We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Paradise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Villa
Save
You added La Villa to your Saves list
Blvd Playa la Ropa | Colonia La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 59 Zihuatanejo B&B and Inns
Escondido, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slice of Paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for the first time and were absolutely entrhalled with everything. I have been to Zihuatanejo before but this was the first time for my friend to visit. I was thrilled to be able to walk through their doors and feel immediately like we were at home. We were instantly greeted by wonderful staff and offered a nice cool towel while we overlooked a breathtaking view and cool breeze. The staff was very attentive and assisted us with all of our needs and wants. This included simple things like wanting an extra spoon when they would bring us coffee and juice to our room every morning. They also suggested places to eat when our plans changed. Omar helped us to book our special activities and made sure we had the appropriate information and transportation in a timely manner, which included snorkeling/scuba diving with Carlo Scuba in Los Gatos Beach, spa treatment in Ixtapa, airport transportation along with many many more things we did during our stay that are just too many to list. Even on the days where we stayed by the pool and had drinks we were so relaxed and had everything we could want. The beach is a short walk that has several restaurants to enjoy. I would recommend La Villa for anyone who is looking to get away. We are already talking to our friends and family to take a trip there again next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie B, Owner at La Villa, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We are very pleased and happy that you enjoyed your stay at La Villa and are already telling friends and family about us. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

La Villa Zihuatanejo has got to be one of the best little hidden 'gems' of Zihuatanejo. We rented the entire hotel for our vow renewal, and installed our family: all were unanimous in absolutely loving the place. Not only is it serenely beautiful- fabulous gardens, inviting pool, each (squeaky-clean) room possessing unique and delightful features - but it's situated close to the beach (GREAT parasailing with Jorge & co, by the way!) and restaurants. I have to mention the staff, too. Headed by the magnificent Omar, they are charming, friendly, helpful, inobtrusive, and VERY efficient. I have never spent a stressful moment at La Villa.

This was our second visit, but it certainly won't be our last.....

Room Tip: They're all enchanting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Villa at the end of April. Upon arrival and introduction from Omar we were informed we were the only guests staying at the 7 room boutique hotel! The rooms, lounge areas and yard were immaculate. The gardens were absolutely gorgeous and meticulously picked and planted! We layed around the private pool in paradise (except for a few days of always-present construction in Mexico). The freshly squeezed OJ and coffee were nice to wake up to although we missed out on the small breakfast. There was a ktichen in the hotel but we were not allowed access. (Stove, mic, large fridge). The beach is only a few minutes away with many quick and easy breakfast places to stop in at for about $5 pp.
We slept most nights with our balcony doors open and could hear the ocean crashing. (There is no screen once you open the doors so we had a few mosquito visitors). Our room had A/C, a small bar fridge, no tv, large closet space, a mini safe. We stayed in room LV3 which was high enough to see the tops of the palm trees and the ocean. We watched the hummingbirds every morning.
Omar was excellent at recommending restaurants (Coconuts, Tamales Any, Mediteranio, Il Mare). Would definitely recommend this place to couples and couples travelling together. I believe there is only 1 bed per room. There is a winding staircase to get down to the pool area but no stairs to get to the beach! Many Zihua places have many stairs and steep hills to climb!!
Thanks again to Valerie and Larry!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie B, Owner at La Villa, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you for your stay and review of La Villa. Your time and comments are much appreciated. La Villa does have two loft suites garden/pool view with kitchens... Looking forward to welcoming you, your family & friends in the near future. Valerie & Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

La Villa is a small property within short walking distance of Playa La Ropa, which is by far the best beach in Zihua! The villa itself has a sparkling clean pool and well maintained garden which is nice to relax by. We stayed in the room at the very top which had a wonderful view of the bay, opening the shutters each morning to blue skies, ocean and palm trees. The town itself is a short bus ride away and buses pass by the door about every 15 minutes so you won't be waiting long! Make sure to check out the market in Zihua for a taste of the real Mexico! There was one major flaw to La Villa...the breakfast on the first two days consisted of sweet bread (which was not fresh), juice & coffee which, for me, was not good enough given the price of accommodation. We did make a couple of requests for fresh bread and a fruit plate and on the fourth day we did receive this but it was little bit of a let down that we had to ask twice. Overall though, it is a beautiful place located in the ideal spot to stay in Zihua.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Returned last week from a wonderful week at La Villa.

We had arrived from a 2 week stay in a condo in Ixtapa. This was a totally differant experience. La Villa is a beautiful Boutique Hotel with amazing gardens and views of the sea. We were given an upgrade upon our arrival which really suited our needs. I did not even realize until I looked at my contract the next day. This was brillant on Omar's part. We like to shop and eat in most nights and were able to do this with the full kitchen facilities.

Just a few steps and we were on our patio and a few more steps at the pool. Everything was mmaculate. The staff were very helpful and courteous. My husbands only minor complaint was that he could not watch the evening news on TV as there are no TV's in the rooms.

We were able to walk downtown , 20 minutes or the taxi stand was just down the street. 35 pesos to go into the center of the town, about 3 dollars. The beach, a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We did not want the bother of renting chairs so just walked bacfk and forth from the pool to the beach. Lots of restaurants on the beach. Better ones in the center. It was a great week, just sorry I was not there longer but there is always next year. Valerie and Larry were a charm to work with. This will now be our preferred way to travel. No more all inclusives for me.

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful. I choose the only one with a full kitchen. It was huge and gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was our second trip to La Villa and although I didn't think it was possible - it was better. Our whole family came along this time so Omar was kept busy making arrangements for deep sea fishing, horseback riding and dinners and plenty of his awesome Omargaritas!. I wish I could pick a favorite moment but that would be impossible. There are many resorts and beaches in the world - the people -Omar and staff at La Villa are what make this a truly exceptional place. They cater to your every need and make us feel like we are family not just a number. Good bye Superclubs and large hotels- if you want an exceptional , elegant, amazingly tranquil dreamy vacation LaVilla is the place. We'll be back next year again-I'm already reserving the dates!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

La Villa is an amazing place tucked away in beautiful Zihua. The property is beautiful, amazing sunset views over the pacific along with decorated grounds of tropical flowers, plants and trees, providing a feeling of true serenity. Omar is one of a kind, and him and rest of the staff go above and beyond to make your stay in Zihua spectacular. La Villa really captures the true warmth and culture that Zihuatanejo has to offer along with it's "tree-house" style rooms and constant outside air flow. You really could not ask for more! Can't wait to return for years and years to come.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa

Address: Blvd Playa la Ropa | Colonia La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
La Villa Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Hotel Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.