We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Regret? Only One Visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patio Mexica

Patio Mexica
Adelita sqn. Sra de Remedios, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
755 554 3949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 244 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Only Regret? Only One Visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had our last meal in Zihua at Patio Mexica. I loved the Picaditas. They were warm, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. We let our server know we were in a bit of a hurry. The service was excellent. Picaditas, an omelet, and a couple of margaritas (our last meal!) came in around a mere $180 MXN!!!! I'm sorry we could not hang out here a little longer and I'm sorry we didn't get here until our last day!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solvang, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Group school”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Loved it! Did the market tour and trad. rellenos. Really a delight, learned quite a bit and had a lot of fun!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and learn to cook!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The restaurant is great, food is wonderful. I took two cooking classes from Monica, owner, and she is a gem! Would highly recommend her cooking classes!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Learning to make Tamales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My friends and I enrolled in Monica's Mexican cooking school for the third year. It was a delight, as usual. In her open air kitchen, shaded by large trees, she showed us how to make traditional banana leaved wrapped pork in red sauce tamales. We mixed the masa with the lard, dried the banana leaves over a small grill, wrapped our tamales filled with red sauce she had already prepared, and put them in a steamer. An hour later, after we took a taxi to El Centro to do a little shopping errand, we returned to Patio Mexica to chow down. It was delicious!! I ate four tamales.The meal was accompanied by ice cold traditional jamaica (hibiscus flower) juice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Monica is like your mom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I we had a wonderful experience at Monica's cooking class....is so genuine and authentic that it impossible to forget.
Our advice is to book in advance to have the chance to choose your favorite cooking class!
Un abrazo
Andrea & Rossella

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patio Mexica also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Patio Mexica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patio Mexica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.