We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“longboard trip 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Zihuatanejo to your Saves list
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880 , Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% Off & Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“longboard trip 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

epic staff, food, location and rooms. highly recommend this resort to all!!! we spent 4 nights and the weather could not of been better. again, viceroy hospitality is over the top and five stars! thank you for a great event and can't wait to be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear bespaboise,
thank you very much for your nice comments, we hope to be able to welcome you back soon to stunning Playa La Ropa
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    91
    30
    20
    11
See reviews for
70
307
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I know for a fact there are more striking properties on the cliffs overlooking the bay, but if you want a full service stay directly on the sand ths is an excellent choice. Food is average, but you want to eat on your property anyway unless you are staying at tentciones. Staff ate all incredibly friendly and helpful. Ample on beach lounges with thatch umbrellas. We had a suite, and it was really, really great. I'd take pictures but it's a mess right now (our fault). If you have kids, this is a really kid friendly place, but I also only see three families here and the rest are couples so don't get put off if you are empty nesters. I don't see many younger couples or families, perhaps that is a price point effect. I might be being unfair as I don't want to dissuade you from coming here if it otherwise looks good to you but at least while we were here it was a somewhat older crowd. But again, great fir little ones too. We would come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Washington Traveller_001,
thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay, I am very happy that you enjoyed Viceroy Zihuatanejo and especially Playa La Ropa,which as you know, has so much to offer; we are blessed to be located on one of the most stunning beaches in Mexico and having employees who love to cater to everyones needs.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have stayed at the hotel twice before - once 12 years ago on our honeymoon and again 2 years ago for our 10th wedding anniversary. Both stays were before the recent change in ownership to the Viceroy. Both the past stays were better than our most recent stay. While we were thrilled to be upgraded from a garden view room to a lagoon view suite (apparently half the rooms were offline for renovation) we found that the food was just not the same as it used to be. We went to dinner the first night at La Marana (the hotel's fancy restaurant) and none of the food was worth what we paid for it - and my husband's shrimp was so fishy tasting it was inedible. So we ended up eating most of our meals at other restaurants along the beach. The pool service seemed slower than in years past. And when our friends came to visit, they charged them $25 each just to sit in a beach chair for the afternoon. All and all not what we expected for the high price that the hotel gets for being on one of the best beaches in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear MelissaDaveSeattle,
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal experience at La Marea restaurant and that you felt that our service on the beach was slow. Please rest assured that we are striving daily to not just meet guest experiences but to exceed them. I hope that you will give us a chance again in the future.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is an overdue review of our August/September 3 weeks at the Viceroy/Zihua. I completed the Viceroy survey and forgot about Tripadvisor! My wife and I have visited Zihua several times and always enjoy our time there in the "off season". Yes, it rains more but there are no crowds and the pace is very relaxing. This was our first stay at the Viceroy and hope it will be our regular spot. It is a 5 star location with 5 star staff and services. A few of the facilities needed a bit of refreshing but the manager, Martin, has that underway. While we were there, Tropical Storm Manuel arrived and caused some damage to the town and the beach was littered with debris -- but the town and hotel staff cleaned it up quickly. We lost power for a few hours but the hotel staff made everything pleasant. After thinking about our stay, I believe the superb staff is what really makes this place special. They truly work to make your visit perfect. Congratulations to Martin and the entire team. We hope to see you in again this year.

Room Tip: Beach suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear bbb22630,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

Thank you very much for such a generous review. I am delighted to read your comments and learn that you have been impressed with our place.

We are looking forward to your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us for any pre-arrival arrangement.

Gracias,
Martin Kipping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

When we stayed at the Viceroy prior to ownership change the staff was amazing and personal (right down to the tennis instructor who was a great guy and great coach). When they saw we were a family they immediately offered to move us to another larger suite. It cost more but wow is was phenomenal. This trip we called in advance specifically requesting the same suite, upon arrival we were placed in a dark unit but immediately they responded to move us. I explained the unit we had the last time and they said they were very clear about the one I was describing. Needless to say we were moved to another lacking dark unit with old fixtures and no windows. When I explained this to the staff they said they would check again for the one I described. I personally walked the bellman to the unit and without hesitation he said it was occupied... Of course it was not. The staff for the most part seems either new or just inexperienced.

The rest of our stay was spent chasing down waiters when we wanted a drink or fighting for lounge chairs on the beach. Which in the past 2 days we have not been able to find one... Even though the resort seems to be at less than half capacity... Our room was never cleaned during our stay even multiple calls to front desk. Sitting by the pool not once did a waiter come over to us. If we wanted service we had to go and stand at the bar. It was not based on being too busy because there was no one there.

People comparing this to a 4 Seasons obviously has not stayed at one. We have stayed in resorts all over the world. If you wanted a resort that we believe to be a comparison to 4 Seasons try La Hacienda in Los Cabos....

Update more again soon..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Punctual2014,

Please accept my sincere apology for your experience. I was sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay and wanted to let you know that we are committed to fixing these issues for you and all our future guests.

We have reviewed the shortfalls mentioned on your Trip Advisor comment and are taking proactive steps to avoid similar situations in the future.

I hope that you will decide to return in order to give us the opportunity to show you our improvements.

In the meantime please receive our best wishes.

Sincerely yours,
Martin Kippping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Viceroy Hotel on La Ropa Beach is a lovely high end resort. It has the feel of a Four Seasons and is very pricey but is a step above the other resorts in this area. We did upgrade to a beach suite which turned out to be an extra $!65.00 which seemed not too over the top until all the taxes were added, then gulp ! It seems that mexico has added taxes onto everything so it would be better to know that up front. We had complimentry coffee and rolls delivered to our room each morning and a lovely breakfast was also included. The two restaurants both offered fabulous dining experiences. We were on the beach each evening at a beautiful table with candles and amazing service. Although there were only a few people staying at the hotel, the quality of service and the staff went above and beyond. Due to the high prices and lack of guests I hope this hotel does survive.

Room Tip: If you are situated in an area you don't like theyn ask to see another room, lots seem to be ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear simpsonWestVancouver,

Read these comments motivate us to continue providing a quality service you deserve.

Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations. We hope to welcome you back and not to distance future.

Gracias,
Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We are a same sex family of four - children ages 7 & 5. We had Alaska companion tickets that we decided to redeem and picked Zihuatanejo as our destination. After reading countless reviews about beaches and hotels, we ultimately found an excellent promotion with the Viceroy - 50% off a lagoon suite and it included breakfast. The reservation process was excellent and I had numerous questions which were all answered so promptly and professionally by Vanesa Moreno. Our children attend a Spanish immersion international school and we wanted them to attend a local school during our stay in Zihua. Also, our daughter was turning 7 during our vacation and we wanted to have a birthday celebration and invite some of the employee's children. Vanesa put me in contact with Aleida Espinoza, an Executive Assistant at the Viceroy. She was amazing to work to arrange everything we needed. She even personally went to the school we wanted to visit to speak with the principal when I had trouble getting in touch with them. Once we arrived at the hotel, the understated but gorgeous lobby was empty and we were assigned a guide named Dolce, that showed us around the property and finally to our room. She was very sweet - like her name! And patiently explained everything about the hotel and answered any questions we had. She finally took us to our lagoon suite LS17 which was located on the 2 second floor and it had 2 queen size beds. It was a stunning room with a huge plunge pool (only about 2 feet deep...) and although not an ocean front room, offered some views of the ocean from the living area and the master bedroom balcony. It was also private enough that we didn't have to worry about people seeing us play in our pool. They had a basket of children's toys next to the pool which thrilled our kids to no end. The table had freshly made cookies with both of our children's names on all of the cookies and a pitcher of delicious fruit juice. The bedroom was very large with 2 beds and opened out to a balcony that was child safe (maybe not for young climbing toddlers but I felt absolutely safe with our young kids. Some balconies have very open railings!) The manager left a beautiful bouquet of flowers in our room with a note from the manager welcoming us and to wish our daughter Happy Birthday. Our daughter was so thrilled with the flowers and she made us take several pictures of them so she would never forget! The room was beautiful and understated. The tile work throughout was amazing. The only real awkward part of the room was in the bathroom - the toilet was situated so the door would kind of hit your knees if you opened it while sitting. Also, the shower would take f.o.r.e.v.e.r to heat up. It was a beautiful shower that was open in a circular fashion. No bathtub but we had that plunge pool. One thing to note about the lagoon suites and other rooms that have the open living area - the bats. There are fruit bats that like to fly around at night. Apparently fruit bats are harmless but they leave droppings. We found if we left the lights on and the ceiling fan running, they would stay mostly away. We would just close the big, heavy, gorgeous carved doors to the bedroom and bathroom closed so the light (and bats...) wouldn't bother us. It's just part of being in the tropics and the living area was not closed off...it was open like a big covered balcony. The staff did supply repellent and I brought some as well which we used. There are mosquitoes and they bite. ***Carry it in your purse so if you walk down the beach to other restaurants you have it because the mosquitoes are at the restaurants as well.
Every morning we received a delightful tray of fresh Mexican pastries, coffee and cocoa. It was the best way to wake up. Enjoy coffee, treats, cocoa and the kids would just play and play in the plunge pool. We would eventually meander down to the restaurant for breakfast which was more like lunch since the pastries held the kids hunger over for a few hours. Breakfast was phenomenal and the staff was amazing! They were so delightful to talk to and they always made sure everything was perfect. They remembered our room and what they kids like to eat.
One of the amazing amenities of the hotel was the kids concierge. They went out of their way to make sure our kids were having a good time. The kids concierge was handled by Vidi and she gave the kids each a backpack with toys, a T-shirt, cap, goggles and other little goodies. She would play with them while we relaxed on the beach and one time we walked into town to explore. Vidi seemed to really enjoy her job and played with all the kids - drawings, sand castles, paper mache, you name it....Thank you so much, Vidi! The kids really miss you!! The Viceroy also has a turtle conservation program. Turtles like to come up on the beach to lay eggs right in front of the hotel or on its property. The staff takes this very seriously and protects the eggs in a little "turtle nursery" . When the eggs hatch, they are released at night into the ocean. Our children were fortunate to be able to help release the baby turtles a few times and this certainly was the highlight of their trip.
As I mentioned before, Aleida was instrumental in helping organize a birthday party for our daughter's 7th birthday. Before we arrived she asked what kind of piñata she would like. I said a dinosaur. Well , unbeknownst to me, Aleida tried and tried to find a dinosaur piñata but couldn't locate one, so she had one made! It was perfect - a pink and purple dinosaur piñata. It was also inscribed with Isabelle's name. It made a special day more special. Aleida also invited some local children which we were thrilled about and they were so polite and well behaved. The staff made sure we had plenty of drinks, smoothies, sandwiches and they made a delightful cake! They decorated a palapa with balloons to make it festive as well. They really went above and beyond to make Isabelle's 7th birthday so special. Her next birthday will be very difficult to top.... It was an unforgettable birthday. Our 5 year old son still remarks that he wants his birthday in Mexico!
The hotel sits on a gorgeous stretch of La Ropa beach. We never once felt threatened or unsecure. Peddlers do walk the beach but are not allowed on the hotel property. We ventured down the beach several times to try local restaurants and happy hours. There is a place just down the beach that had a great happy hour - I can't remember the name of the restaurant but there is a little slew that feeds water into the beach. One evening we enjoyed our cocktails while our daughter played in the water with some local children and our son played in the little water slew. We found out the next day that 2 giant crocodiles live in there and the come and go into the water at times!!!! I nearly had a heart attack when I found that out and of course didn't allow our son to play in that again.... Fortunately, the hotel is a ways up from that area.
The hotel although amazing, small and incredible staff is in need of some updating. The new manager seems to have great plans. The workout facility I have to say was really the only disappointing area. Machines wouldn't work, the floor was in dire need of repair and the a/c simply didn't work. Not what one would expect from a 5-star resort. However, a couple days before our departure, they closed the facility and tore up the floor completely. We left in the middle of that renovation so I can't comment on what it will/does look like now. Also, we did take advantage of a facial from the hotel. I have to say this wasn't up to par either. The woman doing the facial actually left during the procedure for about 10-15 min. I would have preferred a massage during that time. I had no idea why she left and wasn't sure if I should get up. The exact same thing happened to my partner. We ended up taking advantage of massages on the beach for 200 pesos/hour. What a deal! That is hard to beat. That is about $20.00 and well worth it. I used the gal right next to the hotel - I think her name was Hilda or Hazel....very nice.
Overall, this trip was exceptional made extra exceptional by the entire staff at the Viceroy. We were so happy we stayed on La Ropa beach and not Playa de la Madera. La Ropa is much, much nicer. Thank you so much for making our stay outstanding! We definitely will return.

Room Tip: Lagoon suites are amazing with some ocean views from the 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear 2momstravel,

Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for your vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service. I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to our team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us for any pre-arrival arrangement.


Sincerely,
Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Address: Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880 , Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Zihuatanejo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Viceroy Zihuatanejo. 46 Guestrooms and suites afford stunning garden and ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican-Pacific cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Zihuatanejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.