We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
105-3 Pulpito | Playa Los Muertos, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
+52 322 222 5225
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Palapa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 772 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Amapas
Description: La Palapa Restaurant combines gourmet cuisine, friendly service, and the tropical setting of Los Muertos Beach to achieve the perfect balance between fine dining and the warmth and charm characteristic of Puerto Vallarta Mexico. Located on Playa Los Muertos in the heart of the Romantic Zone, this popular restaurant is one of Vallarta's favorite places to enjoy great food in a casually elegant atmosphere. At La Palapa Restaurant you will discover all of the ingredients to a perfect dining experience - a relaxed atmosphere, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous food. No matter what the occassion, from breakfast with business associates or lunch with friends to a romantic dinner for two, La Palapa defines fine dining in Puerto Vallarta.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Have not been to Puerto Vallarta in 20 years and it has changed dramatically. But La palapa has not changed,its still fantastic.

Its been here since before Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton put PV on the map in Night of the Iguana.

It was so good we went there for dinner twice and we were only there for three nights.all food was outstanding ,service was better the first night than the second .Be sure to have the flaming coffee,its $15 but worth it(see the pictures).

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,458
    336
    120
    47
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast and everything else!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I came to PV and ate almost every meal at la palapa! Seriously their breakfasts are amazing I ordered the same thing 2 days in a row and so did my friend. We go the huevos rancheros and huguos palapa. So delicious I'm still wishing I was there to dig my toes in the sand for the best breakfasts, lunches and dinners of my life. I had the most amazing servers and on the last day of vacation I felt like they were family. Thanks so much to Ponciano and Jorge and Capitan Julian for helping us have the most amazing vacation, answering all of our travel questions and for making us so at home in your beautiful restaurant on the beach! We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch Town, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I love this restaurant! I usually eat here several times during my annual visit to Puerto Vallarta, and I can't say enough good things about it. Every meal I have had here has been great but breakfast is my favorite. I don't know how to adequately describe the experience of having a leisurely late breakfast in the open-air dining room or under a palalpa just steps off of Banderas Bay, with the activity of the beach and the beautiful scenery all around. The food is wonderful. The staff is so professional and courteous. And the restaurant is beautiful - tropical and cozy. Great location right on Playa Los Muertos in the romantic zone near the new pier. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, late drinks with live music in the bar...La Palapa never disapoints!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beach Chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Excellent service...Jorge, Ponciano, and Jairome, just to name a few.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner...ENJOYED THEM ALL.

Best restaurant on the beach in Puerto Vallarta Mexico

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceano, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

A great experience!!!! Thank you to ALL! This is the best restaurant in Puerto Vallarta!!!!! THANK YOU!!Ponciano is a great waiter!! Thank you Ponciano!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.