We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Pool Rooms ..... Do it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Que Canta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa Que Canta to your Saves list
La Casa Que Canta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Colonia Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Private Pool Rooms ..... Do it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hotel is very nice. High end, great views, great service (speed/quality). I was hoping for a more personable staff. We meet 1 male server; 1 front desk girl and 1 room cleaner who had social skills and were very pleasant to chat with, share food options/choices and just happy to help. Most staff seemed bother by requests or didn't care for thee jobs. That said; we had a great time hanging in our room with the pool; patio and view....

Room Tip: Get a pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    20
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
238
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Spent my honeymoon at this awesome hotel March 31-April 9. The food was amazing and the service was terrific! I couln't have asked for a better trip. We had a room with a pool, I highly recommend spending the extra money for it, it's worth it. This was definitely the best vacation I have ever had. The views were spectacular overlooking the bay. I have nothing bad to say about this place. I highly recommend if you are looking for a relaxing hotel with amazing views!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a lovely stay at La Casa Que Canta. I have been to many fine hotels and can not think of a negative thing to say about this one. The service is prompt and the staff is warm and friendly. Set in the Cliffs overlooking Playa del Ropa, the hotel has a magnificent view of the bay. I am told every room has a beautiful view.
Our room #15 Estrellita was a Grand Suite which translates to a room with a very large terrace with a couch, two lounge chairs and a sweet cafe table and chairs. The room itself was tastefully decorated with a view and small balcony. The bathroom area was the size of some Manhattan studio apartments. It included an oversized walk-in shower and plenty of counter space and double sinks. Again, all in excellent condition and tastefully decorated. Some of the rooms have plunge pools. There are also two exceptional infinity pools easily accessible one of which is sea water.
We loved the breakfast at the hotel and ate their often. The dinner service is beautiful.The food is very good but I believe could be even better with a menu adjustment. The Chef is talented.
One thing I especially liked is that we could both walk to the beach easily and to the town.
Our room was attended to twice a day. The evening maid service includes an amazing fresh flower design on our bedspread. We used the spa once and would use again.
I can't say enough good things about La Case Que Canta and would love to be there right now!
Ps. Although I love children I also enjoyed not having young screaming children around. I was looking for peace and relaxation. Children under 16 can not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Overdue review from stay in beginning of February: Just beautiful hotel and amazing view from lovely, clean and spacious room. Terrace was spectacular, with outdoor living area, loungers and wrought iron table and chairs. Very comfortable bed! Huge bathroom. Room service costs were very reasonable. Never felt like being gouged. Staff was very friendly and in particular, Irving, Laura and Nacho were so helpful and kind. Incredible pools, lovely restaurant. Food very good. Could use a better wine list and some food missteps, but overall just lovely and lovely, special views... Would be nice if they had a couple of complimentary items in morning and perhaps afternoon, besides the morning coffee and cookies, and would like a hand held shower sprayer, but otherwise, truly special boutique hotel in excellent location near beach and not far from town. I am hoping to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I must start by saying we were not guests of the hotel, though we have stayed there. My husband and I always stop by Casa que Canta when we are in Zihuat for a week, typically for dinner or just a drink at sunset. Boy were we surprised when we were ushered into a small, uninspired, and unattended bar off the lobby for our drink, as opposed to the main bar where we have gone many times before. It was during low season when occupancy could not have been high. We even mentioned we had come many times, even as hotel guests, but they could have cared less. We walked out and enjoyed a sunset drink at Kau Kan instead.
I do understand keeping privacy for hotel guests, but they do that during the day - can we not have a drink near them in the evening? I think they are missing a marketing opportunity by not allowing visitors to see their gorgeous grounds, the beautiful pool and some more of the property. Don't they want to sell more rooms?

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan cosala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Olga L and Bernie G stayed and enjoyed a world class vacation. The service and hospitality is impeccable. Food is gourmet. Grounds are breathtaking and interesting in every aspect.
Staff is friendly and courteous. Suites are large and have all the right amenities. Views are romantic and harbor is spectacular.Only a stay at this magnificent hotel can justify a review. Totally excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We did not use any AC as the breeze off the bay was enough to keep us comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

After spending a week at this resort, I now understand why it receives such positive press and high marks across the board. We are so glad that we chose to stay here rather than at Capella in Ixtapa. Don't let the website dissuade you — it truly doesn't do this place justice.

The architecture of the buildings and resort grounds are stunning, as are the views from every point. The resort has an authentic Mexican charm to it that is very special. My husband and I thought the service and food were exceptional and absolutely loved our room with a private infinity pool. We'd recommend booking the master pool suites in the Luna building. They offer the most privacy and fabulous views of the bay, town and hillside (and sunset, too). Illuminated at night, the view is spectacular. We had a chance to check out the owner's suite, which offers 360-degree views and is amazing as well. The only thing we didn't like about it is that the private pool on the terrace is fully covered and doesn't get direct sun.

The staff went above and beyond to make our experience special and never missed a beat. The chef, Antonio, often prepared special dinners for us that were not featured on the menu. Anything you need — just ask. Special thanks to Isabel, Luis, Francisco, Caser, Pavel, Tony, Fredi and Elion for making our vacation so memorable.

We were among only a handful of couples at the resort, so had the place to ourselves. Even during peak season, I can't imagine that it would ever feel crowded. If you are looking for a quiet, serene and romantic getaway in a unique resort, look no further.

Room Tip: Infinity pool master suites in the Luna building are excellent. Huge space (mostly outdoors — half c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa Que Canta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Que Canta

Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Colonia Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Casa Que Canta 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Que Canta is a small hotel with essence, a history and a personality of its own; a true tropical paradise. Located on a promontory in the middle of Zihuatanejo Bay next to the beautiful La Ropa beach, this hotel offers unrivaled panoramic views. Built with adobe bricks, palapas and tropical woods, the unique architecture of La Casa Que Canta is an icon on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. Its 25 ample suites, spread out among three buildings, all have spacious terraces and 180-degree views overlooking the bay. In this peaceful and refined world, attentive to the passage of time, we have created a universe with attention to details and with the uttermost respect for our guests and their well being. Loyal visitors tell us that each time they arrive at La Casa Que Canta, is like returning to a beloved family. Since our opening 23 years ago, we are proud to be amongst the best Boutique Hotels of the World. Our pursuit of constant improvement and excellent service has granted us multiple awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Casa Que Canta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo
Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Que Canta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.