We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing Village Feel still” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo to your Saves list
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Laredo, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fishing Village Feel still”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First of all Zihua is highly enjoyable if you intend to kick back, enjoy fresh, unpretentious seafood, and warm ocean water. From the perspective of Cancun, it's Night&Day. Just what I expected. Loved it.
We stayed at Club Intrawest, swapping a timeshare, since we had read good reviews. And we were not surprised nor disappointed.
Great beach views and access. To an extent, secluded at edge of the beach. Rock formation allows for enjoyable snorkeling.
Food selection was limited, but tasty. Restaurant with creative take on Northamerican fare, with Mexican ingredients.
One drawback is lack of true kitchen, since electric grills don't cut it if cooking more sophisticated fare.
Not for party-people. Not for eaters of volume. Not for people who avoid some physical activity (the stairs are notorious).
Would definitively choose Zihua over Ixtapa on next trip, and again Club Intrawest.
Although make sure you do buy Insect Repelent...mosquitoes are ruthless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    91
    16
    16
    10
See reviews for
84
156
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have "traded" with REI and others, utilizing our time share to visit Cabo, Cancun and the like. We enjoyed each experience but the visit to Club Intrawest - Zihuantanejo was truly relaxing, fun and memorable. Upon check in we found our accomodations were not to our liking, just kind of small and too close to the entrance. The Manager immediately took it upon himself to search for and find a nicer, roomier and more private accomodation. We are not members of Club Intrawest and but that didn't seem to matter, the staff was there to help and make our stay memorable. I can say, in the many other resorts we have stayed, none were even close to the service provided by this fine staff. From the manager to the porters to the maid and restaurant staff, excellent. The food was very good on site and the drinks quite strong (bring your drinking shoes if you want to really enjoy happy hour at the swim up bar). We read about the mosquitos, and there are some, but they are not a "problem" they are just there from time to time. We were able to enjoy the balcony of our room and be totally free to take in the sun at will, of course you had to be somewhat discreet so as to not offend sensitive persons, but overall, you could be as free to soak up the natural sun as you wish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Resort Jan 9-19. HGVC trade. We were in 701 which was 42 stairs to the pool and 82 to the beach. Yes i counted them!. Though the first day my wife didn't think she would make it, things improved quickly. Luis Miguel and Eloy were always ready to bring the "limo" to pick us up if wanted street level for a walk to town.
Our room was a one bedroom and very clean. Decent view but you can get a great view just by walking down 82 steps. Bed was comfortable though the chairs in the living room were not the best. We saw very mosquitoes though i did get a few bites. Nothing to worry about. Keep the doors closed at night.
We got the Silver meal plan which cost $250 and covered us for drinks several lunches, 3 dinners and a couple of breakfasts. The ZI and the pool restaurants are a little spendy but the the food was good to very good and the service was always good. We had a lot of our other meals on the beach and i would reccomend this to any one staying there. We also would walk into town for breakfast or lunch. takes about 20/25 minutes. Make sure to hit the fruit and veggie market and get some coffee for the room.
We spoke with many people staying at our resort and at other locations and they all said they had been coming to Zihuatenjo for 2, 5 10,15 years and kept coming back. We feel the same and are already planning a trip for next year. Weather and people were perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Jan.11-19, 2013Traded in through Interval - two bedroom three bath unit (805). Unit was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable overloking the pool. Cooking fcilities were limited, but all we wanted was coffee and breakfast, so we managed. Frdige is half size so getting all the Coronas and Marg mix in was a challenge. Beach location ad set up is fabulous. Playa La Ropa is my favourite.Staff was very friendly and helpful. We only ate at the resort twice. Sunday brunch was good value, but the Mexican night was expensive and not particularl inspiring. We ate in restaurats up an down the beach and the food was great (Pattys for fish tacos mmmmm good) and very reasonable. Loved the resortt and woud go back any time. Very laid back and super-relaxing. I have read of problem with mosquitos but not our experience.

Room Tip: We were in building 8 and were mdway between the beach (805) and the lobby so none of the hikes were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited the club at Zihua for the third time in January 2013. Our first week was in a Lookout Suite with a spectacular view which turned out to be the highlight of the visit. Club staff were excellent although there were some issues with food and beverage services and mostly we chose to dine off site. We were also approached by Club staff offering unauthorized excursions that we gently refused but were uncomfortable about. We returned to the Club for two additional days at the end of our visit to zihua and were given a dank room that smelled bad and had lots of mosquitos - we would have asked for another room if we had been staying longer. Zihua is lovely as usual but I have to say the Club was a bit disappointing. There are so many excellent options for accommodations in Zihua now so I hope that improvements can be made.

Room Tip: The Lookout Suite for two as a couple is wonderful. The one bedroom unit we stayed in (503) was ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just got back from Intrawest Club in Zihue and we really liked the resort. The desgin of the place is wonderful. Very clean. The only drawback to the resort is the stairs. You have to use stairs to get anywhere since the place is on a hillside. We counted 183 steps to get to our room from the pool. If you can't climb stairs, you can ask to get picked up by the staff with a golf cart. However, you still have to climb stairs from the pool to get picked up. If you have any mobility issues, this may not be the place for you. The best part about this resort is the staff. They were the best staff I have every dealt with in all my travels. Absolutey wonderful and I wish that all staff everywhere were this professional and fun.

Our room was in building #1, unit 106. We had a 1 bedroom, 2 bath suite with a small kitchen and HUGE terrace. The suite wasn't super clean, but all you need to do is call for housekeeping and they come right away. The suite was nicely decorated and comfortable. We really enjoyed the big terrace with a small cool pool and lovely view of the bay. We were behind the big buildings but we still had a nice view. Beware of the mosquitoes though, they can be pretty bad. My only complaint about the room was the bed. The bed is like concrete, and hard as a rock. If you don't like hard beds, this is not the place for you.

The food. We tried the Zi restaurant and most of our meals were pretty good. Nothing outstanding. The prices are outrageous and you can find better restaurants in town or just down the street.

The pools are small if the place is full. There are not enough lounge chairs or umbrellas. Get down there early and you'll be okay. The wait staff at the pool could do a better job by actually coming around the pools or beach serving so you don't have to get up and walk to the bar. Sometimes we had to wait long periods of time to get our food.

The beach was a bit dirty and you can see floating garbage in the bay. Not the cleanest place in Mexico. The surf is pretty gentle though. The resturants on the beach are okay and definitely cheaper but the food can be questionable. The beach is full of activity from fishing to para sailing to renting seadoos. Lots of fun stuff to do.

Zihue is a nice town and we felt safe and enjoyed roaming the streets. We ate at Banditos and it was okay, again nothing to great. IL Mare resturant is fabulous and worth a try.

Overall we enjoyed our trip and would come back if we could stay in a suite closer to the pools.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

First I like to say the the beauty of Club Intrawest is incredible.. The service by the staff (Dennis, Miguel, Luis Wendy and a few others) was simply short of amazing. When we asked anything such as restaurants, reservations, maintenance in our room it was handled immediately. Service second to none... Now the cleaning staff in the room was average at best and my wife asked the front desk to send the girl back as when we arrived it looked like the floors had a beach on them. Do not stay in rooms with any vegetation around your balcony as you will need to take mosquito netting with you as the little vampires are smaller, quicker and mean. Building 7 is the worst. The vegetation is nice but there are some big trees that need to be trimmed or removed as they block the beautiful sea view. The Zi restaurant is average and well overpriced and a little bit unorganized. They said they no availability till 8 and when we came in at 720 it was 3/4 empty. We found some other good restaurants close with great views and great service and better prices (le Mare, Paddys) etc. Over all a good experience but next time I will be a little wiser...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo

Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.