We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amuleto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amuleto
Save
You added Amuleto to your Saves list
Calle Escenica 9 | Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

My husband and I spent out honeymoon at the Amuleto, and it could not have been better. We were married on New Year's Eve, and after all the stress of the wedding and the holidays, our week at this amazing hotel was perfect. The staff was kind and gracious, our room was amazing, and the views were perfect. We left so relaxed.

In terms of Zihua: ask Lucio for good, cheap places to eat. On our last night we visited one of his recommendations, and it was great. We also had two dinners at Letty's, and that was very good. Of course, the food at Amuleto was super good - especially the Mahi and Mexican coffees.

We spent two full days at Playa de las Gatas. We parked at Omitillos, and the food there was great. The snorkeling was fun as well, although not on the same level of Hawaii. Either way, that is a very nice beach and we had a lot of fun.

The end of the story: Amuleto made the trip, and there is nowhere else we would have wanted to spend our honeymoon. It is a once in a lifetime trip, and the Amuleto is a once in a lifetime hotel.

  • Liked — The ambience
  • Disliked — Mosquitos
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    2
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
229
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

We had a fabulous time at Amuleto. The view was nothing short of spectacular. The rooms were luxurious (lots of soda/water provided at no charge, turn down service, etc.) but also allowed you to feel part of nature. The food was also top notch - especially the ceviche. It is almost so good, you don't need to leave your room. We did some exploring in town, but always rushed back to enjoy our private view and pool.

We've been trying to find a comparable place in states without any luck. It is truly one of a kind.

Note: It is not perfect for everyone -- including those afraid of a little nature and those who want easy access to the beach (it is a 5 minute hike downhill).

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Walk to beach
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

After 5 days at another "Top 5" trip advisor resort (which was amazing), we checked in to Amuleto. Set high above Zihuat Bay, slightly removed from the buzz of the city (but close enough to walk on the beach if you choose) with a breathtaking view out to the Pacific and the sunsets, around 180 degrees to the bay with its mega yatchs, cruise ships and the back lighting of the town of Zihuatenejo. The 6 room size of the property gives the feel of living in the privacy of your own home with high end service. The people here are very professional, kind, engaging and "tranquil". Never in your face, yet always close enough to respond to a wave or a smile. When ever we needed something booked, taxi, boat cruise, etc, the ever attentive Lucio was accomodating and thorough. During our stay we were in 2 different rooms and were able to tour a couple of the other rooms. Each suite is a totally different design and experience, with ocean views, private pools, outdoor showers and more. The food here is very high quality, with lots of interesting flavours, presentations and as much choice and variety as you would find in a much larger restaurant>
My wife and I were thoroughly impressed with everything about Amuleto,......and we'll be back!

  • Liked — Everything was high end, and the views
  • Disliked — Not one thing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

It's hard to describe how beautiful the setting is at Amuleto. Nestled atop a steep hillside with sweeping vistas of Zihuatanejo Bay, we spent four luxurious nights and the better part of our days tucked into Suite 1, which was well worth every penny, and maybe then some!

Less a "resort," Amuleto feels more like a bed and breakfast because of the intimacy and the setting. I know there are six suites there, but I'm honestly only sure I know where three of them are!

If it's not the spacious private pool, the bar with refrigerator and sink, the huge comfy bench-style couch always in the shade so perfect for reading, the hammock that sucks you in, or the bay view while you're brushing your teeth, it might very well be the restaurant upstairs, with the top-quality food, attentive service and quiet serenity that will make a convert of you. We had to pull ourselves away to see a little of the town and the beaches below! (And when we did, the resort has arrangements with taxi drivers just minutes away, seemingly at all times.)

The suite has no flaws, and is among the most luxurious we've ever seen anywhere in the world. The photos we took were breathtaking. You could spend a long time here, and never tire of the majesty of the bay, or the allure of the pool that overlooks it. Throw in a side of the incredible guacamole and chips from the restaurant upstairs, brought to you poolside at your request, and there's just no reason to be, or to go, anywhere else. The place was built for relaxation, and it's perfect.

Although the suite is designed to revel in the outdoor air, we appreciated the fact that the bedroom encloses with big glass doors at night. Maybe it's because we're city mice at heart, but sleeping in the open air didn't seem right. It's nice that you have the choice here. The air conditioner worked really well for doors-closed mode, as well.

We were also transfixed, it should be mentioned, by the exquisite floral designs left by the turn-down service each night. You feel sorry going to bed, ruining the artwork painstakingly sprinkled across the bedspread! We are really curious to know how many nights we'd have to stay here before they'd repeat a design....

(It is a mark of the excellent service here that the housekeeping is so perfectly coordinated with the restaurant, so your room is cleaned whenever you venture out! Even if all you do is have breakfast and go right back downstairs! Some of the finest hotels could use a system like that...)

Amuleto's restaurant shares the spectacular view, for the most part, with the rest of the resort. (Several tables are set farther back from the low balcony, and thus have less of a view, but the bay is visible from pretty much anywhere, and clearly the staff made an effort to seat the resort guests at the front tables, a nice touch.) We ate there every day for breakfast, a couple of times for lunch, and once for dinner. The food was excellent, everything we had was fantastic. The jewel as far as I'm concerned was the parmesan-crusted ahi tuna steak, which was probably the best single dish we had anywhere in Zihua. For breakfast we loved everything we tried, but the lime pancakes were probably the star, along with the chilaquiles.

Adjacent to the restaurant and up a step is the bar/lounge, also blessed with the same view of the bay. A row of benches sits right at the edge of everything, with several tables and chairs, where sunset gatherings are shared with cocktails and a nice wine list. This is also the travelers' library, growing day by day, where we took one and left two books behind.

I also wanted to say another word about the excellent staff here. The owner, Ricardo, has a fine group of people working for him, and their easygoing kindness and speedy assistance helped us unfailingly the whole time. We took Ricardo up on his offer to make our dinner reservations for us at other resorts before our arrival in the country, and not only were the reservations made, we were emailed a recap of them along with the names of the people Ricardo spoke to at each restaurant, easing any confusion (which did happen at one place). Lucio and Winter deserve special mention, as both were a huge part of our stay, both enormously helpful.

Amuleto isn't among the cheapest places you can stay in Zihua, but I guarantee you won't regret anything you spend here. We'll be back, I have no doubt.

  • Liked — Gorgeous suite layout, perfect service, amazing views, excellent food
  • Disliked — Yep, leaving.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

From the moment we arrived every detail was taken care of. We had taken a red-eye and looked like heck by the time we made it to Amuleto. Lucio greeted us, swooped our bags downstairs and led us to the open air lounge. I asked him, don't you want my credit card? No, no, no, just sit down and relax, enjoy your lunch. Great!

At first I found it a little off-putting that they have the 10% tip policy explained in writing when you make the reservation, then again in person when you arrive. I just thought it was weird and awkward. But after a couple days at Amuleto I realized how great the service really is and it seemed completely reasonable.

You're probably wondering about this excellent service? Well, my husband called to ask for an iron. Nope, just bring your stack of wrinkly clothes and the staff takes care of it. Need dinner reservations, a taxi, arrangements for tourist activities? Lucio takes care of all of it. Lucio even offered to drop us off in town on his way home a couple times. Every morning a 2-course breakfast is served from 8 to 11. The staff remembers your drink of choice, whether it be coffee, tea, or diet coke. Plus service at the restaurant is 10 times more prompt than anywhere else that we went in Zihua. Our room was cleaned 2 or 3 times a day, pretty much every time we left the room. It was awesome!

There's nothing else to add that hasn't already been said. All in all, Amuleto is a gem, perfect in every way.

  • Liked — fantastic staff, gorgeous room and views
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Amuleto. This hotel was everything the website promised and more! In fact the hotel website barely does this place justice. It was the ideal location for relaxation, seclusion and feeling pampered. Staying at the Amuleto was exclusive without the pretentiousness of a posh resort. The staff was remarkable, the food was amazing and the views were to die for! The rooms had all the comfort and conveniences that someone looking to escape from the everyday hustle and bustle would expect. No clocks or TV's ideal for a romantic getaway. We weren't in our room more than 5 minutes and my husband and I agreed that we were coming back to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. If gourmet food, exceptional service and a unique experience are things you are looking for I highly recommend the Amuleto...you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — The boutiqueness and that it was open to the elements
  • Disliked — There is a lot of growth in the area and there were construction noises throught the day
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

My wife and I had our wedding at Amuleto in April 2008 and were extremely pleased with all of the details of our visit. The hospitality of the staff, the comfort of the rooms, the quality of the food and the perfect setting come to mind right away. It is the perfect place to have a peaceful breakfast as well as a wedding. Amuleto is a gem of a place and hopefully Zihuatanejo can stay magical enough to keep it as such.

The management and service were of top-notch quality who made us feel incredibly comfortable and welcome during our stay. Our families will echo this sentiment as well.
With any luck, we will become regular vistiors of Amuleto and Zihuatanejo.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amuleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuleto

Address: Calle Escenica 9 | Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Amuleto Hotel Zihuatanejo
Amuleto Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amuleto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.