We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo to your Saves list
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mt Laurel NJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

The hotel is mainly a timeshare for Club Intrawest and we booked a two bedroom and a one bedroom for the points that we had. I would equate the value of the two bedroom at about 5,000 for the view and accomadtions. The staff are outsatanding, If you are out of shape you will be after the walk back and fourth to the pool and beach. The hotel is located om Playa la ropa one of the prettiest beaches in the area. All of the activity you need is there. The food and service our great. The food can be a bit pricey but you can always walk up the beach to Patys or Crocodillas for great food for mores resonanble prices.Cab rides to downtown Ziha are 3 dollars. But you really don't have to leave.

  • Liked — loacation
  • Disliked — the walk to the beach
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    98
    16
    17
    10
See reviews for
94
175
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

My family of 5 stayed here for 5 days in August '07, in a 3 bedroom unit which was truly beautiful; an architectural gem.

Our room, 308, had an unbelievable view of Zihua Bay ... we could even open our bedroom shutters and sit on our bed and look out over the bay view for hours, the view was so pretty and mesmerizing. The condo was very large; it was 2 stories, with the master bedroom upstairs with its own bathroom, outdoor shower, patio with lounge chairs, dipping pool, and kitchenette. Downstairs there was an even larger patio with a super comfortable hammock, another plunge pool, a larger kitchen and outdoor dining area, a living area and the remaining 2 bedrooms and 2 baths.

All in all, the Intrawest is a very good choice in the area. The service is friendly and professional. When one of our kids was s injured, the very gracious hotel manager was extremely helpful in obtaining a doctor for us, and also helpful in language translation.

La Ropa beach is a great swimming beach and Zihua is a friendly and peaceful place. All the food we had around town was delicious, and we loved the restaurant Patty's Miramar a short walk down the beach.

My only (small) complaints about the property might be that the 3rd bedroom in the unit is very small and dark, and that the living room air conditioning vents needed to be cleaned because of mildew and mildew odor. Also, the stairs in the property might be a challenge for some, and if you don't want to climb stairs, you might want to request a room in the building in the lower half of the hotel.

  • Liked — the views and outdoor shower
  • Disliked — climbing the stairs in the August heat!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We booked our last minute vacation here and loved it. We were concerned about the weather but had only one day of rain in a week. The resort is beautiful with large rooms. We upgraded from a partial view room and it was well worth it. The beach was beautiful and the water was clear and clean except the day after the storm.
The staff went out of their way for us and several had learned our names just a few days into our stay. It was hike up to the room from the beach but helped burn off those Margaritas! The armoires did smell a bit musty but I would expect that in that type of humidity. My only complaint was the beds. Ours was a bit hard. My kids had some bug bites on their legs after sleeping in the pull out bed.
The food in the Zi restaurant was good, albiet a little pricey. The best restaurant we found was Il Mare, just down the street with an incredible view and great service, downtown try Bandidos or "Any".
We booked two tours through Papa's. The snorkeling trip was not great but we did catch a yellow fin on the way back and had it for lunch. We also booked a surfing lesson. Daniel was our instructor. He was great, especially with our six year old. She was impressed that he could climb a palm tree and get her a coconut. Very personable guy and gave us a lot of history on Zihuatanejo. If you book a trip through Papa's - don't forget to tip! We found out they don't pay their employees - their only pay is the tip! So instead of $150.00 it was more like $240.00 for four of us.
Pros: Beautiful room and view. Wonderful staff.
Cons: Hard beds and bugs.

  • Liked — View, beach, staff
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

We stayed at the Club with another couple in a two bedroom unit that had a private plung pool. Basically an unheated hot tub but it is perfect after a hot day on the beach and a great place to start happy hour. The rooms are huge. We had two large bedrooms and three full baths with both main baths having very large walk-in showers that are bigger then most full bathrooms. Small but functional kitchen with a dining area and a drop to a sunken living area toards the view. No elevators so you might want to ask for a room below the check-in area or be prepared for a long walk from the beach. Take a cab (around $5) to the local supermarket for supplies. We walked to the store (a good 30 min) and then took a cab back with the groceries. The beach is amazing and the water is very calm as it is protected by the shape of the opening to the Pacific. Good for people of all ages. Snorkelling is best right in front of the hotel although you can either walk (about 30-45 minutes) or take a boat across the bay to a protected area for snorkelling. Food was OK at the resort but typically slow service and a bit pricy but it was fabulous and inexpensive everywhere else. A short walk up the road and then back down to the water takes you to a boardwalk that goes into town and is well lit at night and safe. About a 15 minute walk. Many great restaurants that are either cheap or very reasonably priced with fresh fish every day. Just pick the ones that are busy. Very friendly people in the resort and everywhere else. We have been to Cuba and DR and we would go back Zihua before the others.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — steep walkways
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

The good:
-Z Bar food & drinks
-The view
The Bad:
-Price, very expensive and LOTS OF HIDDEN FEES you have no choice but pay once you get there.
-Dirty Ocean. Its a mix between a dirty lake and an ocean...not good for snorkeling or swimming, can not see very far underwater.
-The wedding Coordinator ( Liliana,a member of the hotel staff) was the worst. She lied to us about almost everything: called us 3 hours before we got on plane to tell us that we could not have the meal that we already picked out and negotiated the price on months prior for our 13 guests. She said we had to pick one of their packaged deals they had just put together. Of course this was going to cost us 3X more $ than we had already agreed to. She also said that we had to bring an Ipod if we wanted any music as they could no longer provide ceremony or reception dinner music. No Apple Reps. were at airport and we had to negotiate our own taxi although we had already paid for it as part of our Apple Vacations Package. Luggage was delayed one day and neither the hotel nor Apple Vacation Reps. would deliver it to us so we had to pay a taxi to take us to the airport and back, took hours out of our day. Was told that the restaurant was closed for remodeling when we arrived. Was never notified of this prior and our wedding was supposed to be in there. Liliana was MIA the day of the wedding.The photographers left earlier than their agreed to amount of time that we had paid for. Hair Stylist did not know how to do hair and I ended up doing my own as well as my own makeup. Did not recieve any special treatment although we spent thousands to have our weddig there. Room was not even cleaned on our wedding day/night when we specifially requested that it be cleaned and flowers be in the room (that we would have paid for). Liliana messed up the marriage license and we had to get legally married at the courthouse when we got home.
I DO NOT RECOMMEND CLUB INTRAWEST FOR YOUR WEDDING!!! This whole trip was an absolute nightmare. We spent alomost a year trying to plan it and it was a total disappointment. More than what I typed went wrong, but I'm running out of space here. If you want more details, just e-mail me.
We contacted the hotel manager when we got home and he would only refund $100.00 of the thousands we spent. We booked the vacation through a travel agent and Apple Vacations, also made sure we got the insurance. When we contacted the agent and Apple there were months of back and forth then a letter stating that they we sorry for our misfortune, but there was nothing they could do for us. We will never use Apple Vacations again or stay at Club Intrawest.

  • Liked — Z Bar food
  • Disliked — way too expensive for the inexperienced dishonest staff
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

Our unit was fabulous. The stairs were not a problem, and I enjoyed having room service for breakfast. The staff were professional, fluent, and classy. I saved my massage for Las Gatas beach, only $20.00 U.S. My man and I enjoyed this beach, however Playa la Ropa was our favorite. Did not like the trash in the water, but that is everywhere. They rake the beach daily. My boyfriend is a runner and covered many miles without anyone bothering him. He thought it very refreshing and scenic.

The shrimp was tasty in the open market. Be brave and dine with the locals, just remember no ice, and stick to bottled beverages. We even went to a "Football Rapido Game" We were one of the few forgieners there. Everyone was very kind and polite to us. The locals play baseball on Sundays, however we found this out too late.

If you want to exchange $$. Bankomer had the best exchange rate. We're from Texas, and we can get most of the items that the vendors sell back home. So we just bought the organic coffee and the salvia lotion. Also jewelry from the vendors at Las Gatas. It is easier to negotiate a cheaper price if you buy multiple items from the same vendor.

We brought our own snorkeling gear, and the locals bring thier own as well. Mostly Mexican families vacation in Zihua and they were very friendly. This is not where the beautiful people are, meaning you will not feel inferior on the beach if you are not a perfect "10". Just normal people hanging out with their babies. We will definately be back. Kau Kan is a short walk from the resort if you want fine dining and superb service. The house wine was a pleasent suprise.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean, kitchen, patio, hammocks, two bathrooms, great view!
  • Disliked — Cell phones had limited service, trash on beach, internet service limited.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo

Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.