We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So wonderful we're already planning another trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cupula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Cupula to your Saves list
Casa Cupula
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So wonderful we're already planning another trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I chose Casa Cupula based on the website photos and glowing Trip Advisor reviews. While I was bit nervous about traveling to Mexico for safety reasons, I needn't have worried! PV and the entire Bay of Banderas area could not have exceeded my expectations more! Casa Cupula was magnificent in every way. We felt so well taken care of during our 9 nights there, that we are longing to return (and are planning to in 2014). The entire staff at Casa Cupula made us feel so special, and they really have created a magical atmosphere within this little slice of heaven nestled in the hills of PV. I must give a special thanks to Fernando and Edwin. They both took care of our every request whether it was restaurant or nightclub recommendations or booking excursions for us during the day. Fernando suggested ziplining and a whale watching cruise on the bay, both of which turned out to be highlights of our vacation. They upgraded us to a suite because they weren't completely booked when we checked in, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our room - the Greenbelt Junior Suite. It was spacious, plushly decorated, and had a nice terrace with a great view of the ocean. The color scheme was bright and Mexican - vibrant oranges and dark browns - the artwork was stunning, and the bathroom was a real treat. That rain forest shower head was FANTASTIC! Loved the L'Occitane amenities, too!! Lots to love here - from the rooftop infinity pool to the delicious cuisine of Taste Restaurant. What made the vacay extra special was all the other fun guys we met and hung around with while staying here. Casa Cupula is now our home away from home in PV!

I will say one thing about the location. If the location of Casa on the hillside a short distance away from Zona Romantica is at all giving you pause of whether or not to stay here, don't give it another thought. The road leading up to Casa's entrance can be a little offputting at first (thought it's really not that bad), but we found the tropical surroundings to be a big plus. It's extremely serene, there is a series of stairs that provides a bit of a shortcut when walking down the the clubs, restaurants, Old Town, and beach, and I was appreciative for the workout of walking back up the hill. It was a nice leg and cardio workout, and I opted to walk back up numerous times for the exercise benefit. That said, it was only a 10-minute walk down to the activity - hardly anything to complain about. The cab ride to and from was always an option - and only $5 one way.

Thanks again to everyone at Casa for making our stay so memorable. We are still - 6 months later - fondly remembering what an absolutely special time it was. We can't wait to return, hopefully in 2014 for our 10th anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    53
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
157
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The pros:
-Truly excellent service from everyone in the hotel.
-The restaurant is wonderful.
-The location is great-- a short walk to restaurants and the downtown area.

The cons:
-Room smelled like mold and was very dark.
-The property is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It's a little dated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time staying at this hotel. The staff was very welcoming & helpful. We stayed at this hotel after staying at Garza Blanca, and we wished that we would have spent our entire vacation at Casa Cupula.
The location is close to town. It is a short cab ride to center of town (a $5.00 cab ride), located in the romantic zone.
We wondered how we would be treated as a lesbian couple staying here. We were treated excellent. Outstanding service at poolside & restaurant. The food from their restaurant was yummy & delicious. It fit the name "Taste". We really enjoyed Victor's service. All the staff were great. Good drinks at reasonable prices.
This is a spanish style hotel that has been updated. The room was modest. It had a comfortable bed with soft sheets. Nice homey touches with flat screen tv & small refrigerator, hair dryer etc. plus large balcony with table over looking the city.
The pool was small. We enjoyed using the cabanas & the jacuzzi. We really loved staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had a great experience from the moment I checked in to the moment I was dropped off at the airport. The staff all were very welcoming and offered great suggestions of where to go and what to see/eat. Logan was a great help every day and Tina checked us in and was very welcoming and showed us around the property!

Room Tip: I'd highly recommend the Vista King suite and make sure you attend the Friday Night warm up par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My partner and I arrived at Casa Cupula on the Saturday before Easter. An quick chat with Tina assured us of an amazing week to follow. After careful check-in details were addressed, Tina showed us about the property, and finally to our suite. While unpacking we enjoyed guacamole, margaritas and a few Coronas. We spent the first evening at Taste, the restaurant on the property, and had a marvelous dinner served by attentive and pleasant waitstaff. Sunday morning, we arose early and made our way to town for an early breakfast, but found ourselves back to the Casa for the entire day, lounging about the beautiful pool, tended to Sabas, a fabulous and 'delicious' member of the Casa staff. Stay there on a Friday eve, and you'll understand the Delicious reference. The Cupula Suite, as well as the other rooms we were able to see, was very comfortable, incredibly spacious with a magnificent view. Every staff member with whom we interacted were delightful, and felt they were long-time friends by the end of our trip. Sunsets viewed from the infinity pool are not to be missed, as are the stars from the hot tub near the pool. The location up the hill from the beaches may seem daunting, but its an easy trek down (with hidden stairs/shortcuts to discover), and the trek up the hill is definitely worth the exercise (or a few pesos cab ride). We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Casa Cupula was as welcoming as staying in your own home! First, the resort is located on a hillside that overlooks the ocean. No matter where you are, you always have a view of the ocean. The rooms are beyond accommodating. We were upgraded to the Seville Suite, and we were amazed at the uniqueness and awesome beauty of the loft room. We even had access to a private dipping pool on a terrace. The restaurant Taste was spectacular with the variety of menu options. The best part was the very welcoming staff in the resort. Every staff member was friendly and willing to accommodate your every need! The location was perfect, as it was close enough to the beach, Zona Romantica, and secluded enough for a quiet peaceful getaway! It was the perfect stay in a beautiful setting. Definitely worth a return trip!

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were great. The rooms underneath the restaurant said they heard noise in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went expecting to have a nice vacation in Puerto Vallarta. We left thinking this was one of the best vacations we have ever had. Everything was so easy. Logan and Tina were so helpful. Logan helped us to find a sunset cruise that was amazing. We had asked very last minute to go on a sunset cruise. He searched and searched everything was booked. He presented us with the idea of going on a private cruise on Ada Sailing. After some consideration we booked with another couple we met at Casa Cupula. It was the highlight of our trip, and a memory that will last forever. The staff at Casa Cupula met our every need and often gave us ideas or service that far exceeded any request. Thank you.

Room Tip: Get the King Vista Suite!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cupula

Address: 129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cupula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cupula is one of the most luxurious boutique hotel resorts in the world, welcoming gay men, lesbians, and friends of our community. We offer the services of a five-star mainstream resort in four boutique properties: Casa Cupula, luxurious Villa Sevilla (great for groups), Private Residences and Owner's Villa. Gourmet food compliments four pools, a gym and sophisticated modern design. Located in Amapas, walking distance to gay beach clubs, nightlife, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Cupula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cupula Puerto Vallarta
Casa Cupula Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cupula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.