We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subtle decline, but still VG” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Zihuatanejo to your Saves list
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880 , Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% Off & Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Subtle decline, but still VG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pros:
Dulce and Luis at front desk are very good.
Eliazar on beach is a great host.
Older grounds keeper is very proud of his work and does a great job. He really appreciated that I noticed his work.
Lagoon view suite is very nice.
Location on beach is best - even better than other higher rated properties.
Cons:
Not management fault, but beach is ever so slightly trashier than last year.
3 maintenance visits to replace failing a/c fan bearing. Not great for trying to fall asleep.
3 requests for fire alarm chirping to stop resonating in stonewalled lobby. Sound echoed right into our bedroom. Geez....
Food still overpriced and not very good. Rossi's and La Perla may not be as fancy, but definitely better quality.
Staff overall is very nice.

Property is showing signs of wear and tear. Probably wouldnt take much for basically cosmetic touch ups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear T34IFR,

Thank you for providing your comments regarding your recent stay at Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

I am very glad to learn that you enjoy the hotel, was a pleasure to have had you with us. About the prices please know that these are published according to our competitive set.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future. Gracias.

Best regards,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    91
    30
    20
    12
See reviews for
70
307
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We had booked 5 nights in this hotel. This was our 3rd time at this hotel. We opted to have the hotel arrange for a car from the airport. The charge was to be $42 USD plus tax and would be charged to our room. When we arrived the representative took us to the taxi and told us if we wanted to pay the driver directly if would be $37 USD. When we arrived at the hotel I spoke to the manager and told him what happened. He did not care that the hotel was charging us more and in fact admitted that he really did not care that we were being charged almost $10 USD more. I asked to speak to Carlos (who never showed up). The end result is we immediately checked out of this hotel and found a beautiful hotel almost next door. We were able to book the Villa Carolina. The Villa Carolina is a beautiful family run boutique hotel with 7 rooms. Our room included a jacuzzi, a large sitting area with a hammock, a full kitchen with a refrigerator, stove, coffee maker, and microwave, and then a huge bedroom with another sitting area all for less than half of what the Viceroy was going to charge us. I would highly recommend the Villa Carolina over the Viceroy any day of the week. The customer service at the Viceroy was the worst I have ever encountered anywhere in the world (including Paris).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear redesq,

Thank you for providing your comments and it is unfortunate that you did not stay with us this visit at Viceroy Zihuatanejo. We strive to provide exceptional service and I was pleased we were able to refund your deposit.

Sincerely,
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I arrived on a Sunday and left the following Saturday. This was our first trip to Zihuatanejo. We stayed in a Lagoon Suite that had a plunge pool. It was a great view and really quiet. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was great. The service there was amazing. The bartenders were great. Juan was one of our favorites. The Basil Essence drink was something we enjoyed. We did not do any activities, just sat around on the beach and drank and swam in the pools and ocean. Food was good too, the fish is amazing since its so fresh. We battled some stomach issues our last day, but it was still a great trip! We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: The lagoon and garden suites are quiet and gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Chuck J

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !!

Thank you for choosing us to spend your honeymoon. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Else we know that in you we have new friends’ thanks a lot for that and for your preference.

Gracias,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I loved this place. The staff was friendly, the food was always very good, the rooms are great, ...the public beach was ok, but I still just loved it.
I had no issues with cleanliness as others report. I even had a massage in my room which was heavenly!
All i can say is, I spent only 4 nights there and that was not long enough!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a plunge pool - you will not regret it! AND DO NOT LEAVE WITHOUT HAVIN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Inspecterwilson,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

Thank you for providing your comments regarding your recent stay at Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

I am very glad to learn that you enjoy the hotel, was a pleasure to have had you with us. Do not stop visit us please.

Again, gracias and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.


Sincerely

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a seven night stay at the Viceroy. This was our fourth trip to Mexico, but the first to Zihuatenejo. Getting off the plane was so much more pleasant than our other Mexico trips because the Ixtapa airport is pretty small and therefore there wasn't a huge wait at customs or a ton of people harassing us in the terminal. There was someone holding up a sign for the Viceroy and they immediately helped us into a cab and for a small fee had the cab fare added to our bill. It made us feel much more comfortable than when we usually arrive in Mexico and are a little confused about where to go and which cab to get into.

At the hotel we were immediately greeted by Fabian with cold towels to cool us down and he took us on a quick tour of the resort. We booked a Lagoon Suite and I called ahead of time to ask about one on the second level because I heard they were more private...unfortunately Fabian confirmed what they had told me on the phone...these were all reserved. But Fabian said he would check to see if we could switch rooms during our stay.

When we arrived at the room, we were pleasantly surprised by the privacy. We stayed in LS16 which is on the end and so there was nobody to the left of us. The pool on the patio is surrounded pretty well by trees and foliage. But we could see the pool to the right of us pretty well so were still interested in moving upstairs. The room itself was very nice and comfortable.
After two nights in this room we were a little bothered by the people next door because they smoked. Fabian let us know that a room opened up right above us (which was good because it was still on the end...LS18). We walked in and were blown away by the terrace. It was much larger than the one below and had a separate balcony area along with an outdoor couch and a bed near the pool (in the room below that couch was inside the room instead of on the terrace). The only downside was that this room had two double beds instead of a king bed. But we decided that the terrace made it worth it.

The food was absolutely delicious and the seafood was so fresh! Carlos, Orlando and Jorge gave us outstanding service at dinner each night. One night we did a private dinner on the beach...they set up torches and a fire pit and had music playing as well as a lovely floral arrangement on the table. It was really nice...but quite honestly you can get a relatively private dinner on the beach anytime because they are so accommodating.

Marco at the bar also gave us excellent service.

We got massages at the spa, which were nice. The spa is pretty small because the resort itself is not that large so there weren't a lot of spa facilities to enjoy.

The beach that this resort is on is the best beach I have ever been to in my entire life. The temperature of the water was always warm and the ocean floor was so clean...no seaweed, rocks or fish...just sand under your feet. We spend a lot of time in the ocean water...which is unusual for me.

I didn't think the common pools at the resort were that fabulous so it's definitely worth it to get the lagoon suite and have your own private plunge pool to relax in. The beach suites have private pools too and I'm sure the view is lovely...but you don't get much privacy or peace and quiet with those because there are people all around the beaches and the restaurants.

We would definitely recommend Viceroy to anyone looking for a romantic getaway and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear BlDaSt

Warmest Greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

I want to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment about your experience at our resort.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and please rest assured that we will look into your recommendations as we wish to continue providing the service that we are recognized for.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you decide to return.

Sincerely,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 7 nights at The Viceroy and enjoyed every minute. Our lagoon suite was spacious and comfortable (and cool). The staff was incredible. Our favorite activities on-site were Tequila Tasting (we thought we knew tequila) and a private on site Cooking Class with the Chef on the beach. It was AMAZING. The resort was AMAZING. The weather was a little warm in July but with our plunge pool and climate control in the rooms it was not nearly as warm as we were expecting and still quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Lagoon Suites we Incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear WldTrvlDuo

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !!

I appreciate your feedback especially in such a positive and constructive way you did. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Else we know that in you we have new friends’ thanks a lot for that and for your preference.

Please contact me if there is anything you need.

Gracias,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at the Viceroy Zihuatanejo and thought it was one of the best beach holidays we have had. We usually only stay 7 days at somewhere like this but it was so lovely it wasn't to long. The standard of the food was amazing and the staff the best of anywhere we have been. The beach was lovely and although it was rainy season we didn't have rain anytime during the day.There are also some other nice hotels to eat at which are within walking distance. We don't usually return to somewhere once we've been but I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hola Dear Tommy and Anne,

I’m glad to know that your vacations have been enjoyable we will ensure that each time you return to our piece of paradise will be even better.

Thanks for your preference and we forward to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Carlos Blanco
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Address: Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880 , Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Zihuatanejo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Viceroy Zihuatanejo. 46 Guestrooms and suites afford stunning garden and ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican-Pacific cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Zihuatanejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.