We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Irma to your Saves list
Hotel Irma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a great week at the nearby Aura del Mar Hotel I decided to stay on another week in Zihua but needed to economise a bit so moved over here. Hotel Irma is also in Playa la Madera with outstanding views over Zihuatanejo Bay. There are two swimming pools, one a great infinity pool. You need to descend a substantial staircase and walk around the corner to get onto the beach and hopefully not find the gate locked once you get there as I did. Free WiFi is available in the restaurant bar and the lobby but nowhere else.

The rooms are basic, no fridge or microwave etc, but are clean and have great views and individual private decks looking across the bay. Hot water for the shower was only at night and even then variable. The hotel is concrete and tile blockhouse construction and transmits sound very well, so if you have neighbours door closures, footsteps and cell phone conversations can be intrusive. Without the human factor the only sounds is that of the gently breaking surf.

The restaurant is OK for breakfast but otherwise there is much better to be had at any number of restaurants nearby. The bar looks out across the pools and the bay. Service throughout the hotel is achieved only by seeking out one of the very few staff on duty (who are usually around the corner on their cell phone).

This is definitely not a 4 or 5 star hotel but in the final analysis I got my cheaper extra week in Zihua in a clean room, with great views for about $50 night. The view alone is worth that. And on those magic days when your neighbour doesn’t party on the outside deck until 3am, the hot water works and wait-staff is waiting when you enter the restaurant for breakfast, well then it is a very nice hotel. But if I was here on anything approaching a romantic getaway I would certainly go somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: Don't bother without ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    108
    33
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
113
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Irma on two different trips to Zihuatanejo. We absolutely love the Irma. The view is breathtaking. We always try to be one or two levels above the lobby. There are no elevators, but if you want help with bags, just ask.
My wife likes to sleep in, so I always like to go down and get coffee from the restaurant and bring it back to our room. I sit on the balcony and watch the bay come alive. There might be a cruise ship parked there in the morning, or there is always people on the beach and fishing boats scurrying around.
The Hotel sits on the hillside which gives you the beautiful view. During the walk down the hill to town, you must stop and buy fresh squeezed juice from the gal that has been there forever selling it. The juice is absolutely amazing. Once at the bottom of the hill there are great places to eat and just a short walk across the bridges and a few blocks more and you're right down town. The market is great. Don't want to walk back up the hill, a taxi is always at hand. In fact, they'll be whistling at you to attract your attention.
The waterfront is great to shop and eat. The prices are higher of course. And don't bother going down when a cruise ship is in port.
There are always beggars walking around hitting you up. The one lady will always have 2 to 6 kids with her in all age ranges. Don't let her fool you....I was told by the waiters that she owns about 7 rental properties (paid for by begging on the waterfront).
The best time we ever had was one evening on the waterfront...the waiters were on the walk hawking people to come in and eat. We decided to help him. We told people going by what a great place it was....good food and drink. Then we invited them to sit with us. In a few hours, we had about a dozen or more different people join us and had great conversation and a very pleasant evening visiting with everyone from families to a retired Lutheran minister and his wife. The waiters appreciated it as well....they treated us VERY good. Until I just happened to look around and noticed that Everyone was gone on the boardwalk except us and the waiters. We thanked them, tipped them well and said our goodbyes. God bless everyone who enjoyed the evening with us.
The only thing is, remember your place. You are a guest in their country. DO NOT get mouthy in the bars and clubs. DO NOT look at their women (a guy we met and went out to eat with just about got our butts kicked just for dancing between two young gals dancing. He did nothing inappropriate, but they had a reason to hassle him). DO NOT give the local thugs any reason to cause you grief....they will just for pleasure!!! You will be approached by a told of various people selling drugs. Your choice, but remember, Mexican prisons are nasty places. Keep your eyes open...if you see anything that looks like a drug deal going down, just walk the other way and mind your own business. These guys don't work alone and if you pay attention, you are a target.
Other than that, Zihuatanejo has so much Mexican culture to offer. We wander around all sorts of neighborhoods. Mind yourself as to where you are at and enjoy Mexico.
And remember....don't drink the water.

Room Tip: Pay the extra if need be for a ocean view room. The view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We couldn't believe how much more fun it was to stay at the Hotel Irma overlooking the bay and the town of Zihuatanejo rather than in one of the featureless hotels in Ixtapa where most of the tourists stay overlooking a fake beach made of ground-up limestone.

This place could be out of 1940's movie (with Kirk Douglas and Jane Russell.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would recommend Hotel Irma based on our experience we had in May. First the staff was friendly and accommodating. The hotel and pool was clean as was our room. The restaurant had very good food and was very clean as well. The view from our room was second to none, outstanding and I have some very good pictures to prove it. We were very satisfied with our service and our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room several floors above the pool, it will have a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The view from almost every room is an ocean view. The service and the people are lovely. There's a happy hour and a pool. What more could you want? The rooms are clean and friendly and there's a restaurant if you don't feel like walking into town. We have stayed twice now and would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Prairie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. We have already booked a return trip to the same location. The service was great, the place was clean, and the view from our balcony was beautiful! The only thing to beware of is since it's built into the side of a hill, there's no elevators. It's easy to walk down the hill to town but you might want to consider a taxi for returning unless you're young and in excellent health.

Room Tip: Be sure you ask for Ocean View Room. If you're a senior or have trouble with steps, request a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and I had no issues. I love the town of playa del ropa. This hotel is situated in a quiet surfer town. There are plenty of tasty restaurants to choose from, however, i must confess i did not try the food at the hotel. I rather eat at the local restaurants. that being said, you need to be in shape to get around on foot because there are plenty of hills to climb. If you don't have an active lifestyle, there are plenty of taxis around.
pros
location
service/staff
clean

cons
needs upgrades (however, i knew this before going, so it was not an issue for me, but mentioning this point for people who need modern t.v.s, a/c, etc.
you cant bring outside drinks by the pool side (which i did not appreciate as a budget traveller

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Irma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.