We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple good dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nardo's

Nardo's
Calle Adelita No. 19, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 219 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ucluelet, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“simple good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went twice during our 2 week stay. Had calamari appetizer twice - very good. Had grilled/bbq tuna the first time as our entrée and rib eye steak the second time - both meals were excellent. With the tuna, was a side of pasta which was also very good. Portions were a good size and we split the appetizer and the main. With a drink each and the appie and the main cost was 450 pesos.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is fantastic a mix of italian and spanish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

You have to try the coconut chicken. Place doesn't look like much and some of the seats have a weird view of the curtain that is access to the bathrroms but if you overlook the decor youre in for a real treat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very good meal, reasonable prices, festive inside/outside atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nardo's moved to a new location on the lower Playa Madera road (calle Adelita?) We had dinner there Jan. 18 and recommend it for a reasonable and very well prepared meal. For about $50 we had a beer, 4 glasses of wine (Chilean---wish they had Baja wines), Caprese salad (not with mozarella, not sure what kind of cheese, but good with walnut pesto) excellent spaghetti with tons of seafood, including big chunks of octopus, and a rib eye cooked perfectly on the grill. The mixed vegetables were just ok. The side with the steak was spaghetti, but the people next to us ordered baked potato (we didn't know it was available). There's a nice atmosphere, off the street, outdoors but covered, kind of cozy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We walked by this restaurant many times on our way from our hotel int Zihuatanejo. The young man, Alex (from Tennesee) was always friendly and chatty. We took him up on his offer to prepare our catch from earlier in the day which was barracuda. We arrived around 7pm and the place was packed. Well, my wife and I have never tasted such a delicious fish, perfectly cooked with all the local trimmings. We stayed to listen to the music provided by a couple of Canadians from Alberta, danced a bit and had many delicious cervesas.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nardo's....You gotta check this place out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Zihua for 7 years now. Of course, we've tried alot of great restaurants here. We pass Nardo's almost daily and always just kept walking into town for what ever. Big mistake. They say a book can't be judged by it's cover. So true. We met a young man on Calle Adelita who invited us to try. Based on his attempts the next few passes, I promised to be back next week. That was New Years day and they were closed (understandably.) The following week we came back as I had promised. We had Calamari which was fantastic. Piping hot, nice portion, and great home made marinara. I (having been here a couple of weeks already) ordered the filet mignon and my wife the shrimp wrapped in bacon. The food was stunning. I have never had such a great steak in Zihua before. The shrimps were huge and also presented with pasta and vegetables as was my steak. Staff were awesome and very friendly. I think I am still in shock being a Canadian prairie boy who found a steak as good as in good ol Saskatchewan. Really happy with this find and we will be back a couple of more times yet. 145 pesos for a filet? C'mon, at home I'd pay 35-40 dollars for that same steak. Nardo's delivers along the lines of an Il Mare just without the stunning views. The food more than compensates for that! Calamari, Filet Mignon, Jumbo shrimps, 3 beers, and a large bottle of water for 440 (40 bucks canadian)= unreal value. Please visit this little gem of Zihuatanejo-you'll be so glad you did.
Our friends arrive next week and I will be going back. Will post again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nardo's also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Nardo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nardo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.