We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Yet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo to your Saves list
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff greeted us like were family the moment we arrived, and continued to do so throughout our visit. The food was excellent--they have an award winning pastry chef on staff. We treated ourselves to the romantic dinner on the beach our final night. Well worth it, and very reasonably priced for a five course meal! We slept very comfortably, and were lulled to sleep by the ocean waves every night. The cleaning staff kept everything very clean, and left us beautiful swan made from towels everyday, decorated with different flowers. We didn't use the hotel spa, but the Rosario spa just outside the gate on the beach. But you can get massages on the beach there, as well. Nothing like it! We were impressed that a number of the staff have been there since the hotel opened--over 10 years now--which says a lot about how well the hotel treats its staff. We were especially grateful to both Eloys--in the restaurant and the front desk--Luis "Chicago's In The House," Cesaro, the restaurant manager. Oh, and you gotta love that infinity pool and in-pool bar! PLenty of great things to do on the beach, too, and in the area. We are going back for our 20th anniversary. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Six Oh Three is just below the restaurant and has an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    92
    16
    17
    10
See reviews for
85
159
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I have been here for three weeks. The staff treats us like family. The resort has all the amenities for a great vacation, plus it's right on the beach! Everything, from the villas to the swim up bar, the bugle at happy hour, the beach side lounges with food and beverage service have been outstanding. Marie, the GM, the valets, Luis, Dennis and Miguel have gone out of their way to make us feel welcome, as well as other staff members. Too many to list. Okay, Alfredo at the pool bar, can't forget him or David. They were always there to make another margarita or pop open a cool Negra Modelo!

We will miss everyone until our next trip back.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for a lower level room, near the pool. The staff will provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have been to Zihuatanejo numerous times and had seen this hotel when it was being built. We stayed in a two bedroom which was huge. The kitchen is small but when on vacation who wants to cook. The staff are all very friendly and attentive. The views are great as you are on a cliff. The beach is really nice but in response to the people who pointed out that locals used it, really? They were nice. We did not get in the pool, which is a little small, because people were drinking in it all day and we never saw anyone use the restroom. Restaurant was closed most evenings we were there but the nights they were opened it had a very limited menu. A benefit we did not know was the availability of free washing machines and dryers. You do not have to pack as much. Also water from tap is fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This resort is beautifully designed along a cliff by the beach. There are very nice views of the ocean from most places on the resort. We were in a two bedroom suite with a large patio facing the ocean. The beach, playa LA ropa, is the best in the area. People at the resort are very friendly and helpful. Service is superb. Great place for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Room with an oceanview lookout is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

From Virginia and Hugo at the front desk who made our anniversary very special to Scarlet and the staff at the restaurant to the bell boys who picked us up when we wanted and called for cabs whenever we wanted off premise, the hotel is really sweet! We exchanged points for a one bedroom which had a small kitchen (we only used the refrigerator) , a living room with a pull out and tv and a bedroom with another tv but the best part was the balcony with dip pool and view. Although our view wasn't the most panoramic you could still see the ocean and the pool and both were lovely. I loved having two bathrooms in a one bedroom and except for the humidity and the multitude of mosquito bites we both got, we really relaxed and loved our experience.
The restaurant serves very good food and we had all three meals there (not every day) but at least once and the recommendation made for a wonderful restaurant in Ixtapa, was lovely. It is so nice when a hotel isn't very crowded, not for the staff but for the guests but I dare say that they probably are just as hospitable when it is crowded as when it isn't. I wanted a massage on Sunday and the masseuse wasn't there on Sunday or Monday but was encouraged to try the women on the beach right next to the hotel who for 200 pesos (less than 18 American dollars) gave me a delightful massage. All in all, a wonderful time. I would recommend some additional amenities like qtips or mouthwash but all in all if that is all I have to complain about...I won't!

Room Tip: Building 8 and building 3 have really good views... We had 701 which was a perfect 1 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was our first time to Zihuatanejo, but we've traveled elsewhere in Mexico many times. Usually we go to Cozumel as I scuba, but as no one else in our group on this trip did, and I really needed some R&R, we decided Zihua would be a nice change.

We were very impressed on arrival as they greeted us with some cold bottled water and small hand towels to freshen up - and the view from the lobby balcony was impressive - and the staff was cheerful and helpful. We met Dennis - one of the staff - who transported us via: golf cart for a short tour and then to our room, making sure everything was ready for us. The room was a 2 BR on the third floor near the pool, and while the view is a little better higher up, there are many steps at this resort and no elevators... so being lower has it's benefits. The rooms are fairly large: one BR had a king bed, and the other had a full-sized and a twin: the full sized was against a wall, so one person has to crawl over the other if they needed to get up in the middle of the night... but not a huge deal for us. It had it's own balcony, but for a villa sleeping 4-6 people it only had two chaise lounge chairs and one regular chair, so if the occupants want to spend time together they have to go down to the pool and beach areas. It seemed that the chairs and plunge pool at the room were not really thought out for 4-6 occupants. There was a plunge pool - more like a 4 person whirlpool tub without the jets - and without circulation to filter it ours had a few bugs in it so we didn't use it... but we spent all of our time down at the pool area anyway and it was very clean down there. The pool bar staff was a lot of fun, very friendly and attentive: but the hotel was slow, so most days no one was at the pool bar until 11 or 12 - and it was inconsistent when it would open and close. The bedroom with the king bed had seperate A/C which wasn't working: we called 5 times the first 2 days and they sent someone different each time who told us it was fine - and then after we showed them that the other bedroom was almost 20 degrees cooler they finally ended up fixing it: they told us that because the hotel was slow they had shut off part of the systems and that system controlled the bedroom which was warm. As soon as they turned it back on it cooled off nicely - but it took a lot of calls, and on one occasion the maintenance worker walked into our bedroom and in on the occupant who was - er - not presentable. All unnecessary inconveniences due to insufficient communication between staff. We had some great meals at Acopio including a romantic beachside setup one evening and a cooking class with Chef Mario Ramirez - both which are highly recommended. However, we wanted to attend the wine tasting on Friday and one of the bar staff at the pool told us on Thursday that it was canceled because they were slow. We found out Friday at dinner that they did indeed hold it and it was never cancelled, so there are some communication issues there: make sure you check with the staff in the specific area about any special events instead of asking anyone who works in a different area. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained, and the staff is very pleasant: Procoro and Eloy were lots of fun! When we travel we usually opt out of maid service for half the time: the maid service at Intrawest when we requested it was almost non-existent: on the first day it was great, on the second day we placed a "do not disturb" out, on day 3 we piled up our beach towels and dirty towels on the floor and they simply folded them up and put them back. On day 4 the maid swept the balcony and did little else, so we did the "do not disturb" for the remainder of the week. If you contact the main desk and stay on them about things, they seem to make sure things are tended to - but we have learned that many times when traveling in slow season the amenities tend to fall off as well as the service... so we aren't bothered much by it all, but if you are a stickler for getting every last bit of value for your dollar, you'll probably find yourself making a lot of calls. It was a beautiful resort with many friendly staff and good meals... but the service suffered a bit, so I'm giving it a 4 our of 5 overall.

Room Tip: Rooms have different configurations and bed arrangements - inquire specifically about any concerns o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The staff was nice, but the beach is dirty and busy. The stairs have not been replaced by an elevator. I've read the multi-paragraph reviews that state this is the best resort in the world - it is not. Please install windows and an elevator.

Room Tip: Another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo

Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#7 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.