We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Casa Don Francisco, Zihuatanejo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Don Francisco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Don Francisco to your Saves list
Playa la Ropa s/n | Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$149 (USD)
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Casa Don Francisco, Zihuatanejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel Casa Don Francisco was a lovely surprise! The hostess and owner, Erica, was warm, welcoming and very helpful. The property is gorgeous, unique and immaculately clean, as are the rooms and pools.
Our room was spacious and the verandah hammock comfortable. Nice touches with fresh flowers and good quality bath amenities and towels.
The breakfasts on the terrace were really good and filling. We requested and got a kettle to make our own coffee/tea in the room, so it would be nice if Erica could set that up in each suite permanently.
We loved that the hotel was not on the "beach strip", but set above the noise and traffic, and close to everything. Very well planned and thought out. Playa la Ropa is a nice beach to relax at.
The town of Zihua is fun to visit and we appreciated staying outside of the busyness.
Great value for the cost.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel Casa Don Francisco is an undiscovered Gem just off Playa La Ropa in Zihuatanejo Mexico. We vacationed in Zihua in the busy Christmas/New Years week, 2012/2013. Don Francisco was one of the few hotels with availability, was half the price of many of the hotels that had doubled their prices for the holidays, and was head and shoulders above the other hotel in Zihuatanejo. Don Francisco rightfully describes itself as Luxury/Boutique. There are roughly 8 rooms/suites, 4 of which had private pools in the suite. The hotel has wonderful classic mexican style: wonderful stone and stucco with a beautiful open air entryway fountain and courtyard. The style is a wonderful blend of traditional historical Mexican and simple clean modern. The pictures on the site don't do the hotel justice! The hotel is owned by the Ibarra family, owners of La Perla restaurant. The family and staff could not have been nicer or more accomidating. Erica, of the Ibarra family was managing the hotel. She was a joy. Our room (oestei?) had a huge deck with sweeping views of the harbor. Erica, and Don Francisco saved our vacation! We bailed on the hotel we reserved (tree house) in time to watch the New Years Eve fireworks over Zihua bay from our deck at Don Francisco. We ended the trip at the Ixtapa Presidentail Intercontinental, which was also many notches down. Don Francisco set the bar for the type of small personal hotel we will look for in the future. I, my wife and our 9 yo daughter all loved it. Their web site does not do it justice!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed quiet and pieceful. The higher up in the hotel you go, the better the view. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOREST HILLS
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose Casa Don Francisco based on the reviews of TA. We were somewhat concerned not to find recent TripAdvisor reviews as the last one was posted in March. We were not disappointed. We occupied three suited during the week of Christmas. Erica and her team kept the place spotless, the rooms are very large with various configurations and balcony. Breakfast was personalized and not buffet style...In my opinion the hotel has the best location and view of La Ropa... Since it is situated on the Southern end of the beach, it faces north and the view of Zihuatanejo is beautiful. Other properties face south which is not as nice...
The CON: the only con is the 50 yard section outside of the hotel which is not paved, and it is filled with cars trying to get in and out of the parking lot while accessing the restaurants and the beach...... nothing can be done about it...just walk through it... This place is highly reccommended and we look forward to future trips to Casa Don Francisco...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, with friendly staff and very good value for the money. The architecture is beautiful -- lots of gracious touches and creativity. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The views are picture perfect. Walking distance to La Ropa beach and local restaurants. Zihuatanejo is a perfect place for a simple vacation in harmony with the ocean, taking yoga classes on the beach (Patsy's), and resting. Not fancy or full of places to visit. Perfect for R&R.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was our third stay at Hotel Casa Don Francisco, which pretty much says it all. Until we retire and can spend several months in Zih, Casa Don Francisco will always be our home away from home. The grounds are incredibly beautiful and serene. With only eight rooms in the hotel, there is a tremendous amount of privacy and very little noise. Erika and her staff go out of their way to make visitors feel welcome and at home. Each night there was a security guard who kept track of the guest arriving home for the night. While we never once felt unsafe anywhere in Zih, it was nice to know someone was keeping track of our comings and goings.
We planned on staying in our regular rooms on the 3rd floor, but because we frequent the hotel and it was our honeymoon, Erika upgraded us to a second floor room with a plunge pool. The room was slightly larger than the ones above it, but the balcony was larger than the others and the private pool was nice refuge after a grueling day at the beach. Each day and night we would sit have cocktails (from the VERY reasonable priced) mini bar, while enjoying the amazing view.

In the morning, Erika and her staff served up a wonderful breakfast that was different everyday and she would chat with her guests about the evening before and their plans for the day. She took care of all of our dinner reservations and even ordered food for those guests who wanted to eat on their balconies.

With immaculate grounds, very personal service and finely appointed rooms, there is no doubt that this is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

First off, I would like to start this review by stating most emphatically that I am not a risk taker and if I did not feel totally safe in Zihuatanejo I would not come. Statistically, I am safer here than in Orlando, Florida where people take their kids all year round and think nothing of it.

I will not expound on my previous reviews of this hotel except to say Erica is constantly doing everything in her power to make this hotel the best ever. Erica Ibarra Rivera grew up on this beautiful beach, went to Mexico City at the age of 15 to go to high school and receive a university education, and eventually returned back to this small town to run the family owned and newly built hotel about 10 years ago. Erica tells me how as a young girl she whined everyday to her mother to leave this small town, only to return years later when she realized what a gem it really was. Did I mention she had to come back here to meet her future husband, Sanin?

Ok, down to this year's activities. A wedding on the beach and about 20 young (age 23-30) adults attended. All were surprised by the charming town of Zihuatanejo and La Ropa Beach, the great food, and the reasonable prices. As the wedding photographer remarked, "You can spend as little or as much as you want here and have a great time". All vowed to return next year and agreed that the experience by far exceeded their expectations. Traditionally, Zihuatanejo has not been a destination for young people, but I see that changing in the years to come.

Another highlight of this year's trip was a visit to" La Chole" ( about 20 kilometers outside of town) where a more than 2000 year-old archaeological site is currently being excavated. A newly opened museum provided a fascinating insight into life back then with many artifacts on display. Our guide, Carlos, was excellent, spoke perfect English and was a wealth of information. Currently, 300 university students are coming to continue the excavation of this important site in Mesoamerica. I can't wait to return next year to see more of this town that was wiped out in a Tsunami more than 500 years ago. The Spaniards, upon their arrival, covered up what the tsunami didn't so there's lots of work to be done. As of this writing there was no admission charge but we did tip Carlos for his approximately 2 hour tour. Take water if you plan to visit as it was very warm that day.

This year I attended (not by invitation and all were welcome) Owen Lee's Birthday Party out on Los Gatos Beach. I can see why he decided to make this his home way back in the 70"s. His view is breathtaking. Owen gave an interesting and animated speech about his years working with Jaques Cousteau on the "Calypso" and of his experiences of moving to this wonderful area. His book, "A Prisoner in Paradise" chronicles his love affair with Zihuatanejo

As always, the food at my two favorite restaurants, El Mediteraneo and Piazza de Angelo continue to be my all time favorite places to eat both for quality and consistency. For a wonderful late lunch experience check out "Carmelita's" . . . like eating home-cooking at your grandma's house. She serves food that you will not find in any restaurant in the town.

Finally, Hotel Casa Don Francisco will continue to be my #1 rated destination for January and part of February. One could almost spend a vacation sitting on their terrace with a view of the bay and never leave the room but, the beach and adventure calls. I would be sad not to see the friends I have made from Canada, Mexico, and all over the USA. I am already looking forward to next year and another "chapter in my book".

Room Tip: All rooms on the 2nd level and up have terraces and a wonderful view of the bay. The first level roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

As mentioned in many of the other reviews, this small luxury hotel is very special.
All of the rooms have a walk out to a private patio and some have pools!. The views from the rooms are spectacular. Erica and her team personally prepare breakfast with a true mexican passion for food. They will also recommend daily activities and arrange reservations in Zihua's best restaurants. A must stay for visitors to Zihua peaceful and romantic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Don Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Don Francisco

Address: Playa la Ropa s/n | Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CASA DON FRANCISCO,the one of the most exclusive small hotels on La Ropa Beach, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. With only eight rooms you can be sure we will give you our undivided attention. The hotel is surrounded by lush tropical exotic gardens. Relax with the sound of the ocean and birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Don Francisco Hotel
Casa Don Francisco Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Don Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.