We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great time at Casa Cupula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cupula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Cupula to your Saves list
Casa Cupula
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
“What a Great time at Casa Cupula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I just got off the plane from Puerto Vallarta Mexico and I have to say that I am very happy with my choice to stay at Casa Cupula. All the Art Deco style around the hotel made me feel right at home. I stayed there with my best friend and we got the double bed suite with a nice terrace which has a wonderfull view to the beach and the main pool. Also the Bathrrom shower was a dream! it was my favor place to refresh after a long day at the beach and sit with a cup of the tea to watch the sunset to read my book. The staff at Casa Cupula were professional and personable they made me feel not only as another guest but as a family member, from the owner to the maintanance staff always made sure our staying experience was an excellent one. Finally the location is the best in the romantic zone because it is close enough to everywhere you need to go while in Vallarta at a walking distance it is very safe to do so and if you taking a cab or need any advice Edwing, Jesus, Leo ,David or anyone in the staff will be rigth there to help you.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in Casa Cupula are good with plenty space and it depends what are you looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments. You will be pleased to know that your room is being completely renovated this summer to be even better!

We especially appreciate your comments about treating our guests as family. Because in a sense, we are! Many of our guests become friends and family and that's the spirit of Casa Cupula. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    52
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
157
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is our 5th stay at Casa Cupula in the last 2 years, each time is better than the last experience. We were also there 6 months ago for 2012 Christmas & New Years, we came back to Florida and booked and confirmed 2013 Christmas and New Year’s stay right away. Before raving about the service and food, the hotel alone is beautiful, perched on a hill with stunning views. The rooms are nicely appointed with all the amenities experienced travelers could want for a more than comfortable stay. We have stayed in 5 different rooms and have toured some of the other rooms as well. Most rooms are spacious. The gym is well equipped with cardio and weights. The food at TASTE is amazing, the breakfast, lunch and dinner are all delicious with beautiful presentation. What really sells me and makes it extra special for us is the hotel staff. From the front desk to housekeeping, they are very warm and friendly, they make it a point to remember your name. On different occasions, I observed their stellar hospitality with other guests as well, Kudos to the front desk namely, Edwin and Jesus who are both very helpful and always greeted every guest with a friendly smile. Edwin also made great restaurant suggestions in PV. Logan our concierge gave us great service as well, he made some great recommendations like our Canopy Tour Zip line Adventure at Nogalitos, that was an awesome experience in itself. Tina always took part of her busy time to talk with us and make sure we were happy. The staff at TASTE was always friendly helpful and knowledgeable. Kudos to everyone at TASTE, the chef and staff, especially Juan and Sabas, who always made us laugh. We are looking forward to going back in December; we have made friends with the staff and are excited to see them again in a few months.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Kind words from repeat guests are the most meaningful because they have the experience to know the property and staff and that we strive for a great experience every time. Thank you! We look forward to seeing you over the holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We chose Casa Cupula for our recent trip to Puerto Vallarta based on the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel and restaurant is a beautiful collection of buildings clinging to the side of a cliff overlooking Old Town Puerto Vallarta and the amazing Bay of Banderas. It's a short and easy walk down the hill to town, and the walk back to the hotel is not too bad or you can catch a cab for just a few dollars.

The staff was fantastic, always friendly and welcoming. As we headed out each night, Jesus and Edwin would provide great advice on places to eat and drink. Tina and Logan helped with a smooth arrival from the airport, checking in and out and planning a few excursions.

The restaurant was very nice, though we only had lunch there. The gym was very well equipped and the pool was small, but beautiful with chairs for lounging and servers to bring you drinks if you want.

Our room (the Lolita Suite) was large with a full kitchen, large seating area with television, king bed and a balcony that ran the whole length of the room. Unfortunately, there were holes in the screen doors that prevented us from taking full advantage of the great breeze. However, the view was so spectacular that we ended up spending a lot of time out there.

The bathroom was adequate, but could use updating. The tile shower was large, but there were a couple of the 1-inch square tiles were missing and the patch-up job on some of the others was more than obvious.

On the day we were checking out, another guest invited us to take a look at his room, also a king room. I have to say it was much nicer! Granted, we booked our room late, but there seems to be a great deal of difference between rooms.

Room Tip: I rated our room - the Lolita Suite - "Average" due to the need for repair to the screen d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Thanks to all the wonderful staff who made this vacation the most relaxing we have ever had. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful and so are all the great people who work so hard to make this hotel such a wonderful experience. We'll be back. This was our first visit to Vallarta and it won't be our last. Thanks again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week last Thanksgiving, and really enjoyed it. Fernando was our concierge for the week and he gave us nothing but top-notch advice. The entire staff was wonderfully warm and helpful. This is indeed more of a bed-and-breakfast, instead of a hotel, but what you get is a place with some personality. My partner didn't love the room we were given from the beginning, but after a respectful conversation with Fernando, he switched our reservation to a suite on the highest floor - at a minimal cost. The other reviewers who mentioned the distance to the beach and gay area are really right on - it is not more than a 10 minute walk, and not intimidating once you've done it. Pros - the staff, the gym, the views, and the fact no two rooms are exactly alike. We are a gay couple, but I noticed that all guests were treated extremely well and with consideration. Cons - not your typical "cookie cutter" hotel. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I chose Casa Cupula based on the website photos and glowing Trip Advisor reviews. While I was bit nervous about traveling to Mexico for safety reasons, I needn't have worried! PV and the entire Bay of Banderas area could not have exceeded my expectations more! Casa Cupula was magnificent in every way. We felt so well taken care of during our 9 nights there, that we are longing to return (and are planning to in 2014). The entire staff at Casa Cupula made us feel so special, and they really have created a magical atmosphere within this little slice of heaven nestled in the hills of PV. I must give a special thanks to Fernando and Edwin. They both took care of our every request whether it was restaurant or nightclub recommendations or booking excursions for us during the day. Fernando suggested ziplining and a whale watching cruise on the bay, both of which turned out to be highlights of our vacation. They upgraded us to a suite because they weren't completely booked when we checked in, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our room - the Greenbelt Junior Suite. It was spacious, plushly decorated, and had a nice terrace with a great view of the ocean. The color scheme was bright and Mexican - vibrant oranges and dark browns - the artwork was stunning, and the bathroom was a real treat. That rain forest shower head was FANTASTIC! Loved the L'Occitane amenities, too!! Lots to love here - from the rooftop infinity pool to the delicious cuisine of Taste Restaurant. What made the vacay extra special was all the other fun guys we met and hung around with while staying here. Casa Cupula is now our home away from home in PV!

I will say one thing about the location. If the location of Casa on the hillside a short distance away from Zona Romantica is at all giving you pause of whether or not to stay here, don't give it another thought. The road leading up to Casa's entrance can be a little offputting at first (thought it's really not that bad), but we found the tropical surroundings to be a big plus. It's extremely serene, there is a series of stairs that provides a bit of a shortcut when walking down the the clubs, restaurants, Old Town, and beach, and I was appreciative for the workout of walking back up the hill. It was a nice leg and cardio workout, and I opted to walk back up numerous times for the exercise benefit. That said, it was only a 10-minute walk down to the activity - hardly anything to complain about. The cab ride to and from was always an option - and only $5 one way.

Thanks again to everyone at Casa for making our stay so memorable. We are still - 6 months later - fondly remembering what an absolutely special time it was. We can't wait to return, hopefully in 2014 for our 10th anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The pros:
-Truly excellent service from everyone in the hotel.
-The restaurant is wonderful.
-The location is great-- a short walk to restaurants and the downtown area.

The cons:
-Room smelled like mold and was very dark.
-The property is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It's a little dated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cupula

Address: 129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cupula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cupula is one of the most luxurious boutique hotel resorts in the world, welcoming gay men, lesbians, and friends of our community. We offer the services of a five-star mainstream resort in four boutique properties: Casa Cupula, luxurious Villa Sevilla (great for groups), Private Residences and Owner's Villa. Gourmet food compliments four pools, a gym and sophisticated modern design. Located in Amapas, walking distance to gay beach clubs, nightlife, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Cupula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cupula Puerto Vallarta
Casa Cupula Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cupula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.