We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual but for the money, location and service, what a find...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Olivia

Save Saved
You added Villa Olivia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Olivia
Amapas 329 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the usual but for the money, location and service, what a find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This block of small self-catering apartments is in a nicely tucked away part of PV, although it does not take too long to get to all the places you might want to visit, especially the gay bits.

Clean, tidy with a friendly landlady with good and reasonable rates. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This would have to be one of the most relaxing places that I have ever stayed. The sound of crashing waves lulled me to sleep every night and greeted me for my morning coffee on the balcony. The hosts seem to have thought of everything before it was needed, from the extensive library of books and maps to the well-equiped kitchen. I stayed on the 7th floor and the view was even better than it looked in the photographs. Breakfast is also offered and I highly recommend it. Villa Olivia is well worth the money and I would never stay anywhere else in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed for a week in Feb 2012 and just loved Villa Olivia! Our room (more like apt at 650 sf+ with huge balcony facing ocean) would be very hard to improve upon anywhere else regardless of what you are willing to pay. Fresh pot of coffee brought to us every morning, in time to listen to the surf...High ceilings, island kitchen,they even lent us a crib for the baby. There were a lot of facilities like pool, gym, sauna, library room, common area, etc. but we didn't really use them because our unit was so complete we either hung out there or went exploring in town.

Some people might find the little trek up the cobble-stoned street to get to VO from town a little challenging. It was a godsend as that was the closest to exercise we got all week: dragging an infant and a stroller up and down the hill three times a day was all the workout we needed to burn off margarita and cheese calories.

A little grocery store about 100m down the hill from the hotel and a local selling fruits off the back of his truck every day meant we got all the provisions we needed without having to go to town centre.

Last but not least, Denise our hostess made it impossible for us to find anything to complain about. After chatting with a few people who had average to horrible experiences at PV resorts, we knew we scored big in choosing Villa Olivia. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Villa Olivia is AMAZING.... I'm almost hesitant to write a review, for fear of everyone else finding out about this amazing gem... thereby booking up the entire villa for the next few years! ;)

Everything about the Villa is world-class (other than the price). The views are AMAZING and the hospitality is honest and friendly (the beautiful + friendly Denise, who stays on the ground floor will give you local tips on anything you might need to know).

Location Location Location!! This is situated in a nice, safe, quiet area of the Old Romantic part of town. Olivia is not where it's incredibly loud (like some parts of the Romantic Zone), but it is within spitting distance of all of the amazing PV nightlife, restaurants, and arts.

Villa Olivia is a must-stay for anyone traveling to PV!! We look forward to our next visit to PV, when we definitely hope to spend at Villa Olivia. We will recommend this place to every one of our friends who are even considering a visit to Mexico...
Madur + JT

p.s. the crashing waves were so loud + amazing to fall asleep to!! sunsets were GORGEOUS!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is our second winter (lucky us) at Villa Olivia. We're already booked for winter 2012-2013 for almost 5 months. And the truth is that you really can't check out, because when we leave to go back to North Carolina a part of our heart stays behind in Puerto Vallarta and at Villa Olivia. So what about this very special place that my wife and I have come to love. Family owned and managed ( and living on site), these are people who care about their "guests" and will go to every length to ensure that everyone's stay is a super pleasant one. The property is beautifully maintained, lovingly cared for and as neat and clean as anything one might find in a first rate place just about anywhere.
The location is terrific, an easy walk to many restaurants, the Malecon and those ever exciting Puerto Vallarta buses.. Need directions? Denise will whip out her handy city map and send you off on the right track. Want a restaurant suggestion? No problem. Every room at the Villa has its own unique personality, many with kitchenettes...stove, fridge, microwave, etc., and the views from the balconies are breathtaking with some of the most amazing sunsets imagineable. So let me recap....great place, great staff, great service but most important to us, the kind, caring people who own and manage this wonderful place and have become part of our lives.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend were travelling to Mexico for the very first time and were lucky to stumble upon Villa Olivia on the TripAdvisor! You never know who your contacting when booking a hotel online internationally. But after inquiring about booking, Simon quickly replied and helped with my travel plans. He was helpful and was able to answer all my questions promptly. Our hostess, Denise, was SO helpful. She recommended restaurants and overall made us feel very welcome and a part of the Villa Olivia family!

We were fortunate to basically have the Villa to ourselves during our stay. We booked in the 'off-season,' so there was only one other room booked to our knowledge. Made for a very private and romantic stay! Granted there was much construction during our stay which made for some loud and disturbing mornings, but it was out of their control. Just a consequence of visiting during the off-season.

The rooms were well adorned, and the view was AMAZING! The pictures on the site don't do this place justice. Coffee was brought to our room at our specified hour in the morning, which was very convenient. The room service did a spectacular job. Location was right on the southern edge of the romantic zone, but found everything in the area was in walking distance (beach, bars, restaurants, Municipal marketplace).

I would definitively recommend this place to any of my friends and would stay there again on our next trip to PV.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

As we start to pack to head back to springtime in Ohio after a four month stay at Villa Olivia, it is with mixed emotions! Yes, I am excited to reunite with my family and friends, but so very sad to leave my new family here in Villa Olivia! Denise, Mariette and Hubert, along with their entire family have truely made us feel at home here. The Villa is just beautiful and since we have been here so long, we have had the opportunity to check out all of the rooms. Each and every one is unique with fantastic views of the Bay and the gorgeous sunsets. We have seen many whales and dolphins along with parrots and other beautiful birds.
The staff here at Villa Olivia always have a smile and is ready to help in any way to make your stay perfect. Denise will make an excellant breakfast if you like, and Mariette, well in my opinion, there should be a new cookbook published, entitled " Favorite Recipies from Villa Olivia" ! A great Home away from Home . . . Villa Olivia . . . is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Olivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Olivia

Address: Amapas 329 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned villa offering personalized hospitality next to the beach and in the heart of town -- the Zona Romantica. Ideally located for people who love picturesque cobblestone streets, splashes of vivid colors while strolling through town. From your secluded balcony you can enjoy the soothing sound of ocean waves, breathtaking iridescent sunsets, and even the thrill of spotting migrating humpbacks during whale-watching season. Every morning, you are brought the choice of coffee or tea to your room while you make that oh-so-difficult decision of how to spend your day -- sipping tropical drinks under a beach palapa, going on a jungle canopy or ATV excursion, horse-back riding, golf, scuba diving, hiking along the river or swimming in the ocean waves. The choices are endless… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Olivia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Olivia Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Olivia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.