We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Murmullo

El Murmullo
Calle Pedro Ascensio, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 212 restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Owner/chef Israel Salazar continues to explore and expand the culinary options in Zihuatanejo. Using only first quality ingredients, he creates special dishes that are available nowhere else in town. Israel is widely known for his Thai creations, but he lavishes the same attention and care on his Mexican and Italian offerings. His attentive, bi-lingual floor staff, amazing food, and full bar will make any evening at El Murmullo one to remember.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We read about this restaurant on TripAdvisor. Even though we had only been in Zihuat for a few days, I wanted a break from Mexican. My hubby and I both had Thai and it was delicious. Our waiter (I'm so sorry we can't remember his name) was AWESOME. He spoke very good English and did a super job. I had the Curry Shrimp and my hubby had the Thai Stir Fry with chicken (super generous portion) and both were delicious. Would definitely go back. We actually tried to go back to have dinner on Christmas and were going to try the Italian, but they were closed. We would highly recommend you give them a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    58
    23
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

After daily delicious grilled fish, savory Mexican specialties (sopes, marinero's burritos, cochinita pibil) Thai food at El Murmullo was just right. Stir fry was outstanding; husband had penne arrabiata-- done al dente, spicy...not hot. Italian and Thai in Mexico--delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cooking classes too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I went with a group of friends to El Murmullo for a cooking class. The owner/chef Israel was the instructor. The menu included a special "cucumber" margarita, bean soup, and "cochinita pibil" - a pulled pork with achiote and huahillo chili served with marinated spicy onions.

The instructions and demonstration was very clear. And the food served after the class was great! Next time, I'd like to go to the market with the chef, to see how to order and choose the ingredients.

El Murmullo is a very special alternative on the Zihua dining scene!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tired of Local Cuisine?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We wanted a change of pace and read a review on El Murmullo. We love Thai food so thought we would give it a try. The map which came up was way off from where it ended up to be. May have been operator error. Anyway it is right down the strret from Cocoanuts so really in the heart of town. The food was spicy but most of all very flavorful. We definitely will go back on our next trip

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Refreshing alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

El Murmullo is a small restaurant on a charming street in "downtown" Zihuatanejo. The menu features Italian and Thai dishes, which were a welcome break from our usual Mexican fare. The service is attentive and friendly and the chef himself visited our table. He told us he was offering cooking lessons as well, but we weren't able to take them in. Everyone in our party agreed that the food was delicious and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Murmullo also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to El Murmullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Murmullo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.