We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Jack's Fish Shack

Joe Jack's Fish Shack
Basilio Badillo 212, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
+52 322 222 2099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 735 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Fun, casual place with an obvious emphasis on seafood and an eclectic mix of great cocktails.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visit this restaurant several times every time we visit Puerto Vallarta. They have wonderful fish and chips with an all-you-can eat special on Fridays. They have 2 for 1 Mojitos every afternoon with a variety to choose from. They also have great cheeseburgers and they have a special price on Wednesdays. The serve a plate of complimentary raw vegetables before the meal and they give you a cold damp hand-towel along with your menu which is great on a summer afternoon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    361
    90
    35
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cluster What?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As much as I try to stay away from the ex pat hangouts, I decided to give this one a try for lunch the other day, due to a special they had an offer that made me decide it was worth a try.

As I entered the restaurant, I was met by a waitress who asked me if I had a preference as to where I wished to be seated. I requested the roof top dining that I had notice existed as I walked down the street toward the restaurant. She looked at me hesitantly and said, it's a lot cooler down here. Being hot, tired and hungry from running errands I asked, what do you suggest? She sat me down at a small table against the wall across from the bar with a "great" view of the kitchen and wait staff. But it was cooler than the street.

As I looked at the menu, I noticed the waitress came down the stairs from above and walk to the front to someone waiting to be seated. She asked their preference and immediately took them up to the top level. Then I realized the other waitress just wanted me to "stack" her area for greater tip possibilities.

I ordered a shot of Don Julio with a big glass of ice water to regroup and relax and could be trusted to be good.

There were a couple of items that sounded good on a hot day. I decided to try the house guzpacho to start. After about 10 minutes, the gazpacho arrived -- over-salted and tasting of overpowering BBQ sauce, more fit for ribs than a refreshing summer guzpacho. So to combat the salt, I ultimately got the waitresses attention and asked if she might bring me some tostados, or possibly bread. When I got this blank look from her, I added, or maybe crackers. She returned with "salt"ine crackers.

About that time, there was a loud crash as something landed from the upper level onto the stairs below. Luckily it wasn't a person. So, while I tried to finish most of the BBQ gazpacho, my dining entertainment was to watch buckets of water being thrown on the walls and stairs as they "barn" style cleaned up what looked to be huge quantities of BBQ sauce and proceed to swept it into the KITCHEN. Needless to say, I was not ready for a next course.

I cannot remember a restaurant I left more rapidly than this one.

Thank goodness for the special offer! I was happy to consider it a small price to pay to learn that Joe Jack's wasn't worth a second try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huacho, Owner at Joe Jack's Fish Shack, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for you visit and review CMartell. I sincerely apologize that your visit was less than perfect as we strive for stellar service with every visit.

Please know that we always recommend sitting downstairs during the summer (if seating is available) as it is definitely much cooler, even at night. It is unfortunate that there was an accident during your visit but, again, we apologize for letting you down. Hopefully you can make it back soon to give us another shot.

Cheers,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger in Town, but more than a hamburger joynt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Super prepared food in a casual setting, I love the Gaspecho (mispelled) Mary! I have one a Joe Jack's every trip. Fish n Chips like your in London! Fish Filet your dinner and lunch the next day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Awesome place to drink and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Centrally located in the old town. Great upstairs terrace area. Happy hour is a must, best drinks in town. Tuna Pokey is really really good. Perfect at happy hour. Staff are really amazing and food is very good. Upstairs on a balmy late afternoon is the perfect place to be. Can get crowded later kn evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had the red snapper and my kids had the fish and chips.
Sat upstairs and really enjoyed the old R & B tunes that played on the music system. The owner (Joe) was seated right next to us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Jack's Fish Shack also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Joe Jack's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Jack's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.