We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe des Artistes

Cafe des Artistes
Guadalupe Sanchez 740 Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
52 322 222-3228
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe des Artistes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Josefa Ortiz de Dominguez and Leona Vicario
Description: Place in and old house at downtown Puerto Vallarta, Café des Artistes, with 20 years of experience, oers exclusiveness, elegance and comfort in outstanding natural surroundings, that are adorn by the exquisite menu; carefully created under the direction of the acclaim Chef Thierry Blouet.“At Café des Artistes, every dish is an artmasterpiece; and every art masterpiece feedsthe spirit…”Mexican writer Carlos Fuentes
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Romantic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you have a special occasion to celebrate this is the restaurant for you!!! The food is beyond excellant, is almost to beautiful to eat!! It is a bit pricey but worth every dime!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_des_Artistes, Owner at Cafe des Artistes, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hola Ana,

I hope you are fine… Are still here a PVR or are you back home at Omaha, Nebraska?

Thank you so much for recommend Café des Artistes as a better than excellent restaurant to celebrate any special occasion…

We look forward to have you again with us soon.

Have a great day, always!

Thierry Blouet
Chef-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    760
    115
    53
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Garden Settign on second level”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We go back here frequently. In walking distance from the centre, but get directions. Very well prepared food; eclectic mix. Good for a larger group, but need to reserve.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_des_Artistes, Owner at Cafe des Artistes, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hello Benny,

Thank you so much for share your comment with me and trip advisor community. Also, thank you for your recommendation words about our outdoor garden and food.

When will you visit us again? It’s almost a year; let me know, this way one of our chefs will prepare a special dinner for you and your group in a VIP reserved table at the Garden…

I look forward to hear from you.

Warmest regards,
Thierry Blouet
Chef-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most beautiful restaurant ever with fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Beautiful space with indoor and outdoor seating.Very beautiful and gourmet food. Wine prices are high but outstanding food and service. They also have a great tapas restaurantup stairs with an open kitchen.Unbeleiveable!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_des_Artistes, Owner at Cafe des Artistes, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Good afternoon my friend,

Thank you so much for taking a time to share your comment with us and tripadvisor… I think, you could catch the essence of each space and food. Great summary; the most that I like was the UNBELIEVEABLE at the end…

Please, let me know when you visit us again, I would like to meet you, give you a tour in the restaurant and talk to you, the details of every space. In addition, I would like that one our chefs cook for you and our General Manager, Polo Tovar, give the personal service for your table.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Warmest regards,
Thierry Blouet
Chef-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our third visit to Cafe des Artistes and it gets better every time we go! Definitely make a reservation and sit on the patio. It is stunning at night. Everything on the menu is great. You can't make a mistake. We have had the lamb, the tuna, mahi mahi, the tequila shrimp flambed tableside. Everything was outstanding. And considering the quality, the prices are very reasonable by U.S. standards. One of our favorite places in Puerto Vallarta!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our favourite night in PV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a wonderful evening at Cafe des Artistes. It came recommended by an ex-pat friend of ours living here and we had no idea how beautiful the surroundings were going to be. Every room at this large space was unique and exquisite. The food was very good but the ambience was what made it for us. We enjoyed the cigar lounge very much, a stunning little room perfect for relaxing and laughing after dinner. World class!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_des_Artistes, Owner at Cafe des Artistes, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hello Jillian,

I’m so happy for the wonderful evening that you had at Café des Artistes… For your words, I can figure out that you had dinner at Thierry Blouet Cocina de Autor, our small restaurant inside of Café des Artistes, with open kitchen, small inside-garden, terrace, cigar room, etc., the jewel of Café des Artistes.

This restaurant is the one, I like more. Every space, decoration, dish, etc., were intentionally planned. It’s a pleasure that you enjoy my place… Please, let me know when you will fly again from Canada to Puerto Vallarta, I would like to meet you and create a dish for you.

I look forward to hear from you.

Warmest regards,
Thierry Blouet
Chef-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe des Artistes also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cafe des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe des Artistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.