We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the highlights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Botanical Gardens

Vallarta Botanical Gardens
Carretera a Barra de Navidad Km. 24 | Cabo Corrientes, Puerto Vallarta 48447, Mexico
+52-322-223-6182
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vallarta Botanical Gardens was just selected by the Canadian Garden Tourism Coalition as one of the Top 10 Gardens worth traveling for in 2013. Vallarta's best vacation value- only $60 pesos entrance fee. Open 7 days a week from Dec 16th.-April. Closed Mondays May-Nov. Located on HWY 200 (The Palms to Pines Scenic Highway), just 30 minutes from Old Town. GETING HERE: To arrive on your own using public transportation, Please take the "El Tuito" bus at the corner of Aguacate and Carranza in the Romantic Zone. The bus will bring you to our entrance and back to Puerto Vallarta or you may take a taxi. LAST BUS TO PV IS AT 6. BE AT THE BUS STOP AT 6.WHAT YOU WILL EXPERIENCE: Orchid Conservatory, Tree Fern Grotto, Jungle Trails, Native Mexican Plant Collection, Palm Collection, Tropical Fruit Trees, Bird Watching, Butterfly Gardens, Cool Sierra Madre Mountain Breezes, Mountain River Swimming, The Lost Mines of La Sierra Madre, ATV Tours, Gift Shop and Plant Sales, Tequila Tasting, Vallarta's most-popular destination restaurant, Hacienda de Oro, Famous for brick-oven pizza & Fine Mexican Food, dining in the mountains overlooking the river and the gardens!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
arlington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“one of the highlights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

One of the highlights of our trip to Puerto Vallarta were the Botanical Gardens. I've done Botanic gardens from Vancouver to Cape Town so I've actually seen better than this. They highly recommend (and will sell you) bug repelant which is probably a good idea although we really didn't seem to encounter to many insects. The best part of the tour is the restaurant! We had a great meal and fantastic service. The gardens themselves, at least what we saw, were more a collection of trails through a jungle-like area. It just seems like it needs to mature a little to become world class.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    233
    63
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A break from the hustle and bustle of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We took the bus, Tuito, out to the botanical gardens. The cost is only 20 pesos one way for a 25 minute ride. The gardens themselves have several hiking trails that vary from easy to difficult. If going on the more difficult trails you should have a good pair of running shoes or hiking boots. Sandals would be difficult as some of the trails are quite steep. All are relatively short.
There is a good variety of plants to be seen.
The restaurant is very good and we enjoyed our meal.
Be sure to bring bug spray or buy some at the ticket booth. You will get quite a few bites if you don't.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A relaxing get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very attractive, lots of butterflies, paths for every ability (going solo I covered them all in a couple of hours), a great meal at the end of the "trek". When you take the bus out (South) from Puerto Vallarta, suggest you sit on the right hand side of the bus so you can better see Los Arcos, homes, and beaches along the way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place is a 30 minute drive from downtown, but worth it. You can easily get a taxi to take you and then just take the city bus back. Enjoyed the ride out there too. There is also a restaurant there that was very good. The staff at the gardens were very knowledgeable and friendly. Very enjoyable day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant way to spend the morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I took the bus from Aguacate and Carranza to the Botanical Gardens @ 9:30 a.m. and arrived shortly after it opened at 10:00 a.m. I enjoyed seeing all the different trees and plants along the Vanilla trail (yes, there were vanilla trees), but the trail was a bit difficult for me. I am in pretty good shape, but the trail was very rustic and uneven. Thankgoodness there was a rail to hang on to most of the time. The Holstein orchid and vanilla conservatory located by the restaurant had much better speciments and you are able to get much closer to them then on the trails. Plus it wasn't as hot or humid as it was on the trail...... Enjoyed the morning, and did spray myself thoroughly with bug spray, so no problems with bugs. Had lunch at the Hacienda de Oro restaurant and enjoyed the view and the Hall of flowers ballroom.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallarta Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Vallarta Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.