We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cupula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Cupula to your Saves list
Casa Cupula
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gets better every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

These guys keep investing in the property and it shines through with an amazing experience. Great food. Wonderful events. Stylish accommodations. Attentive service. Gorgeous setting. And an easy walk to restaurants, clubs and beaches.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    53
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
157
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at this hotel. Even though we were only there for 1 night. All of the staff and the owner were extremely nice and welcoming. We were celebrating a friends birthday and he really enjoyed the hotel. I wish that we could have stayed at the hotel longer but we rented a villa where more friends were flying in the following day. Nothing negative to say about this hotel. I would stay again!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Casa Cupula is a very friendly, clean, quite hotel located in the hills above old town. There is not much one can add to the previous reviews. However the trip to the beach can be a bit of pain and does take a good 10 minutes. Keep in mind that you will need to make another round trip for happy hour and than again for dinner or clubing. This can get to be a bit much for some people and doesn't always make it easy for the last minute adventure. Room rates are high and if your are on a budget, this may not be the place. Taste restraunt is good but we could not tell much difference in size between a taste (appetizer) and a main entree. Sizes for the same thing can vary from table to table leaving one to wonder "WHAT HAPPENED" . Breakfast even with their coupon will still cost you as much as any restruant.... go figure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for the review! It's funny that some people find the walk to the beach at 4 blocks is horrible, nothing or somewhere in between...depends on your perspective. Many prefer our slightly secluded location where you can hear the birds singing.

Our "main" portions in Taste are almost exactly double the size of the Taste portions, and they are measured, so maybe an order was taken incorrectly...that's a good question!

Looked at from a positive point of view, many hotels charge upward of $25USD for a breakfast, especially when they are in town. If in the end you pick what you want and breakfast is the same cost as at other restaurants, for the convenience of schlepping downstairs in your slippers to eat, seems like a fair deal to us. If you're not on a discount rate plan, the breakfast coupon is sufficient for either a continental or full breakfast (suites).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Casa Cupula is well located near Zona Romantica, has a nice view & attentive service. It is nestled a bit on the hill, but within a 10-minute walk or short cab ride (40-50 pesos each way) to ZR. I agree with other reviews that the morning birds are quite loud, but not enough to complain about. It's definitely on my list to stay at again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks, and we look forward to your next visit. Over 90% of our guests say they would return, and about 2/3 of our guests are either returning guests or referrals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a very comfortable, beautiful place up in the hills a short walk from the beach. The comfortable bed, and quiet, gave me some truly great sleep, the pool outside my door exquisite, and the very friendly and attentive service throughout was top notch.

That said, there's a certain rustic quality to the place, maybe due to the humidity or the tropical location, but areas of paint rusting etc, leaves quickly clutter pool furnishings, a certain mustiness, etc all comes with the territory. I think they could do just a bit better job on patio area upkeep, as used beverage glasses often spent a day or two before being picked up.

Also, I stayed here as a single based on TA reviews, but I see Casa Cupula as more of a romantic retreat for couples. The single traveler might be better off closer to old town or the beach. The walk isn't that bad but it's the kind of walk you only want to do once per day. It's easier to the beach than to old town bar scene which involves walking along a busy highway with no sidewalk. Easy to get a taxi back at night though.

Finally, I agree with others that the idea of charging for the empty covered lounges around the main pool was just a turn off for me. I like nice, comfortable places, but please, include it in the room fee, why the extra charges, just makes the place feel stuffy and pretentious. Same with the breakfast coupons, which combined with $3 coffee etc means you'll pay as much as any other place, just a gimmick. The restaurant staff was great however!

Room Tip: Rooms in the villa have their own patio pool, beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for sharing, we are glad you got caught up on your sleep - that's what vacation is for!

It's true that leaves, birds, and a certain amount of humidity come with a jungle location, which causes rust and paint peeling from time to time. That's true of all Vallarta where salt air and humidity makes maintenance a huge job! On our last period of guest surveys, guests overall gave us a 4.65/5 rating for maintenance, so we're doing a pretty good job.

As for our luxury cabanas, different room rates get different benefits. In this day and age, where every hotel must compete to show the lowest rate on online booking sites, it is impossible to include everything (breakfasts, luxury cabanas) for free for everyone. It's the same reason airlines now charge extra for everything: add $10 to the price and the hotel gets pushed to page 25. The guest failed to note that our gym, along with many other amenities like luxury bathrobes, slippers, and bath amenities are included at no extra charge. If you get a specially discounted rate, it may be non-cancelable, pre-paid, or not include breakfast. Pay full price and those things are likely included - if you're not sure ask when you book by calling our toll free number. For any suite reserved in April, a free day in the Cabanas is included. We note that one major hotel in Vallarta charges $300 pesos a day for a cabana which is only a mattress with a curtain. Ours offer fans, furnishings, plugs for your iPhone, and upgraded towels and we only ask a minimum consumption at the pool for the day - a few drinks or lunch for two will do it. We don't think it is unfair that to use a facility that cost thousands of dollars to build (and more to maintain!) buying a few cocktails is too much to ask.

Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

So, this hotel is tucked up on a hill, but within reasonable (yes, nearly negligible) walking distance to the fun parts of the beach of PVR. Yes, it's a hill, but yes, you'll need the workout. I actually like the fact that it was up and away - quiet and breezy. Well, quiet, except for nature (those birds in the morning, I'm telling you, but heck, that's just the luscious trees around the hotel). I like heading down to the beach, walking past the stores, etc. This part of town is nice and the night life is good. During the day, we did both the Blue Chairs and Lido - recommend doing both at least once for a different perspective of 1) being jammed together vs. evenly spread-out and 2) having a bunch of guys around you, which is fun as we ended up talking to a lot of people, vs. having higher quality drinks and food.

So my party consisted of one gay couple and two non-gay couples =P. It's fine - don't be a prude and you'll be fine. The people are very friendly. The advice they offer is much appreciated - yes, if you're alone, late at night you should use a taxi. Keep in mind, this is a boutique hotel, so the front desk is not like the front desk at a larger hotel. You may have to wait a few minutes, but the view from that waiting area is great, and someone will find you within reason and will alert the appropriate parties to come help you. If you're trying to plan something, my suggestion is to do it the day before, or in the email exchanges they have with you prior to your trip. (Having the email exchanges prior to the trip was actually quite useful and gives that personal touch.)

The owner is nice, got to meet him (Don) at the Friday shindig and the Sunday Brunch. The brunch is awesome, by the way - we got the tucked away table on the veranda that had the bench seating. That was great and relaxing way to complete our stay.

The rooms are clean - the weekend we went was completely packed at the hotel, reservation wise. There were only three rooms available, each at a different price point. I chose the expensive one (which was about the mid/high on their range of rooms) - great room. Don't know how the others felt about their rooms, but I know that they loved the hotel, especially the available sitting areas. The hotel is a maze, which is kind of cool, because you have these nooks to relax in - they'll bring you a drink anywhere. The bathroom amenities are nice. The gym is bigger than the pictures on their website - it's clean, high ceilings - I was pleasantly surprised.

Oh, and sorry for the long review, this is the most important. i left my iphone while in a rush heading out to the beach. they found it and secured it. awesome.

Anywho, great experience, and would recommend this place to anyone who understands what gay-friendly means. and yes, straight couples on this trip had a great time too. Next time, we'll stay longer and add in a horse ride or something.

Room Tip: We had room 321 for the first two nights and then 301 (I think) for the last night. Both were compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optionsf, Owner at Casa Cupula, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it is really nice to see since your group had several different rooms.

We love organizing parties, events and get togethers for guests, so if you have a group and are interested in celebrating, just ask either reservations or the concierge!

We'd like to comment on one thing you said: Casa Cupula is a boutique hotel, not a huge facility with 100 rooms exactly alike. Like Puerto Vallarta, our property is unique, quirky, and personal. We actually return forgotten iPhones (3 in the last month, try that in another hotel), and take care of our guests personally. As that might take a moment, the receptionist or concierge on duty, or pool boy might be running around, but you'll be given that same attention promptly. It's a pleasure in this day of hotel kiosk check ins and fast food, that someone cares enough to cook what you want, bring it where you want, and help you plan your vacation the way you want...nothing cookie cutter here.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at Casa Cupula, and were completely blown away by this marvelous hillside slice of paradise. The facility is one block off the main Hwy 200, and about a 10 minute walk down to the beach. The hillside location offers spectacular views of both the sunset as well as the city below. Our room was clean and comfortable, but honestly we only used it for sleeping and showering, as there is so much to see and do outside the doors. Our private patio featured a large table and sofa, overlooking one of the swimming pools. The views from the patio were worth the price of the room all by themselves!
The on site restaurant, Taste, was wonderful. The Sunday brunch was a great bargain, and the food was uniformly excellent. Their outdoor patio is an excellent place to either start or conclude your day.
The other guests we met were all friendly. This place just seems to bring out the best in people.
Above all else, however, we felt treated like family by the owner, Don, and his excellent staff. They did everything to make our stay memorable. I can't speak highly enough of how friendly and helpful they were. By the time we checked out I considered them to be friends. We can't wait to return.
Puerto Vallarta is a wonderful vacation destination, but we would return to Casa Cupula even if it were located in the middle of the desert or just the middle of nowhere. It was that wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cupula

Address: 129 Callejon de la Igualdad, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cupula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cupula is one of the most luxurious boutique hotel resorts in the world, welcoming gay men, lesbians, and friends of our community. We offer the services of a five-star mainstream resort in four boutique properties: Casa Cupula, luxurious Villa Sevilla (great for groups), Private Residences and Owner's Villa. Gourmet food compliments four pools, a gym and sophisticated modern design. Located in Amapas, walking distance to gay beach clubs, nightlife, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Cupula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cupula Puerto Vallarta
Casa Cupula Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cupula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.