We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico Vacation "1st Timers"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Irma to your Saves list
Hotel Irma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greenacres, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mexico Vacation "1st Timers"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We chose Hotel Irma from a friend that had visited several months earlier. When arrived, we were told there was no ocean view rooms available, due to a water damage issue. We booked ocean view room with king bed. They gave us $150 pesos refund for the day. The room they put us in was horrid. 3 full size beds dorm style. Not even the king size bed we paid for. When we approached them about over-booking, they kept saying they had tried to call the manager and she was not answering her phone and she would be in tomorrow. Well tomorrow came and she was still not in. We were given another $150 pesos for the day. We also noticed in a flyer that Hotel Irma was advertising ocean views in every room. That is not the case.

Finally on the third day, they had an ocean view room for us, but not the king size bed, 2 full size beds. We really wanted the ocean view so we took it. The ocean view is definitely worth it.

I will say that the waiters, maids, grounds workers, and lobby attendants were all friendly and wanted to make your stay nice. The manager could care less. I believe if they had a different manager and did not over-book you couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

There are a lot of stairs, so if stairs are a problem this would not be the hotel for you. There is no room for an elevator like some one else suggested. It would take away from the old world charm and with the different levels and "zig zag" type levels, an elevator just wouldn't work.

The 2 pools were cleaned and maintained daily. It was unfortunate that people saved chairs first thing in the morning by putting their towels on chairs and then not claiming for 2-5 hours. Several times I wanted to just pick up the pool towels and turn them in. It would be nice if this was posted, then if you picked up the towels and moved them, you felt like you had a right to do so. There were several comments floating around the pool, that there needed to be a better system for that.

We were also mistaken about wi-fi. We thought that we could get it in the rooms. It was inconvenient to go to the lobby or restaurant every time you needed to connect, especially if you needed to leave your tablet in the safe in the room. Going back and forth. Also very spotty and not always working we'll.

Also had a massage with the waves of the ocean for peacefulness that was awesome.

Would we go back? Hotel Irma is old world charm and we will go back, if these deficiencies have been corrected.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    125
    38
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
127
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had booked a seaview room and expected same when we arrived. We were checked in, then given the news that, well, "there's a problem with the piping". We were relegated to an interior room that, with its 3 double beds, looked more like a barracks. There were windows at each end, but each looked out on a walkway, so privacy was non-existent. That, coupled with beds that did NOT have the advertised down comforters and blankets, but rather ill-fitting light sheets such that we had to sleep separately in order to have any cover at all. Did I mention the pillows? More akin to bags of rolled-up socks. But we did have the dulcet tones of the A/C which sounded more like a semi. An idling semi, but a semi nonetheless.
The following morning, I asked to see the room we were originally assigned. The desk clerk took on that deer-in-the-headlights look. (We didn't get to see it.) Later, at breakfast, we met a couple who had the same "re-assignment surgery" performed on them. They were checking out and offered to show us their room. We took it. Another inside job, but it did have a king-size bed. Compensation for our (prepaid) room was a 150 peso daily restaurant voucher in their overpriced, underperforming restaurant.
BTW, we met two more couples (total 3) to whom this happened - each with a different excuse - "water", "construction", etc. One couple did manage to get their seaview room after 3 or 4 nights but found, to their dismay, that again, there were only double beds.
Clearly, the Irma overbooks their seaview rooms (to say nothing of exaggerating their amenities) and then hopes for the best (for them).
All this and spotty internet in public areas only - mostly the lobby and restaurant.
Not our first time in Zihuat but absolutely the last time at the Irma.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - but if you MUST go to the Irma for some unknown reason, STAY AWAY FROM ROOM 18...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from our 5th visit to the Irma. this year I was very disappointed with some of the things about this hotel. the lounge chair game was being played and the hotel did nothing! that games needs to be stopped. when you wake for coffee at 7 am and every lounger and chair by the pool is saved! I understand larger groups want to sit together but this year it went a little too far! in my mind, if you put something on a chair you need to be sitting on that chair within 30 minutes. NOT after you eat and head downtown to do some shopping. enough is enough! I would have liked to complain to the live in manager, but she is NEVER around. they also overbooked! using every excuse as to why your paid for ocean view room was unavailable. the staff does its best to make customer happy but I feel that manager is not doing her job. I enjoy the staff and location but it is in need of better management. the Irma has many return customer like ourselves and would hate to look for another place to stay, but want to make people aware of these issues. on a lighter note, my husband went fishing, caught a sailfish, the hotel prepared it 3 different ways and it was excellent! I hope things improve, I have always loved this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westbank
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a great stay at Hotel Irma .great location close to town or 2 great beaches . Ocean view room was outstanding . 5 minute walk to Playa Ropa , 75 steps to La Mardera beach .10 minute walk to many of Zihuaanejo's great resturants. We loved El Murmullo & CoCo Bahia Botanas.

Room Tip: Ocean view room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan River, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had an ocean view room on the 6th floor - we got used to the stairs. Yoga on the terrace was a nice feature as was the spa. Great food and drinks and the pools and deck area are clean and well maintained. Location was perfect and we walked to and from La Ropa, downtown and the marina/market area. La Madera beach - which Irma is situated on - had a lot to offer as well. We enjoyed our time there, sitting under an umbrella while enjoying drinks and food, swimming, and shopping the local vendors. I will never forget how amazing the view was from our room and the pool/restaurant area. We really liked the vibe of this hotel - nice and quiet and not too busy. I would recommend Hotel Irma for a great Zihua vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our second trip to Irma because we loved it last year. We have NEVER stayed at a hotel the second time because we like to try new places but decided to here because of our last year's awesome trip and experience. When we arrived, we were told they had no Ocean View Rooms (even though we paid extra money for it on Expedia). We were told to come back tomorrow for an Ocean View and we did and there was none. ...After what seemed like a run around 2 days later, we got our money back (with my husband's persistant presence at the front counter). In the interim, we would told we could get 10% off anything else purchased at the hotel (in lieu of a refund) and they also told my husband we would have to deal with Expedia in which he said no, you do! After talking to some other people in the hotel, they were experiencing the same treatment. Some other disappointments were that the bar area was never open (even though we could get drinks from the restaurant area), the water in the room either ran super hot or super cold and the day before we left the air conditioner leaked alot of water and had to get a maintenance guy up to our room. Positives: Hiemey (sp) at the front counter, Fernando at the resaurant and many of the hard working staff. Everyone there are very hard workers but it seems the management (or whoever makes the decisions on sheduling rooms) don't know what they are doing. It's amazing that a hotel could change so much in a year's time. UNFORTUNATELY, I DOUBT WE WILL EVER GO BACK!

Room Tip: Don't trust you will get an Ocean View Room even if you pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Irma. For the money spent it was tremendous value. The place is old world charming - a little dated but spotlessly clean and a well cared for property. The view from an ocean front room is spectacular and the best in the area. The staff are friendly and endlessly helpful. Hot water for showers is best had in the afternoons and is hit or miss during the day - water is solar heated. Air conditioning works well. I had a wonderful time and met great people. Never felt unsafe. The location of the hotel is close to downtown and the way to the hotel is well lit. Lots of good restaurants around and the food at the hotel was very good. I will return. There are alot of stairs at this hotel so I wouldn't recommend it for those with mobility issues. The massage therapist at the hotel is very reasonable and gives a super massage.

Room Tip: Oceanview is best. A higher floor above the pools has a better view and is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Irma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.