We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Que Canta

Save Saved
You added La Casa Que Canta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Casa Que Canta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Colonia Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 79 hotels in Zihuatanejo
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was here for a a wedding and it's the most peaceful and relaxing place where the natural beauty around you is matched by the accommodations. The staff is 100% on point with taking care of you in every way. A perfect spot for a romantic getaway where you can turn off from everything else in the world. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get one with one of the pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    17
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
198
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I simply cannot imagine a more perfect spot to spend quality R&R time than La Casa Que Canta. It was chosen as our New Year's getaway by my daughter and son-in-law, who had spent several days there last Spring, and lived up to their rave reviews in every aspect. The attention-to-detail is beyond the beyond -- even to fresh flowers tucked into the toilet paper rolls!!! Because it is situated on a steep cliff on the bay it is not for those with serious knee issues, although I would suggest requesting Suite 3, which is located in the middle of the cliff, hence shorter climb up to Reception and shorter descent to pools and dining. The suite is huge, airy and luxurious. I'm not on the "young side" and I got along FINE! Indeed, we were treated like family and called by name from the moment we arrived; the staff is welcoming, warm and TIRELESS. La Casa que Canta, in my opinion, deserves a special star by its name.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I just returned from 10 days at this wonderful resort. This was our 4th visit over the past 6 years and we shall return every year without fail, that`s how magnificent it is.
The property and setting is absolutely fabulous. It is on a steep cliff overlooking the bay entering Zihuatanejo from the Pacific and facing the unbelievable sunsets. The attention for detail is unmatched. The rooms/ suites are all individually unique, comfortable and nicely appointed, some come with splash pools The quality and class of people who work there is of the highest. They treat you like family and like it is your second home which for us it is becoming.
The food and water quality is equivalent to a high end Mexican restaurant in the US. The wine list is limited and fairly simple, but offers enough to please if one ventures beyond cervezas and magaritas. The chef, Antonio, has been there for a few years and is charming, friendly and quite creative and superb. We chose to eat all meals at the resort, it`s that good and varied.
Did I say the service and personnel is the best? It is from the front desk, to the maids to the severs at all meals to the maintenance crews and on.
This is for couples and individuals wanting class, elegance and quality in a romantic setting. The only downside is that the loud, amplified music that comes across the bay from the town can render sleep to be impossible on some nights. There are no ear plugs that can drown out this high decibel sound. Other than that, it is only the sound of the ocean.
Great spa; great workout gym all with up to date equipment.
The best beach in the entire area is short 1/2 block walk down the back of the resort and offers a mile long walk, decent snorkeling and easy, waveless swimming.
There simply is no better place in all of Mexico IMHO including resorts in Baja, Puerto Vallarta and others and we`ve been to many.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with views. There are 3 different price ranges and each room has something uniq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Although we stayed at another resort on Playa La Ropa, we had drinks and ate at La Casa Que Canta one night. I have to say this is a first class resort for honeymoon couples, young romantics and athletic individuals as there are many many steps and levels to the resort. Our experience was limited to the bar and the restaurant. The service and ambience of the bar above the restaurant was outstanding and the view was breathtaking overlooking Zihuatanejo Bay. The meal at the restaurant was the best meal we had all week in Zijuatanejo. It was beautifully presented and of great flavor. The service again was outstanding. Our table was at the edge of the restaurant again overlooking the bay. When we return to Zihuatanejo we will definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I have been to Zihuat 5 times and this hotel absolutely sets the standard for all other luxury hotels. Although there are "bargains" hotels out there, you can not beat the location of this property. It only has 25 rooms, 12 of which have pools ensuite. The upper infinity pool is normally chlorinated while they have a saltwater pool and jacuzzi down on the water. We spent a week here and could not find fault with any part of the service or facility. This property celebrates its 20 anniversary this year in December.

If you want to stay at the property by which all others are judged and copied, just book your room here and enjoy. The property is not for children.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few dollars and stay in a room with an infinity pool in the room..It is worth every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our fourth trip to La Casa Que Canta was fantastic. Beautiful architecture and design, calm vibe, tremendous service and all of the privacy that we required. The staff in both attentive and respectful of your privacy. The spa staff was first class. Our self described "retreat" was rejuvenating.

Room Tip: Mexico Lindo is our favorite room. Make sure you reserve a suite with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Service was great, room was superb and outstanding overall experience.....EVERYTHING was PERFECT!!!!!!!!!
Stayed on a Mariquita Linda, great suite, great view and excellent service.
Room service was also outstanding, airport pickup without any flaws.
One of the best places for a beach vacation!!!!!!

Room Tip: Suite with private pool was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa Que Canta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Que Canta

Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Colonia Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Casa Que Canta 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive you will discover an intimate, private and romantic hideaway on the ocean. From almost every angle full panoramic views of the bay, and the picturesque, peaceful fishing village of Zihuatanejo will enchant you. A swim in our infinity pool is similar to a dream-like experience and our salt water pool on the ocean, surrounded by the rocks, is unique. Whether having room service or lunch and dinner at our restaurant, you will discover an endless array of flavors of our ur authentic Mexican cuisine. Y,For your perfect wedding or honeymoon, or that precious wedding nniversary, our dedicated staff awaits the opportunity to make it all so special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Casa Que Canta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo
Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Que Canta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.