent the most gorgeuos and relaxful time.
It really was a plasure to stay in an excelent hotel with high quality services; rooms, restaurant, pool and the stablishment in exceptional conditions.
Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juampion, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Casa Colonial, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks to you for choosing us, we try every day to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband, teenage son and I spent a week here visiting our daughter who is living in Cuernavaca. We stayed in the two bedroom that faces the street with the buses and found that it was very quiet with the window closed and air turned on. We slept really well. The room was comfortable, very clean and attractive. The grounds by the pool are a beautiful place to relax and eat a delicious breakfast. You would never know you were in the center of the fun city of Cuernavaca. The staff are always gracious, friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay at the Casa Colonial and I would look forward to returning. I highly recommend visiting the Robert Brady Museum across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

An excelent service and great accomodation. Very comfortable and original rooms, in an excellent location. A great place to rest, travel for business, go with the family or in couple. Taking the breakfast aside to the pool is very advisable

Room Tip: Choose a room that is in the back of the hotel, the ones that are to the street are quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juampion, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Casa Colonial, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are glad about your experience in Cuernavaca and we are thankfull for having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boutique Casa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Casa Colonial

Address: Netzahualcoyotl 37 | Centro Histórico, Cuernavaca 62000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cuernavaca
#3 Family Hotel in Cuernavaca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cuernavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Colonial is a veritable museum of exquisite colonial art, which a warm, personalized service and modern comforts render an ideal place to spend the holidays. Guests with an eye for fine details are continually treated to delightful surprises: age-old sculptures in stone and wood and paintings, lattices in carved stone, an ornate iron stove, or a vine with delicate, brightly colored flowers against an arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hotel Boutique Casa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Cuernavaca
Casa Colonial Hotel Cuernavaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boutique Casa Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.