We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Bistro del Mar

El Bistro del Mar
Playa Madera | Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
01 152 755 5542142
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 219 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a very pleasant evening at this Bistro on the beach. Our waiters were very attentive and well trained. Our grilled seafood meal was superb! Definitely would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Lovely views, nice food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Las Brisas del Mar and went downstairs to the bistro every morning for breakfast - admittedly not the cheapest option, but by far the prettiest and most convenient! The breakfast menu was very good with a wide range of Mexican and international options. Staff couldn't have been more attentive. This was true throughout the day when they also looked after us while we lounged at the Brisas beach next to the bistro. We also had a lovely and extremely tasty dinner there by full moon on our first night and wish we had had time to go back another night. Gracias Martín!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Beachfront, beautiful presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a lovely restaurant with very helpful staff. The menu is extensive and there should be something for any taste. Nice wine selection, beer OK as the selection is limited to 1 Mexican supplier. Complimentary tiny appetizer of cheese empanada was great as was the Mexican tomato, avocado and cheese salad. (Amazing plate presentation) Main course choices were extensive but we selected shrimp with mango salsa as many of the options including the shrimp special were served with mashed potatoes. Shrimp with good, salsa very flavorful...but too hot(i don't mean hot spicy)....and the meal came with mashed potatoes!! Overall very good ....but in a large city this would only rate a good. Price - about 440 pesos including drink, but no dessert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A good choice for Zihua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Six of us were going for dinner including two teens so we had to be careful in our choice. Four don't like spicy, and weren't ready for the local places my wife & I like. Bistro de Mar is located on Playa Madera, right on the beach and the place has a classy feel to it. Real wood tables and proper glasses and cutlery, as opposed to many of the places on La Ropa, with plastic tables, and mismatched everything. The prices are higher at Bistro, but you get what you pay for. The menu is extensive with a varied selection of seafood, meat and they had some specials - one was abalone, which is not offered many places. They have a reasonable wine list, and now they seem to keep them at a lower temp than in the past. We had a nice variety of dishes - salads, prawns, chicken mole. I loved the grilled eggplant with goat cheese I started with. My chicken mole was a bit stringy, but the flavour was good. Everyone was pleased with the service, food and location. It is more expensive than other restaurants in Zihua but certainly not the most, but the quality seemed better than on past visits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent service, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great little restaurant located at Las Brisas hotel. If you're getting tired of seafood, try one of their pizzas- served from noon to six every day. Everything else on the menu is also good. Great atmosphere on Playa la Madera.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bistro del Mar also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to El Bistro del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Bistro del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.