We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun cabaret performances, friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm Cabaret and Bar

The Palm Cabaret and Bar
Olas Altas 508, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico (Formerly The Palm Video & Show Bar)
+52 322 222 0200
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Theaters, Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now in our 15th Season! Located on Olas Altas, Vallarta's most popular strip on the southside of town, The Palm Cabaret and Bar is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a great show and superb drinks and service. Vallarta's longest running and most eclectic cabaret! Everyone is welcome! Newly Remodeled with beautiful lighting and sound.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fun cabaret performances, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Attended two shows here in February on my first visit to PV and liked the idea of a cabaret bar that you would usually find in a bigger city.
Was sorry that I had just missed a Sondheim concert that I would have loved, but took in 2 shows while in town: saw Joanna the first night and a few nights later saw Leslie Jordan.
Leslie Jordan I found OK but not great, since he's more of an actor than a stand-up comic. Told some rambling, sometimes amusing stories.
But I loved Joanna, who gave a really fun show, interacting with the audience and doing some wickedly funny impressions of the likes of Cher (including one bit where she did both Sonny and Cher), Adele (eating cheezies), Alanis (hilarious bleating sheep-like sounds that eerily captured Alanis's actual singing style), Barbra Streisand and Neil Diamond, and, for the benefit of the Canadians in the audience, an amusing Anne Murray. She also interacted a lot with the audience and included some very funny audience-participation bits. Would definitely go back and see Joanna again if she's there again next time I'm in PV.
Ticket prices were very reasonable, waiters and the manager Manuel very nice and friendly, and the drinks good. To the previous poster who complained about two-drink minimums, this is common in just about every venue I've ever been that includes performances, and the information was there for all the shows on the website.
There was a fun, friendly atmosphere among the crowd, and I would definitely make a point of checking out the performance lineup the next time I'm in town. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    25
    3
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williston, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Should experience this place and the shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Saw Kim Kuzma and thoroughly enjoyed her show. Did not see her "unplugged" show. Maybe next year. Drinks and tickets reasonable with staff very accomodating. Nicely intimate small theater. Ms. Kuzma is a terrific singer and very entertaining.

2 nites later we went to a very different type of show with more of a gay theme. "Miss" Conception was the entertainer and was just a hoot. With around 100 folks in the theater....probably only 10 of us straight....don't go if you are uncomfortable around gay men. But, if you just want to be entertained....go and have some fun. Nothing quite like a drag queen show. Expand your horizons and do something different!!! 3 very straight couples from North Dakota had a blast!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

this place is great! drinks are reasonably priced, the staff is fantastic and we saw the Joanna show... outstanding! We continue to talk about it a few weeks later. One person performing as many of our favorite celebs!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great Place for Live Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

While in PV, I saw that Kim Kuzma (Vancouver, BC) had teamed with a local ensemble in performances at The Palm. It's a great local gem for live music in Olas Altas.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kim Kuzma has become 'UNPLUGGED'!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Last night Kim Kuzma gave her most 'fantabulous' closing rendition of her 'UNPLUGGED' Sunday night show that has been selling out at The Palm for the past two seasons. WOW???!!! So loved it... Have enjoyed her show many times; but I'm SOOOOO GLAD we were there for this experience!!! Including numbers they recently created, Kim rocked the house with new versions of old favourites like her awesome version of 'Somewhere Over the Rainbow', the Theme song from Skyfall (look out Adele!) and Kim's own 'Believe'. And her new rock and roll number ' Play That Funky Music (White Boy/Girl) featuring the guys in the band, who were AMAZING too! Don't miss out on this show next season!!!!! Another of the many reasons to include Puerto Vallarta in your vacation plans.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palm Cabaret and Bar also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to The Palm Cabaret and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm Cabaret and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.