We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Carolina...A Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Carolina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Carolina Hotel
Save
You added Villa Carolina Hotel to your Saves list
Camino Escenico Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Pomfret, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Villa Carolina...A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

For the past three years, we have been lucky enough to spend two weeks over Christmas at Villa Carolina. I can honestly say that there is no place I'd rather spend the holidays. The only way I can face checking out is to make a reservation for the coming year. As a seasoned traveler who enjoys new adventures, I am often asked why I would choose to return to the same place year after year...
Villa Carolina is like a home away from home. Entering the front door of Villa Carolina the vacation begins as the weary traveler is immediately greeted by two love birds perched outside the villa's office. Checking in is like seeing old friends. From Tim and Carolina, the genuinely down-to-earth owners, to the ladies who clean the suite and write messages on the bed using pieces of flower stems, to Jose the gardener who warmly invited my son to his home where his wife cooked him authentic Mexican tamales, to Cyntia, the newest gem of a staff member, who was never too busy to make dinner reservations, change them, act as translator to the hairdresser in town...every member of the Villa Carolina team is a friend. The Villa itself is small and intimate, but amazingly it never feels crowded. The beautiful pool is a highpoint of our vacation. Quiet mornings spent reading around the pool turn into interesting chats/book swaps with the other guests (some repeat visitors that we always look forward to catching up with, and others, interesting new friends). Late afternoon, Informal cocktails with hors d'oeuvres prepared by staff member Marta round out a perfect day at the pool. Writing this review brings back so many fond memories of Villa Carolina...I can't wait to return in December!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lenman316@yahoo.com
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This was our third stay at this architecturally stunning property. Constructed in an adobe style with the typical regional thatched roof (palapa) this seven suite villa is a short walk from Playa La Ropa. We spend most of our time at the unique free-form pool quietly reading while enjoying the interesting guests that the villa seems to draw year after year.
This villa is spotlessly clean with sweet little touches by the maids on a daily basis. The owners Carolina and her son Tim are wonderfully personable and most helpful. Located practically next to the notable Casa Que Canta, we find it every bit as nice at half the price.
There are many restaurant choices close by. Town is a quick five minute ride away with some unusually fine handmade craft stores available.
As a world traveler i would highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a truly laid back Mexican vacation.
My only caution ... beware of the hidden costs of a car rental at the airport

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — Auto rental deal at Zihuatanejo airport was deceptive
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

my wife and i stayed in one of the master suites at villa carolina for our honeymoon back in january of 2007 and loved it. through some good fortune we found ourselves able to go back this past january '08, again in a master suite and loved it even more. the villa is modest in size, feels private and comfortable and yet it still maintained feeling a little decadent and luxurious. the staff are very sweet and friendly and kept the place immaculate and the guests happy. we noticed some of the same guests both years, so i'd guess, like us they find themselves coming back every year they can, and everyone seemed very polite, at peace and happy.

i can't recommend villa carolina enough. the master suites are dreamy. the 'sauna' (it's mexico, it's really a great plunge/relaxation pool) was big enough for two to stretch out in. it has a great modest kitchen in the lovely open air half of the suite. and the bedroom was spacious, 2 leveled and lovely. look at the pictures i've posted, you can get a better idea then the villa's website. we were blown away the first time we walked through the door into our suite.

looking forward to being back.

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

We were back for our 6th trip to Villa Carolina this year. It remains just as great as it has been in the past. Lovely spacious rooms, with everything you could need for a relaxing vacation. Our favorite spot for breakfast in Zihuatanejo is on our patio with fresh coffee, fruit and yougurt. Late at night after a strenuous day of beaching it, and a great dinner at one of Zihuatanejo's great restaurants, it's time to use the microwave to pop some corn and throw a DVD in the player and just hang in the "living room" for a while before drifting off into the arms of Morpheus. This year they've added a layer of foam to the usually hard mattresses and the beds are quite comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and well appointed. You're a hop skip and a jump away from La Ropa. Even when the hotel is full it is a sanctuary with as much privacy as you would care to have. Caroline, Tim, Cyntia and the rest of the staff are simply great, doing everything they can to make your vacation memorable. We've already made our reservations for next year and this time for a full two weeks. A word to the wise, when we made our reservations three weeks ago for next year, they only had a couple of rooms available. If they keep up the marvelous work they have been doing for the past 8 years or so, in the near future those of you who have never stayed ther will have to wait for those of us who are regulars to get to old to travel. (grin)

  • Liked — The degree of privacy and the feeling of being as much a friend as a customer.
  • Disliked — Having to leave for 12 months before I can come back
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

As frequent travelers to Mexico, and at "high end" resorts, Villa Carolina is our number one choice. The rooms are clean beyond belief, staff is courteous, helpful, friendly and go out of their way to make your stay the best. We spend 2 weeks a year there and have since they opened. The staff makes you feel like family. We think the pool area is beautifiul, quiet and serene; we reading there all day. The owners, Tim and Carolina are "hands on" people and will help you with reservations, suggestions..... actually any needs you might want while in
Zihua. Also, want a masage...????? Tina is the best! This
ranking is right up there with staff on 5 star cruise lines that we have been on. Need more info? Contact us and we will
do our best to have your stay in Mexico the best.
Alden and Linda Esping
Anaheim, California

  • Liked — Pool area, room size, cleanliness, staff
  • Disliked — Lighting needs to be improved in Garden Suites; no view
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

The Villa Carolina is a magical place, an intimate, charming, all-suite hotel nestled on a hillside only a short walk to the spendid beach, Playa La Ropa. Beautifully managed and defined by understated luxury, Villa Carolina is a private, friendly, relaxing oasis for the many loyal guests who return year after year. I have stayed at Villa Carolina five times and each visit was perfect. My reservations are already booked for my 2009 Winter get away!

Architecturally, Villa Carolina is exquisite and the design creates wonderful privacy in each of the beautiful, spacious suites. All the suites have fully-equipped kitchens, spacious sitting areas, king-sized beds, inviting outdoor areas, large well appointed baths and are furnished with excellent taste. The garden and pool area is lovely. Simple, delicious breakfasts, lunches and snacks are available for guests at very fair prices and the exotic drinks offered at the poolside cocktail parties are heavenly.

A sign of a good hotel is low turn over in staffing and this is an important feature of Villa Carolina. The dedicated, long time, friendly, attentive employees are a wonderful asset and one of the main reasons Villa Carolina is so special.

I consider Villa Carolina my "home away from home" and I cannot wait to return!!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We were disappointed to read JJTrout's review and strongly disagree.

It has been seven years since we stumbled onto Hotel Villas Carolina. From the first time we entered, we knew that we had discovered a gem. Since then, we have returned every year to spend 3 weeks in the Master Suite that we make sure to reserve a year in advance. Always, Carolina, Tim, Cyntia, Marta, Herminia, Jose, and Jose are waiting to welcome us "home".

If anything, the hotel has gotten better over the years with the staff looking after our every need, and keeping the rooms and lush grounds as beautiful as ever. With only 7 rooms, it is quiet and relaxing and offers a respite from the noise and hubbub of the beach and the nearby town.

Soon we will have our own space in Zihuatanejo but we will continue to feel a part of the Villa Carolina "family" and visit them frequently.

  • Liked — The warm, professional staff, the beauty of the space and the attention given by the management to making our stay memorable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Carolina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carolina Hotel

Address: Camino Escenico Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hotel Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Carolina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.