We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go every year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otilia's Restaurant

Otilia's Restaurant
Paya Las Gatas | on las Gatas Beach, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 244 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: This restaurant is located on a small cove and can only be reached by water taxi from the pier. There are about 10 restaurants on this isolated cove. They have no actual address, no electricty, no telephone and all food/beverages are brought in by the water taxi's. Otilia's is mentioned many times under Things to Do on the Zihua Forum under "Las Gatas" and should be listed under Restaurants. This is a very popular place with great food and fantastic location. You can enjoy your meal with your feet in the sand and the very clear ocean water a few yards away. Snorkeling is also available from the white sand beach.
Richland, MIchigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We go every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We are in Ixtapa every year and the one place we ALWAYS go is Otilias, or as we call it, "Franks". Pack your towel, suit and sunscreen, buy a round trip ticket at the pier and boat over to Los Gatos Beach. Head to the far end for the red umbrellas and tablecloths and move into a chaise lounge for the day. Frank will keep the beer cold and coming. The seafood is always fresh but Frank will make you want to come back over and over. He is funny, entertaining and "peachy keen". My only hesitation in writing this review is that I selfishly don't want them to become overly populated.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    14
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Beach Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We walked to Playa Las Gatas from our hotel on Playa La Ropa. You walk along the beach from the pier (you can also take a water taxi there from La Ropa or from Zihua) Otilias is almost to the far end of the string of restaurants away from the pier. David, our waiter was so good. He took excellent care of us. I won't forget his catch phrase, "why not". We ate coconut shrimp and bacon wrapped shrimp and both were excellent. We both had massages for only 250 pesos each (under $20 use). When it was time to leave, David arranged for a boat to take us back and drop us off on the beach right in front of our hotel. David speaks and understands English and has excellent customer service skills. He made our day most enjoyable.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A great place to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming here for 14 years, and always enjoy our time there. Great food and great service!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Franco is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Amazing experience at Otilia's. It's at the end of the beach but very private and serene. Franco was amazing and made us feel like we were family. We went there 3 of our 7 days and wish we could have found it earlier. They cooked the fish we caught and prepared an amazing spread along with the fish. Best margarita I have ever had. Ever!!! One got me slurring my words. Can't wait to go back here. Thanks Franco. We will see you next year!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have been to Otilia's 5 or 6 times and we have always had a great experience. Franco has become like a family member to us. He has arranged snorkeling at Playa Manzanillo for us that was fun and reasonably priced. The food is always good - some of the best in Zihua. He and the staff take very good care of us. Our last visit was in December 2013 and we went to Otilia's 3 times in 12 days.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otilia's Restaurant also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Otilia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otilia's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.