We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is great. The food not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo

Marco Polo
Hidalgo 30, Cuernavaca, Mexico
(777) 312-3484
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 168 Restaurants in Cuernavaca
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Valley Springs, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The view is great. The food not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Ate here twice and both times the food was sub par. The first time I had spaghetti bolognese and the sauce was too dry. The second time my wife and I shared a pizza Margherita and it was the worst pizza we have ever had. Also, even though the temperature was in the seventies the red wine was so warm it had to be chilled for a few minutes indicating it was not properly stored. The only redeeming thing about this restaurant is the view from the balcony.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Piece of Italy Combined with Mexican Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

It is a restaurant located right in the middle of the best Architecture you can find in Cuernavaca, (Main church, Government Palace, Jardin Borda etc....)
You sit in one of their balcony tables and you enter all of Cuernavaca's history acompanied with one of the best Italian restaurants of the city. People in charge are always looking after you and check for the minimum detail that they can provide to make your stay comfortable.
Dishes are varied, well served and accompanied with a great variety of Pasta.
If you like to eat well and not expensive, don't miss this place.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The food at Marco Polo was great, I wen't with my wife and my little daughter, we ordered a prawns pizza and some pasta, very nice food, we could see the cathedral from the table because it was in a balcony, we really enjoy dinner, at the end both of my girls recieved one beautiful rose each one, great detail.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good only if you have a seat on the terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

If you get a seat on the terrace eating here on this second floor restaurant is worth one visit. If you are looking for "Italian" pizza this is not the place. The pizza is average and the size is small and the price high for what you are getting. I live in Cuernavaca for over 4 years and there are much better pizza places throughout the city but I cannot argue with anyone who likes the terrace view of the cathedral which is excellent. The location is the best thing about this place. Other than the pizza you have choices but again nothing spectacular. The servers are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you get a table on the balcony this...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

If you get a table on the balcony this Italian place is hard to beat. The food may not be extraordinary but it's tcertainly competent especially the home made pizzas. The house/Mexican white is sold by the carafe and is very drinkable and the service is always attentive. The views across the street to the cathedral are really quite special as the sun sets.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo also viewed

Cuernavaca, Morelos
Cuernavaca, Morelos
 
Cuernavaca, Morelos
Cuernavaca, Morelos
 

Been to Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.