We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe des Artistes

Cafe des Artistes
Guadalupe Sanchez 740 - Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
+52 322 222 3228
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe des Artistes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Josefa Ortiz de Dominguez and Leona Vicario
Description: Place in and old house at downtown Puerto Vallarta, Café des Artistes, with 20 years of experience, oers exclusiveness, elegance and comfort in outstanding natural surroundings, that are adorn by the exquisite menu; carefully created under the direction of the acclaim Chef Thierry Blouet.“At Café des Artistes, every dish is an artmasterpiece; and every art masterpiece feedsthe spirit…”Mexican writer Carlos Fuentes
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
“The ultimate dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

It doesnt get better than when one has not only a perfect dining experience, which of course includes impeccable service, mouth watering cuisine served in such a unique style but on top of all that sitting only meters away from the waves gently crashing at your feet, the sunsetting and and an acoustic guitar romantically serenading you. This was our experience when my wife and I dined there in the evening and returned to have lunch the very next day. We travel pretty often and this might very well be one of our favorite places in the world. Special thanks for the excellent service during dinner to Josue and Cristian and to Alan and Osmar for pampering us on the beach the next day! Alan made sure we were always in the shade and a cool drink in our hands. Thanks to the entire Des Artiste Team!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,169
    152
    63
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Treasure Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dining at Cafe des Artistes was a wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Everything about it is a wonderful experience from the beautiful restaurant to the gourmet food to the impeccable service. Efrain and Raul took such good care of us. They brought us a gift appetizer from the chef followed by our soup and salad. The bread basket was warm and wonderful including the hand made breadsticks. My sea bass was amazing as was my sister's poblano stuffed chicken. Desserts were also impressive. They celebrated a birthday with real style. From the hostess on down everyone was gracious and accommodating. The pianist and violinist made beautiful music together. Can you tell I really liked this place? I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food is OK, but overpriced. Service is too slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Went during Easter, which was a mistake because they were very crowded. Took 2.5 hours to do a 3 course meal. Anyway, we enjoyed the meal, except for the person who ordered the Vegetarian prixe fixe meal. The Vegetarian meal was pretty bad. Food is OK, but did not justify the high price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elegant and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful presentation and excellent food. The 5 course tasting menu is a delight. Whether you sit in air conditioned comfort or up in the trees, you can't go wrong. Expect to pay more, but well worth it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The place is beautiful, excellent service, excellent atmosphere, however if you are looking to get full with dinner is not the place you are looking for. Is a little bit overpriced. I recommend this place if you are celebrating any special date.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe des Artistes also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cafe des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe des Artistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.