We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden jewel near La Ropa beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Guadalupe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Lote 100-B, Col. La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40894, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 81 hotels in Zihuatanejo
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel near La Ropa beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband,adult daughter,and I just returned from a dreamy trip to Zihuatanejo,while staying at Villa Guadelupe. Prior to our arrival, I had ironed out some special requests and trip details with the ever-gracious Daniel.Upon arrival and during our stay, all requests were fulfilled.
We love the property as it is very understated...only 3 suites(plus a bonus "nanny" room) which cannot be seen from the street(where Espuma Restaurant is).The suites are staggered down the hill,with breath-taking views of Zihuatanejo Bay and the ocean beyond.We stayed in Lilia Candelaria,the biggest,which was the closest to the top and was 67 steps down,thus giving you an idea of the incline. Our daughter stayed in Maria de Lourdes,the suite closest to the water,which is on the small side but has 2 very private terraces.Others are correct...the sound of the crashing waves is very prevalent,but we loved it.
Breakfast and taxes are included in the fare,which is a BIG bonus. The breakfast is served on the private patio(exclusive to the 3 suites)again overlooking the magnificent bay, fishing pier and nearby beach. Fresh fruit, yogurt,granola,fresh breads and delicious coffee along with freshly squeezed OJ. Upon returning to our suites at the end of the day, our beds were adorned with whimsical designs made from fresh bourgainvilla petals. I'll reveal no more,other than to say that I wanted to take the staff home with me. Dante was wonderful from early morning to late afternoon,and always accomodating in his charming way. Audi,the housekeeper,always with a smile,took care of our rooms including those wonderful floral designs.Daniel, as mentioned previously,oversaw everything and did a fantastic job.
As a family,it's not easy to get away at the same time so having our vacation worry-free was such a plus. The hotel is wonderful and while situated on the water,there is no beach. It is a short walk to Playa de Ropa,but a steep climb upon return. Danielle arranged for us to spend one day at nearby Las Palmas resort, which was wonderful. All in all, our trip was a memorable one.

Room Tip: While we did not stay in Ava Maria, it is lovely. It has less sunlight than the others but has 2 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Love Villa Guadalupe. The staff is wonderful. Have stayed there may times. We always stay in the room closest to the ocean. Yes the room is small but we love it. It feels like it is our very own, lots of privacy and beautiful entry. If you are very tall the room just above this is a better choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Zihuatanejo and were very pleased with everything and will definitely go back. The service from Axel and the rest of the staff was impeccable and were made to feel very welcome and right at home. We found November a great time to go as the weather was perfect yet the busy season hadn't started yet and so we had the hotels, restaurants, beaches to ourselves plus the prices were much more affordable. I'd recommend this hotel as long as you can use the pool at the sister property, Tentaciones, or if you'd prefer to lay on the beach which is only about a 5 minute walk so not a huge deal.

Also, definitely go for the bigger room if its available as ours was pretty small and while it offered a fantastic view just above the crashing waves, this actually made it hard to sleep at night. I know many people probably pay extra to be near the waves so while this was a negative for us, others might prefer it.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is much larger than the others so ask for this if its available. The smallest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We absolutely fell in love with the hotel and Zihua! Both Villa Guadalupe and Tentaciones are absolutely breath taking! I took soooooo many pictures and still couldn't capture all of the beauty. The entire staff were so nice and treat you like royalty. My husband and I already have plans to return! The entire experience felt like right out of a movie. The views were beautiful and we loved falling asleep to the sound of the ocean. We also ate at both of the hotels restaurants (Espuma and Tentaciones) and the food was outstanding. My husband is lactose intolerant and they asked us at the beginning of our night is we had any allergies. Since he did they customized everything for him. We were just so impressed by not only the food, the view, the rooms, but the service and hospitality. I would highly recommend both Villa Guadalupe and Tentaciones! P.s. try their Mango Margarita its amazing!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the sister property to this hotel, Hotel Tentaciones which is just up the hill. We also ate at Restaurant Espuma which is on the same property asVilla Guadalupe. Since we were so impressed with everything where we stayed we asked for a tour of Guadalupe. Daniel, the manager gracefully obliged. This place has a very different feel from Tentaciones, it is more rustic and a little more homey feeling though equally nice. It is clear from our visit that the excellent level of service we experienced at Tentaciones is matched here.

There are three rooms of varying size which can be rented separately or together as one villa. If rented together there is an additional studio off the common area that would be good for a teenager, nanny or other single person. All the rooms vary in size and character. The lowest unit has a very nice balcony and outdoor area, the largest unit has a bathroom the size of my house and a great balcony with a view. The other unit has a very cozy little sitting area with a window seat that has a fabulous view of the water and the rocks below.

There is a strong connection to the water here though there is no direct beach access. The waves crash on the rocks below creating a dramatic or soothing experience depending on the amount of waves. It is an easy walk to Playa La Ropa and to town or if you don't feel like walking it is just a block to a taxi stand.

The management of both properties are exceptional and will do everything possible to make you stay pleasant and memorable.

It really shouldn't be listed under hotels here on trip advisor as it really belongs in the B&B/inns section as it is a very different experience from what you get at a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Villa Guadalupe is the kind of place you dream about. Movies and novels describe such places but you don’t really believe they exist. Too good to be true. But Villa Guadalupe and its sister hotel/restaurant Tentaciones do exist. And they exist almost in secret...you might walk or drive by Villa Guadalupe and not give it a second glance. It's facade is very unassuming. But then walk through the doors and be welcomed to a splendor and understated luxury that is not found elsewhere among the many hotels (even boutique hotels) in the sweet town of Zihuatanejo.

The rooms are spacious, private, quiet and gorgeous. The staff is attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. We asked about where to get homemade tamales and one of the staff members brought them freshly made from her home to us the next day! For a snack!

This is a place we will return to every year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Guadalupe this past week. The staff, the setting, and the privacy of this property are amazing. I think we stayed in the least-fancy of the rooms - Maria de Lourdes - but the closest to the sea. The view from our room and our cozy private terrace was spectacular. A great personal terrace - though not all that private - provided our own space to be in the sun. And as there are only three rooms at the hotel, we had the shared pool to ourselves every afternoon, where we could look down on the bay and the town at sunset.

We spent our days walking down to Playa La Ropa (5 min), or into town for excursions and food (15 min). Spent the evenings drinking one of the superb margaritas from upstairs and watching the sun set from our terrace or alone from the shared pool.

My only feedback for improvement would be on breakfast (a bit of variation, especially on the types of fruit each day would be nice, though the coffee is excellent) and on the amenities in the rooms. The mattress, linens, towels, and toiletries are not up to par with the cost of the rooms or the expectation for a true five-star experience. And we did encounter some initial resistance to help us find a resource for snorkeling, or other daytime activities, so a computer was nice to do research on our own. Wireless in the rooms would be another easy and appreciated touch.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Guadalupe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Guadalupe Hotel

Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Lote 100-B, Col. La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40894, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 81 hotels in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this small cozy fishing village of Zihuatanejo is where you´ll find our quiet but unique panoramic hotel perched exactly above Zihuatanejo cliffs completly surrounded by the Mexican Pacific Ocean ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Guadalupe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Guadalupe Hotel to your Saves list