We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience on trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terracita

La Terracita
Colonia La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
+52 755 120 3220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 244 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, International, Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
Grass Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best experience on trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were fortunate to chance across this restaurant on our last night in Zihuatanejo, It was our best dining experience of the week, and it was by no means the most expensive. The food was delicious, the ambience lovely, and the service friendly.

La Terracita is located on a quieter street along a canal, opposite the area of town with the majority of restaurants and shopping. That said, it is only a 10 minute walk from this area across a walking bridge to Calle Adelita, which appeared to have some other attractive dining options if you prefer a quieter, more "romantic" setting.

The food here was outstanding... among the best we had all week. A couple standout dishes were the tostadas and the calamari. The polenta which accompanied one meal was perhaps the best I've had anywhere. The dishes combined Mexican elements and seaside fare with Continental touches. Prices are very moderate relative to other fine dining we sampled during the week.

The restaurant has a pleasant open feel, with the tables spilling out onto the sidewalk which borders the canal.

I highly recommend this spot--it is a sleeper so far with under 10 reviews. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    18
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An All-Star Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is not your usual Mexican restaurant. La Terracita's does not have a cook - La Terracita's has a chef - an excellent chef. The best tables are on the street, literally, and the menu prices are on-the-street low for food and service of this calibre. The food - all of it - is gourmet level, and priced at half of what you would pay in so-called upper end restaurants.
From the introductory salsas, guacamoles and fresh-baked individual breads, to the stylish serving platters and attentive service, this classy little restaurant is white glove all the way.
Will we be back? Absolutely - there are menu items we have yet to try... and many to repeat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“tasty new option in La Madera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just finished breakfast at this tiny spot behind Salvadors/next to Marisco Chendo in La Madera. I had the enchiladas refrijolados (sp?) and my partner had the squash blossom omelet. Both of our meals had a lovely presentation and were very adeptly prepared--in fact, I would put the nuances and complexities of the flavors on par with Carmelitas. My enchiladas contained egg scrambled with chiorizo, dressed in an interesting bean sauce (reminiscent of mole, but not). The omelet was perfectly cooked, not too dry, and came with a chunk of queso and a side of nopales and toast. The coffeee was strong, sweet, and had a touch of cinnamon. Service was very attentive and friendly--as it is in most places in Zihua. Finally, our whole meal was only 110 pesos (less than $10 US)--screamin' deal for the quality! Hope to try dinner there one night too, though there are only so many dinners left on ou

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terracita is worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Adriana comprises the wait staff. She is charming. The calamari, tostadas, pork tacos, fish and pastas are beautifully prepared; presentation and quality is consistent. Give it a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A new-found gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We visited this restaurant for dinner. The food is 5 star restaurant quality in preparation as well as presentation with flavors that were out of this world. We started with a lovely and unique beet salad. My husband had a spicy shrimp dinner paired with a wonderful vegetable side and a squid appetizer. Both were excellent. I had the chile rellenos, which was not the normal fried version and it was also delicious. Even the rice has a special flavor. We enjoyed 2 for 1 margaritas which were the best margaritas we've ever had in Mexico. We are here for a month and plan to try everything on the menu! They also serve breakfast. Our server, Adriana, is very special. Make sure you try this restaurant. You won't regret it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terracita also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to La Terracita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terracita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.