We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Save
You added Casa Iguana to your Saves list
La Ropa Beach | calle fuente de los delfines, Zihuatanejo, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is not a hotel this is a CASA which means home. When Joel opened the door to let us into his CASA IGUANA we felt the warmth of this personality. There are only 6 rooms so you feel like you are in your own private world.
Wonderful spotless rooms with fantastic patios. His two dogs GiGi and Channel made us feel like we were part of the family. Stayed for 11 days and could not have been more satisfied. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was our 4th stay at Casa Iguana. Prior to finding Casa Iguana, we stayed in several of the beach hotels - but I can tell you we won't ever go back! You truly can hear the waves from the beach - which is a wonderful way to start each day, and you can get there in a minute of leisurely strolling. There is always filtered water in the ceramic water cooler, along with yogurt, bananas, toast and coffee fixings. But it's the atmosphere that keeps us coming back. Joel is extremely accommodating and welcoming; and the rooms and outdoor patios are all well appointed. We love it and have already booked our room for next year . . . just in case word gets out on our favorite getaway locale!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lidoudou, Propietario at Casa Iguana, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
a lot of thanks you from Gigi, Chanel, Lisa, and Joel.
Merry Christmas and Feliz Año to both oh you.
waiting for you next year.
Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Casa Iguana is a gem. It is a beautiful, cozy place to stay with a fabulous owner, Joel. When we arrived to Casa Iguana we were greeted immediately and given all the details, including great recommendations for restaurants and activities. The day we arrived it was raining and Casa Iguana was not filled to capacity, so Joel graciously upgraded my boyfriend and I (for free!) to a king suite. The room was beautiful, very clean and comfortable. We both loved the Mexican style decor, and also the convenient kitchen area located outside on the terrace. The Iguana staff stocked our fridge every day with breakfast items including muffins, yogurt, the best orange marmalade, and more. The staff was very friendly and we honestly couldn't have asked for more.

We really enjoyed our time in Zihuatenajo and loved Casa Iguana. It is a smaller hotel with great service and privacy and just 2 short blocks to Playa la Ropa. There is a taxi stand just across the street from the hotel as well which was very handy.

We spent a day wandering Ixtapa as well as central Zihuatenajo, but we honestly enjoyed the area of Casa Iguana the best. The beach closeby is incredible, and all of the restaurants in the area were excellent and much better priced than the Ixtapa area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

A small intimate casa, that was tucked away on a small side street. Well worth finding! the suites were very clean, beautifully decorated with the Mexican tile, high ceilings, and air conditioning (especially appreciated at night). Loved the continental breakfast fixings in our kitchen each morning. Appreciated the help finding a dentist when my husband's filling fell out,and the time Joel spent answering all my questions, and the fact that he had some small change available for the bus that we could exchange for larger bills (seemed like no one ever had change for even medium sized bills). Thank you! Gigi and Chanel were a delight.

Room Tip: all were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed four nights at Casa Iguana in July and loved it. The whole place is completely tranquil, and so close to the beach that you can hear the waves. It's less than a minute's walk to the beach (and those beachfront hotels on Playa Ropa are going for 3x the price). Every morning we had fresh coffee, toast, fruit, cereal and yogurt, plus our own water cooler (very convenient). The rooms are spotless and the staff is low-key and friendly. Say hello to Chanel and Gigi, the dachshunds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Casa Iguana was small, beautifully designed and had great amenities such as a private outdoor patio and outdoor kitchen in a lovely garden setting., It was only a minute or two walk to the beach so you could come and go easily throughout the day. But what stands out the most was when my daughter had a dental emergency. Joel, the owner arranged for us to see his dentist, personally took us there, stayed during the entire visit to help translate (almost 2 hours) and then took us to the pharmacy! This was really a lifesaver and I am sure we would not have had this kind of help almost anywhere else. Thank you Joel!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We have stayed at several places in Zihuat, and this was by far our favorite! While not directly on the beach (a very short walk), we could not have enjoyed it more. Actually - it was nice to be able to get away from the beach activity for some wonderful peace and quiet.

Joel, the owner, could not have been more accommodating. The room and bathroom were spotless and cleaned daily. Very spacious and nice decor.

We loved having our outdoor kitchenette and each day enjoyed the provided makings for a continental breakfast - toast, bananas, cereal, and yogurt (all replenished daily). Great coffee and coffee maker provided so we could brew up a pot whenever we desired.

Tremendous AC when we needed it and overhead fan for when we did not.

The whole place had a welcoming character that will keep us coming back.

After staying at Casa Iguana, we truly would not consider staying anywhere else. We can't wait to go back!

TJ & Patty

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.9 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#9 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel & Lounge Pool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#30 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#37 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#23 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Address: La Ropa Beach | calle fuente de los delfines, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.