We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, Personal Attention & Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Troppo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Troppo to your Saves list
La Quinta Troppo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Views, Personal Attention & Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th stay at Troppo and it has been perfectly lovely. The new owner Lee, has made numerous nice and some needed changes which made this stay the best ever. Breakfast is complimentary with a large fruit plate, a basket of sweet breads, juice and coffee; but for a very reasonable price, they have several delcious full breakfast selections. Good quality, though limited menu food is available from 8:45 until 11 PM. The lap pool is beautifully built and very refreshing. The views from the breakfast deck and most rooms is just incredible. This is not your upscale gringo first class amenities hotel as things a very naturally constructed from local materials; but that is part of the charm of this small oasis. A few shortcomings like the street noise can be bothersome if you are a light sleeper so bring earplugs if you are on the top floor. Hot water takes a few minutes to heat up; but water pressure is good. Be aware that there are mosquitos certain times of the year so use the mosquito netting provided. The hotel does provide scented repellent. There is a note in the introductory letter about bats and the fact they may leave ocassional droppings in the room. We have never seen one in all of the nights we have stayed here. What we do see are the cute little lizards called Geckos that hide in the corners of the palapa roof and feast on the occasional mosquito. They do leave a small deposit on occasion, usually in the shower area as that is where they catch the Mosquitos that they love. Just a few short blocks away is the fabulous La Ropa beach and its many restaurants and soft, clean sand. We rented lounges from La Perla Restaurant most days and loved the instant refreshments, from beer to margaritas. The dinners there were typical Mexican fare; but they do a great job with the fish & shrimp dishes. From the hotel, downtown is a $40 or $50 peso taxi ride, depending upon your support of the local economy or your bargaining nature. Though Zijuat is a relatively small town, there is an amazing variety of shopping available from handmade local articles and clothing to very fancy jewelry and leather goods. The choice of great restaurants is amazing and though the service and food are usually excellent, you will usually have to beg to get the check at almost every spot. La Quinta Troppo is truly a rare and very special tropical resort in the heart of Mexico's coastal jungle.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    4
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
74
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is a hidden gem. The moment we walked in we were greeted by such friendly staff. They were so accommodating and patient since we arrived at La Quinta Troppo on only a days notice. We stayed in a room on the top floor and the view was absolutely amazing. It looked over La Ropa Beach and bay, and although this place isn't on the water it is only a 4 minute walk away. I would recommend this place to anyone! Very amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights this last February at La Quinta Troppo. Our second stay at this little gem in Zihuatanejo.
Our room the "Tuncanes" very comfortable, with a lovley balcony looking out to the bay, fantastic sunsets. Nice touch, the little tray with a thermos of hot coffee placed outside the door every morning.
Lee and his friendly staff were outstanding from morning to night. Francisco always there at night when we came home from dinner. (He also made the best margaritas. we might add).
Leisurely breakfasr on the terrace looking out over the bay, a delight. Good place to plan the day!

Siv and Walt

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just returned from a six night stay at La Quinta Troppo. We were a group of two Moms and three young twenty girls. We had arrived without much notice from another location that had not worked out for us. Notwithstanding this, Lee and his wonderful staff made us feel right at home. We settled into two beautiful rooms with breathtaking views of Z Bay. The decor is very Mexican and we enjoyed the palm roofs and lovely furnishings. Our preference when traveling is to experience the culture and we really felt that we had been to Mexico!
The hotel is minutes from La Ropa beach although there is also a gorgeous pool with comfortable lounge chairs.
The food and service were excellent and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a boutique type hotel experience.

Room Tip: Choose the open rooms on the top floor. The beds have netting so no worries about bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm hesitant to even write a review for La Qunita Troppo because I want to keep it my little secret! I echo all of the other positive reviewer's comments.

From the first moment I emailed Lee (the owner) to inquire about our stay, up until we pulled away to leave for the airport, our experience was flawless. My boyfriend and I stayed for 9 days over the New Year and were so sad when we had to leave.

I thought I'd point out a few things that stuck out to us and things that I haven't seen mentioned yet in other reviews.

Pre-Trip Planning - Lee was incredibly helpful and responsive to our questions and needs ahead of time. He gave very helpful comments to help us select our room, which we loved! We were looking for an inexpensive way to celebrate the New Year, and he quickly provided several options (including details on their distance from the hotel, menu, price, atmosphere, etc) and ended up suggesting a plan that was in our budget that we really enjoyed. He also connected us with a company (Picante) when we wanted to take a Catamaran cruise, and set up massage appointments.

Hospitality - Everyone we interacted with went above and beyond to make our stay as nice as possible. My boyfriend Alex really wanted to surf, and within minutes of our arrival, Lee had a friend on the phone who would rent Alex a board each morning and take him to a great surf break - it worked out wonderfully. Since Lee knew Alex would be up very early to surf and would miss the usual free coffee/breakfast, he arranged for coffe & pastries to be delivered to our room at 7 AM so he'd have somthing to eat. He even arranged the cabs to pick him up for his surf excursions.

Erica (manager) is the consummate hostess. She came over to me at breakfast and intruduced herself and let us know she'd be available for anything we needed. She recommended several great restuarants (and made our reservations) - I don't know what she told them, but we always seemed to have the best seat in the house! We also wanted to watch the College Football Bowl games, and she found us a great sports bar (Banditos) in town where we ended up going to watch 2 nights!

Mary's cooking is outstanding. In retrospect, we both agreed that we wished we'd eaten all our lunches at the hotel. Aside from the obviously amazing margaritas and guac, the bloody mary was the best I've ever had. Loved the BLT sandwich and tacos for two as well. Basically, you can't go wrong no matter what you order.

The presentation of everything was always so thoughtul - even if you just order a beer by the pool, Alfredo or Francisco will bring you a coaster, napkins, and a little tray of salt and limes. Fresh flowers always accompanied the morning coffee delivery. The maids who took care of our room would neatly fold all of our clothes and line up our shoes in the closet, etc - it's all the little things!

Everyone at the hotel was so pleasant and friendly. It seems like Lee really treats the staff well, which makes a big difference. I only wish I spoke better Spanish so I could've chatted more with them.

Location is great - about 20 minutes from the airport, and you are a quick cab ride into town, a few minutes walk to the beach as well as several outstanding restaurants.

Thanks for an amazing 9 days, Troppo - we are already ready to plan our next trip!

Room Tip: We staying in Nepetuno - amazing view & loved having a hammock on the balconey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I am reticent to write a review of La Quinta Troppo because it is such a hidden gem - being both seasoned business travelers, we are picky when it comes to where we will stay on our off time. I'll also preface this review with the fact that we are also both notoriously picky eaters. We had a four day stay here before heading off to Capella Ixtapa. The hotel is gorgeously designed with natural bamboo and hut-style roofing - the open air entrance is breathtaking. It is such a charming place filled with character and we left with great memories. Our room was so cute with the painted wall and open balcony with views of the bay. The service here was outstanding: personalized, welcoming, unobtrusive. Francisco, Alfredo, Mary, Erica (manager), and Lee (owner) made us feel like family. They gave us excellent information and recommendations in the area - Lee even drove us to our hotel in Ixtapa and showed us a running path - how is that for personalized service? Amazing. We cannot wait to come back. Here are some tips:

- Do NOT miss out on Mary's cooking at the hotel. She is from Oaxaca and makes amazing shrimp pasta, enchiladas, tacos, pretty much everything. We missed her cooking class but hope to take it when we return. We ate at the hotel for most of our stay.

- Margaritas here are the best we've ever had. Handmade fresh by Francisco or Alfredo, these are creepers, but hey. You are on vacation, right? Do NOT skip out on these. They will give you a good time :)

- Bug spray may be required depending on the season. We got bit but didn't heed Lee's advice the first night. The next day, they had bug spray for us and vinegar to relieve our itching. Again, great service.

- La Ropa beach is a five minute walk from here but we stayed at the hotel pool every day of our stay. Why? Because the service was so amazing! The beach is great for AM runs if you want to exercise.

- Hike up the hill and check out unparalleled views of the bay. Erica recommended we try this and we took some amazing pictures as a result. It IS a hike, though - be prepared with water and sunblock. This was a great workout - we didn't miss the gym at all.

- Location of La Quinta can't be beat - away from beach traffic yet convenient to the beach and downtown area.

We really enjoyed our stay here and can't wait to come back. I am putting this on our annual must visit list - and you probably will, too. Come here if you want a quiet, relaxing getaway where you will be treated like family and spoiled with service, food, and comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We recently got home from Zihuantanejo and added our complimentary La Troppo slippers to the previous 3 sets we have. We have stayed at this wonderful little boutique hotel 4 times now and it continues to be a very relaxing superb stay with great views out to the ocean. On arrival they serve you Margaritas and Guacamole, either in your room or by the pool. At night there is a welcome message on your bed made from flower petals and a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Our daughter was married here in 2004 and the service and charm have not changed at all. The people are pretty much the same too including Erica who is the perfect hostess and sees to whatever needs you have. We felt perfectly safe walking around Zihua and the taxis are very inexpensive if you prefer to take them. The village itself has been upgraded with more pedestrian only streets and various bronze statues. It's our tradition to always go to Kau Kan restaurant the first night and it was as great as ever with terrific views high above the bay. Enjoying the same awesome views is a new restaurant for us, Espuma, expensive but very romantic. We always go to Any's Tamales for a inexpensive Mexican meal in the heart of the village and also did Agave's there. Lunches we do at the hotel or one of the many restaurants on La Ropa beach. We hope to do yearly visits to La Quinta Troppo.

Room Tip: La Ropa or La Sirena but all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Troppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Troppo

Address: Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Troppo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Troppo is a designer boutique hotel overlooking the beautiful bay of Zihuatanejo, La Ropa and Las Gatas beaches. We provide privacy and tropical luxury in a 9 suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your La Quinta Troppo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Troppo Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Quinta Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Quinta Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Troppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.