We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this restaurant !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Arrayan

El Arrayan
Calle Adelita S/N Colonia la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
+52 755 112 1193
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 220 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Diner, Mexican, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: It is located on a street with more food options in public area furniture refurbished as a small garden, this is characterized by street people spend walking as it is a closed and few vehicles, is very calm and the sea is only a few meters. Restaurant "The Arrayan" reports he will be temporarily without service, hope your understanding, committed to inform our return and servile especially with more quality! Thank you!
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't miss this restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you want to experience the true friendliness of the Mexican people, stop by this restaurant. It's family run, the owners are always there, and boy, do they serve great food ! I've eaten breakfasts and lunches here for the last two years. The fresh squeezed juices are wonderful . Everything I have tried on their menu was perfectly prepared and delicious. You don't have to worry about cleanliness, as everything is spick n span. Brightly painted walls lend to its appeal. My favorite seat is in their outside seating area across the street, where they have humming bird feeders and you can watch the birds while you eat and relax. Conveniently located just across the canal bridge from downtown Zihuatanejo on Adelita street.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New discovery in Zihuatanejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We discovered this jewel of a restaurant while looking for the no-longer existing Sixtinos Restaurant. What a find! Mauricio and his wife serve up the best food in Zihuatanejo at prices signicantly less than other upscale restaurants in the area. From the fish filet, arrachera steak, enchilada verdes, shrimp omelet and much more, this is our new favorite place to eat healthy and beyond-flavorful cuisine. The service is no less fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average which means good for the region”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food is of average quality but the marina location is nice. Given what we experienced at most of the places we ate at in Ixtapa El Arrayan was much better than average. Prices are reasonable but not cheap.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts on Adelita Street, Zihua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spend several months a year in Zihua, and watch restaurants come and go...along Adlita street for sure! El Arrayan is a few years old,and we took note of it right away because of its lovely painted walls of bright yellow and green, plants everywhere, very clean, and a most engaging owner. Mauricio is always sharing a new fruit (upon our last visit) or a new salsa, a new candy, or a new coffee bean to try and he always speaks to clients with interest. His wife is the main cook, I believe, and she is warm and welcoming too. Their little son was trying to ride his new bike on Three Kings Day...a very nice little family. We have had breakfast and lunch, and now they have crepes for dinner..sweet or savory...which we will try soon! They also operate next door, a small Internet space, all very clean and tidy.
It should be noted that this restaurant is NOT in Ixtapa but Zihuatanejo!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“NOT LOCATED IN IXTAPA; In Zihuatanejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a fantastic restaurant run by extremely friendly people who speak enough English to understand your food order. We ate breakfast here most mornings as they have a great fruit plate with yogurt and granola on the side. I ordered freshly squeezed Mardarin Orange juice. It was without pulp and was a delicious treat at only 25 pesos. Their chicken enchiladas are excellent too. Everything we ordered was great; french toast, eggs ranchero, and eggs with bacon.
We sat in the garden area across from the restaurant and enjoyed watching the hummingbirds and the beautiful flowers.
This restaurant has just opened for dinner and offers crepes and salads. I am sure they will be very good. They are located near Hotel Irma near downtown Zihua.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Arrayan also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to El Arrayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Arrayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.